We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extra Tax” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Maestoso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Maestoso
Ranked #2,561 of 3,731 Rome B&B and Inns
Covilha, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extra Tax”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We used booking.com to book the room but we were asked to pay 4€ more than the agreed price... a "tax" they called it... good enough for a few nights, but don't count on the so-called breakfast. We paid 79€ for a night (double room with wc), which is definitely too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbmaestoso, Proprietario at B&B Maestoso, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We would kindly remind our dear guests that the "tax" mentioned in their review is the Rome City Tax and consists in a payment of 2 euros per night per person and is payed at the hotel itself.
The fact is explained clearly in the reservation papers of Booking.com so there is no surprise...
Our price of 75 euros (4 euros was the city tax) is on average for an accomodation of 2 people in a double room with private bathroom and air conditioned in summer season in central Rome . Our breakfast, as clearly reported in our hotel description, is the typical italian breakfast: croissants, brioches, fruit juices, biscuits, marmelade, tea or coffee.
As usual we strongly recommend our kind guests to read carefully the hotel description and services to avoid misunderstandings like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
2
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

He tried to make us leave a day early even though we had paid in advance "eh girls you leave today right?. Upon arrival he told us that the place was full and insisted on driving us to "other location". Creepy!! The breakfast was not as described on the website, rather it was twinkeys and juice, or some days a hand written voucher for the coffee shop next door. On the website it said there was air condition. NOT the case it was hot as balls in Rome in August and it was quite disappointing that the air conditioning mentioned online was falsified. Overall our experience was stinky, it lacked a certain appeal.

Room Tip: It was HORRIBLE!!!!!! none of the rooms had AC. crappy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank italywasinteresting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antmars, Owner at B&B Maestoso, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
We are sorry for our kind guests because we made a mistake
on their departure date, sometimes it's not easy to remember
the exact date of every single customer, but we didn't "try to
make them leave one day early" because we are not cheaters.
We drove our guests to our second B&B in Rome because the
first one was overbooked, however it is completely new and in
a location closer to the city center, nothing "creepy".
The breakfast is perfectly the same reported on the website:
croissant, brioche, fruit juice, biscuits, marmelade, tea or
coffee, the typical italian breakfast. The food is packed dued to
the regulations of the italian law on B&B that doesn't allow
any manipulated food to assure the safety of the guests.
As for air conditioned now we can't remember exactly, but
probably our guests booked a room without an air conditioner
so there is no surprise or any "falsified" information.
We suggest our guests to be careful when booking by checking
out all the informations provided on our website and the one
of the booking agency as well to prevent future complaints.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais la Torretta
#1,869 of 3,731 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
B&B I Sette Re
#3,130 of 3,731 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,559 of 3,731 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
B&B Stay at Rome
B&B Stay at Rome
#1,728 of 3,731 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Maestoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Maestoso

Property: B&B Maestoso
Address: Via Paolo Paruta, 3 | Building C flat 4, 00179 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,561 of 3,731 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance from the center of Rome B&B Maestoso is located on the first floor of an elegant building, recently renovated, in a quiet courtyard in the immediate vicinity of the district of San Giovanni and Via Appia Nuova, one of the most popular Roman Shopping roads, rich of facilities and entertainment. Its favorable location makes it well connected with the center and the rest of the city by underground line A, where the Ponte Lungo station is just 3 minutes walk, and makes it an ideal place for a relaxing holiday or for a business trip. The three bedrooms, one twin and two double rooms, spacious, comfortable are located in a bright and completely renovated and elegant apartment that will make your visit to the Eternal City an unforgettable experience. Both the double and twins bedrooms are spacious, bright, tastefully decorated, quiet and equipped with heating, TV and free wireless internet connection. Two rooms also benefit from air conditioning and a private bathroom with shower and hair dryer to ensure your privacy and offer improved comfort. At Maestoso B&B you will enjoy the utmost freedom, because you will have the keys of the apartment that allow you to stay without time constraints. The price includes a continental breakfast, the kit for the bed, towels and cleaning of rooms and services. The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily while the linen are changed every three days and for every new customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Maestoso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing