We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, good food, bit expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ornelli Ristorante Caffe

Ornelli Ristorante Caffe
Ranked #1,349 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Monti
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food, bit expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Went just the once for a meal. The food was very good, but for what we had a bit expensive as an alternative see the review of La Cuccuma opposite. Staff okay, but not overly welcoming. We were placed outside because the inner room was half filled with a reservation?????????

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln_PETE7904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    44
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A bit of a let-down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We wanted to try this restaurant on our first night in Rome, but were told it was fully-booked for 2 nights running, so we thought, hey it must be good! and reserved a table for our third night. Nice staff, big, rather old-fashioned restaurant, and food was ok, but nothing special, and I was disappointed to find the tuna starter was actually tinned tuna, not fresh. But certainly a surprise that it had been so popular the previous couple of nights.
Tip for anyone French... I overheard our waiter talking to the French people on the neighbouring table in excellent French, and remarked on it to my husband, since we had witnessed the frustration of quite a lot of French tourists faced with English being more or less the Lingua Franca, and no-one speaking French. And then heard exactly the same comment, only in French, from the table!
But, although there was nothing much to take exception to, Bar Ornelli was nowhere near as good as at least 3 other restaurants we tried in Rome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The restaurant itself looks old and rusty but food is good and it is open during "rest hours" too. We had bruschette and pizza. The diavolo pizza is really good

Helpful?
Thank rugzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We went there to have dinner and it was the worst service and food we had in Rome,I ordered pasta with bolognesa sauce and it was artificial, the beef of my friend was full of oil,we even could finish having the dishes,also we had to wait long time for the food and then for the bill, this is the typical place for tourist people and no local people,I wouldn't reccommend this ever.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ViajeraSpanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great place for a relaxing lunch..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I needed a break from sightseeing and stumbled upon this place as we were walking down the street. We had bruschetta, fettuccine bolognes, a pizza and the house red wine. We loved all of it. We were definitely the only tourists eating here and it was nice to be among the locals. If you are in this part of town, I highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Ornelli Ristorante Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Ornelli Ristorante Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing