We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must when in Rome”

Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.63*
and up
Roman Domus of Palazzo Valentini Tour
Ranked #18 of 1,503 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
MALTA, Europe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must when in Rome”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was a very pleasant experience. I must say that for my two teens this was the highlight of their trip to Rome. For those like me who can't easily imagine the original place from ruins, here you won't find any problem at all. With the help of modern technology, the ruins in each room are transformed in what the place used to be. The commentary was so in detailed that one could easily be transported in that era!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Romina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,646
    470
    103
    22
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this exhibit after reading Tripadvisor reviews, and were really pleased we did.

The exhibit is an interactive experience, showcasing the remains of a Roman house. It is slightly Disney-esque, but this is easy to forgive as the beauty of the house comes to life.

Rome is a wonderful city, but especially after the Roman Forum, it can be hard to visualise exactly what the city looked like. This exhibit helps those of us who struggle with visualisation to imagine how it looked.

It's best to book in advance, and check out exactly where it is, as it is slightly strangely situated, just behind Trajan's Column. The only drawback is the staff could have been friendlier and a little more helpful, but I would certainly recommend a visit.

Helpful?
4 Thank Falkirkbairn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing attraction, but not #3”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

this is a very interesting way to visualize how a rich families mansion looked in Roman times. Using modern technology to complete the ruins a unique perspective is given. Additionally at the end of the tour their is a documentary and a view of Trajan's Column. Not suited for very young kids. Overall, Highly recommended, but shouldn't make the top 5 sites in Rome

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mehaul11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I loved it and my 8 year old loved it - what else is there to say - we will go back.

It was extremely interesting and educational in that they have skillfully digitally recreated the house and you walk on glass over the ruins- a definite highlight of our trip !!! Be warned though you need to book several weeks in advance - as the groups are very small and there are only a few English sessions per day. Also leave extra time to find it - hidden in the middle of civic buildings.

A definite must in Rome!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarmite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechlade, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brings ruins to life!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Decided to visit on basis of other Trip Advisor reviews - and weren't disappointed! Even the two teenage girls in our family group stayed interested throughout the tour. You could actually imagine life in Roman times as the recorded commentary perfectly complimented the lighting 'projections' on the floor & walls, and because you were only in a small group you never felt the pressure of the crowds at other archeological sites. We had pre-booked and I would suggest this is probably essential as people were being turned away on the door. Definitely not to be missed!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CeeDee127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini also viewed

 

Been to Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing