We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good customer service, tiny rooms for US$400/night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #35 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Recently stayed at the First Luxury Arts hotel and the location was brilliant. Size of room was tiny for £255/night ($400 USD) which was very pricey not including breakfast. not sure i would return given apart from the bed, not much else fit. very modern bathrooms though not enough lights in bedroom or bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ObjectivityDefined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed there from 2nd till 5th June 2012 with the wife. It was our first trip to Rome and we honestly couldn't have picked a better location or hotel (and we did a lot of walking around Rome and the Spanish steps - a quick 5 to 10 minute walk away - is most definitely the area to be in). The team at The First Luxury was attentive, helpful and very pleasant to deal with. The room was has a nice 'home away from home' feel and was nicely sized and very clean. We wished we stayed longer and tried the top floor fusion Japanese restaurant as it looked very nice (and most definitely unique when everything else in Rome is either pasta, pizza or risotto). Highly recommend this boutique hotel to anyone looking at staying in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mocha_Susu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We found and booked this hotel on line and were a little apprehensive about what we would find. It was fabulous! The location is central and convenient to everything. The decor is wonderful and the staff was beyond kind and helpful. The rooftop bar gives complete views of The city in every direction. If I could give it 10 stars I would!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liza7518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Our family (2 adults and 2 young children) stayed at The First Hotel in early May and from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The Concierge staff were beyond unbelievable, they booked restaurants, tours, hairdressers.... anything we requested was no problem at all.
Our children were made to feel special and never once did we feel disruptive (even though at times I am sure our 3 year old and baby were) in such a beautiful and sophisticated hotel.
We booked an Art Suite and Junior Suite interconnecting and they were both fantastic. We had more than enough room and all the facilities in the rooms were excellent. Room service was prompt and delicious, and the restaurant gave their best efforts to accommodate my children's food preferences. The babysitters that were provided were fantastic, better than the sitters we get at home in Australia.
The location was fantastic with many attractions either walking distance or a short taxi ride.

We will definitely be returning again when we next visit Rome. Thank you for making Rome our favourite destination in Europe!

Room Tip: Choose a suite, they are amazing and not much more expensive than the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateNatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Fantastic rooms - very quiet and luxurious. Dining is very expensive. €30 breakfast cannot be worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingeJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We have been to Rome a few times. We knew we liked the area. Near the Spanish steps with great shopping and restaurants nearby.
This hotel is sleek while keeping the old world charm of this building intact. Very nice rooftop bar with spectacular views. Spacious rooms,with elegant baths, comfy bed and freee Internet. The multilingual Staff is welcoming and personable. Sometimes they seemed to be overwhelmed due to the front desk does everything. Ie concierge/Hskp dispatch/ bell capt. Etc. They do get the job done and with a smile. I will stay there again for sure.
Ciao.....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minervaprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I booked three rooms over three nights for my Dad's 80th birthday. The hotel staff (Priscilla, Michela and the others) were so nice to my dad, putting a free bottle of Proseco in his room and making him a birthday cake - they even upgraded his room on a busy weekend. The rooms are very well done - contempory but comfortable and not too modern. As with all of Rome - they are smaller than traditional US hotel rooms. The bathrooms are large and well appointed. There is a rooftop bar with really nice views of the city. The location is a bit more lo key than the other touristy central area of Rome - a few blocks North of the Spanish steps and a few blocks South of Piazza del Popolo - and a great walkable neighborhood. The Hotel is about a year old and is really hitting its stride. Wonderful stay with the family. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and book directly - they are a pleasure to deal with
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis1ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,269 in Rome
442 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#55 of 1,269 in Rome
1,383 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#34 of 1,269 in Rome
1,081 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £283 - £650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the iconic shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with 29 rooms and suites perfectly matching culture and elegance. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like in an art gallery, yours for a few days. Enjoy AcquaRoof dining with breath-taking views of the Eternal city, and the amazing cuisine of Michelin star Chef Alessandro Narducci at Acquolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing