We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate, with very few flaws.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #28 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, CO
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“First rate, with very few flaws.”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed for three nights in late July, 2012. We had three rooms -- two junior suites and a bigger art suite. Overall, this is a very nice hotel. The furnishings and rooms are beautiful. If that is your priority (nice, comfortable, beautiful, first-class rooms), this is your place. Also a great location--very central to everything. And the manager and staff were very helpful. I relied on the concierge a lot for reservations, directions, train tickets, etc. The desk staff performed really well. The bar is also lovely for a drink before going out in the evening.

Here are a few drawbacks to consider, depending on your tastes and needs. The hotel is an "art" hotel, which means there is art scattered around. Some of it is funky and a bit odd, so that might put off some people. Fine for us and our kids, but not if you're looking for old world elegance.

In addition, the hotel does not own the restaurant on the roof. The breakfast is excellent each morning, but it is served in the lobby-level eating area. The rooftop is beautiful but leased to an asian restaurant that seemed essentially impossible to get into. That's a drawback. If you typically like eating lunch or dinner at your hotel, this won't be the place for you. It wasn't an issue for us because there are many very good restaurants close by.

Finally, there is no fitness center or pool.

That's it. Again, the rooms are beautiful. This is a very nice option in Rome, and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefirsthotel, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting The First Luxury Art Hotel Rome for your recent stay.

We are delighted you took the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor and thankful for your comments.
It is our pleasure to see your positive comments regarding the rooms and furnishings. Please allow me to highlight that, as you most befittingly point out, the concept of this property alludes to a contemporary art gallery with artworks on display in all areas. It is understandable that contemporary art is not to everyone’s liking but it is nevertheless the distinguishing feature that makes The First Luxury Art hotel unique.
On a different note, we were most concerned to see your comments, outlining the disappointment you experienced regarding the roof top restaurant. Our fusion restaurant that offers breathtaking views of the Eternal city has proved to be very popular during the summer months. To that end, we advise our valued guests that reservations are necessary. It goes without saying that our guests have the absolute priority when it comes to our hotel facilities.
As a last point we are pleased to inform you that we are in the process of finalizing the plans for the ultimate on-site urban spa retreat and fitness centre.

We do apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the issues that you brought to our attention and hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
In the meantime, we would like to thank you for your comments as it is only by receiving such information that we are better able to rectify and resolve any problems that we may have.
You may contact me directly when planning a future trip in order that I can personally make the necessary arrangements to ensure that your next stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    135
    33
    7
    9
See reviews for
124
507
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed in June and had two adjoining rooms (art suite and junior suite), both of which were lovely - if I had to state a preference it would be the Junior Suite. Gorgeous and modern hotel in an excellent area. Quiet street and fantastic breakfast buffet (ours was included in our room rates). Would definitely stay again and highly recommend. The only comment would be that one of our rooms had a lovely bath with a hand held shower attachment, but no actual stand up shower. I had confirmed that both rooms had showers before we arrived, but I found many of the hotels in Italy seem to have this set up and consider it a shower. We all ended up using the one actual stand-up shower and not the bath which was a bit of a nuisance, but did not take away from our experience overall - although it may have if we had stayed longer. Just be sure to confirm a proper stand up shower if this is important to you.

Beautifully designed boutique hotel with everything one could ask for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noname36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefirsthotel, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We were glad to see that you described the hotel location as "excellent", that the hotel decor was to your liking and that you enjoyed our breakfast.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team's efforts and takes time to say thank you.
In relation to the layout of our bathrooms, and following previous guest comments, we have almost completed the installation of wall brackets above the bathtubs for the convenience of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments.
You may contact me directly when planning a future trip to Rome in order that I can personally make the necessary arrangements to ensure that your next stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

I do hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The First Luxury Art Hotel Rome.

Warm Regards

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

There are a lot of reasons to like this luxury, boutique hotel. Here are six.
1. Ideal location. An short and easy walk to the Borghese Gardens, the Spanish Steps, the river. And it's on a quiet side street.
2. It's new. It's clean. It's modern. It's "arty."
3. Service is friendly and professional. Prosecco and water await you in the lobby area.
4. The rooms are comfortable.
5. The breakfast buffet is delicious.
6. The rooftop bar area is absolutely spectacular. (see photo). A must!
All in all, an easy one to recommend for a visit to Roma. [I found it on the Conde Nast Traveler 2012 Hot List.]

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aroundtheworldeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and returned to Rome for the 4th time together. This trip was the best, and the hotel was one of the reasons. The staff is wonderful, accommodating...the location was fabulous. We didnt eat at the hotel. We enjoy goining out into the neighborhood. We will return to the eternal city and would love to stay here again. Be sure to have drinks at the rooftop. The view is stunning!

Room Tip: If you require a bathtub or shower, just ask when booking. Remember it is europe, but this staff wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel is located down a small side street -- not exactly where you would expect to find such a lovely hotel. The location, however, is very good and we walked to many of the major sightseeing sights. Every thing we experienced was top-notch: warm welcome upon our late arrival, efficient check-in, prompt delivery of our bags, the most comfortable bed I've experienced in a hotel, clean & modern bathrooms (no baths), excellent wifi connection (a must for my businessman husband), a beautiful rooftop deck with fantastic views of Rome, and excellent recommendations for local restaurants (thanks, Agata!). During our 8 day trip in Italy, our family of four ranked each hotel from a scale of 1 - 10 . We gave this hotel a 9.5 only because the downstairs breakfast was a bit expensive---although good! Agata (sorry, I hope I'm spelling her name properly) recommended Osteria Dell Antiquario for dinner one night and we all ranked it a 10. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueskies185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Most likely the favourite hotel of our honeymoon. Beautiful, spacious room - including bedroom, sitting area and a lovely, luxurious bathroom (quite unusual when travelling through Europe). The bed was big, and so comfortable as were the pillows. I think the location is perfect for Rome, especially for those who want to shop, close enough to Via Del Corso and the Spanish Steps without being noisy. I loved the rooftop bar, very cool and with a fabulous view. The staff were friendly, happy to provide advice, arrange tours etc, as well as going the 'extra mile' with a few issues we had. Room service food was of exceptional quality too! I will absolutely be staying here again when we next visit Roma.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is a hidden gem of a hotel. I have stayed at 5 star hotels and resorts all over the world and this hotel is without question a 5 star +++ quality hotel. This was my first time in Rome and we wish we had stayed a few more days. The hotel was impeccable, the staff were helpful and the location was perfect. I had reserved 2 rooms for my family and they were equally amazing. The décor of the hotel and guest rooms are modern and elegant (you definitely get the feel of a boutique type hotel). The customer service from the time we walked in the door until the moment we left was five star all the way.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnytraveler1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,261 in Rome
417 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#50 of 1,261 in Rome
1,352 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#38 of 1,261 in Rome
1,052 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Property: The First Luxury Art Hotel
Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the iconic shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with 29 rooms and suites perfectly matching culture and elegance. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like in an art gallery, yours for a few days. Enjoy AcquaRoof dining with breath-taking views of the Eternal city, and the amazing cuisine of Michelin star Chef Alessandro Narducci at Acquolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing