We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ciao Bella”
Review of B&B Ciao Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Ciao Bella
Ranked #1,884 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We passed a really pleasant stay in the Ciao Bella B&B. Easy to find and close to the Colosseum area. Very quite and high-standing street. It's really easy to cover all the downtown by walk. Underground lines A and B are reachable in 10 min by walk.

Our room was very clean and the service and availability of the owner was perfect.

To recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Damien I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Ciao Bella was lovely. Communication from the moment we booked was very good. It suited us as it was in the older quarter and close to what we wanted to see, so most things were a quick walk away. It was great being able to use the kitchen to cook our meals. It would have been a little helpful if there was information on nearest supermarkets, pharmacy etc. My only concern was the level of cleaning in the kitchen and in the separate bathroom as there was some mould showing on the shower curtain and around the base of the shower. Sleep scored low due to heat but we turned on the AC which helped. Happy to overlook that though as the bedroom was large with a lovely view out onto the courtyard. Great wee shop next door for cold drinks and lovely cafe around the corner. Thanks for a great stay and yes I would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the fourposter bed as it is huge and comes with a separate bathroom, the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Milly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very clean, amenities were good, air conditioning very useful as it gets extremely hot in Rome.
The fact that we could use the kitchen any time of the day was great.
5 min walk from the coliseum.
And a really good restaurant and ice creanm parlour just next door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Emilie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I won't stay here again.

We found the kitchen utensils, oven and microwave REALLY dirty (judge by yourselves, I uploaded photos of the oven and microwave as we found them). On the last day of our stay when I told the hostess about this, she said "she would have sent the lady to clean it if I had told her earlier", and about the oven "its going to be changed next week" This was hilarious. How could I care that its gonna be changed AFTER my stay?, I could not make use of it because it was filthy!

Also, we arrived late in the night and needed to cook (restaurants were closed at that time), but we COUDLNT COOK because there was a GAS LEAK! (which we found about!). The next day the hostess came and fixed it, but the first night we coudnt eat, she knew it, and did nothing to compensate us.

Another issue was that the balcony was unavailable for use. We were told about this situation once we arrived, there were guys working in the building and around the balcony (so the floor had a lot of trash on it) and during the day there was a guy working near the balcony window (you can see it in photos - I've uploaded two of them, taken from the kitchen). Really nice! hah!

Everything else was OK, rooms are comfortable, bathrooms were well cleaned. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sofia_bernabei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights. The location is excellent. Nice easy stroll to the Colosseum, The Forum, the Palatine Hill. Easy walking distance to the Termini.
We had the Japanese room which has the ensuite, the room is a good enough size but with not many places to put your things. Also, as readers we found the bedside lighting inadequate.
The overpowering smell of plug in room fresheners was awful, we took the battery out of the one in the room, but there was another one in the hall. We understand why they're used, the cooking smells from other apartments were at times overwhelming. This room overlooks an alley with at least one kitchen backing on to it, we think maybe a restaurant.
There is an airconditioning unit in the room but there was no control for us to use it. The evenings were quite warm which meant the windows needed to be left open, in a crowded neighbourhood like this we found it quite noisy and as already mentioned a bit smelly. There is no traffic noise at all.
The room and bathroom are clean. Linen is clean and the mattress is comfortable but very soft. The wifi is good. The shower is adequate.
Breakfast is self serve, packet cakes, cereal, yoghut, milk, tea, coffee, juices, bread, jam and a toaster. The table is set with disposable cereal bowls and bread and butter plates with plastic knife and spoon. The odd thing is there is chinaware and stainless steel cutlery available which we chose to use.
The hostess is very friendly but lives elsewhere, if you need something you have to phone or email her.
All in all the location is the main reason we would stay here again and would choose the other room which is lighter and larger and looks out over the coutyard.

Room Tip: Choose the Scheherazade Room, no smells from the alley, light and airy and larger with more room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didowollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed there three nights. While the owner is lovely and the rooms and location are good the fact that there were hotels nearby that cost the same per night made me wish I had been more patient in the selection of my accommodation. The main thing I had issues with was the self service breakfast included in the price. This consisted of nothing more than tea/coffee, cereal and bread. Not what I expected for €80 a night.

Room Tip: Use proper utensils. Your guests are not kids to use paper plates, cups and spoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#387 of 1,256 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,226 of 3,643 in Rome
89 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,256 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#277 of 1,256 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ciao Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ciao Bella

Property: B&B Ciao Bella
Address: Via Mecenate 27, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,884 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ciao Bella Apartment is situated within a short walk from the Coliseum and the Basilica of S. M. Maggiore, where hospitality and friendship will frame your stay in this lovely apartment in the historical center of Rome. Located 150 meters from the Coliseum, surrounded by the historic park of Colle Oppio and the Domus Aurea, is well connected to other cultural and shopping areas as it's very close to the Metro stops Line A, B and Termini Train Station. The Ciao Bella is located on the 2nd floor of an old historic building, with its own concierge and elevator. There are two large bedrooms, each with ensuite facilities and decorated with great care and attention to detail: - The Sheherazade room creates a romantic environment thanks to the poetic four poster bed that will be surrounding your nights. - The Ikebana room takes you to the Far East with its authentic Chinese and Japanese paintings without renouncing to a touch of elegance and modernity.The kitchen compliments beautifully the two bedrooms. In the apartment you'll find many services: free wireless internet access, TV LCD, DVD player, A/C, fully equipped kitchen, bathrooms with shower, plus laundry facilities. Pick-up from the airport or railway station are also available upon request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing