We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #34 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is a great hotel, very modern and spacious rooms. Location is good, The service was great. We had a couple of issues at breakfast, but the staff were so friendly, so we didn't mind. The staff at Reception were very helpful with suggestions of where to go and what to do. Very relaxing stay all in all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxW158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
There are newer reviews for The First Luxury Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

Loved our 3 night stay in this excellent hotel. Modern rooms with high ceilings and lots of space - we had 503 which is a lovely junior suite and worth the added cost. Location is excellent near piazza del popolo and in walking distance to all the sights. Bar is great - they make a mean negroni. Did not eat int the restaurant - hear the food is lovely but lacks atmosphere unlike the lovely rooftop bar!

Room Tip: Our room was excellent and totally quiet
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suezzerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My husband and I spent 8 days in Rome, staying at another 5-star hotel for 5 nights before moving over to the First Luxury Arts Hotel for 3 nights. The other 5-star hotel did not hold a candle to First Luxury when it came to service.

A couple days before check-in, we visited the hotel and was warmly welcomed by Antonio. He was professional, friendly, accommodating and had a great sense of humor. He told us that he would try his best to upgrade us from a deluxe room to a suite, and he delivered. Everyone was very professional, helpful and courteous. They helped us with restaurant suggestions/reservations and other travel issues. We particularly liked the ambiance and feel of a smaller boutique hotel. It felt more like home than a hotel. The location was convenient to everything yet quiet. If we had known, we would have stayed here the entire time. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel and wish to thank Antonio and the Staff for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etts03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 7 days and 6 nights in their "Art Suite" with our 4 year old and 8 month old and had a lot of issues with this hotel.

Not Family friendly:
1) the hotel charges full price for breakfast for children – everywhere else I have ever been to children under 6 are free
2) if you are planning to feed your children in the room and need a plate you will be charged Euro 5.75 per plate their excuse was they need to "clean the plates" - what a joke
3) no kettle in the rooms to boil water for baby milk

Other problems with the hotel:

1) rooms are not cleaned properly, when you complain that the rooms are dirty they will send someone to clean the room but the next day its not cleaned properly again
2) during the week we were the temperature was hot and the air conditioning didn’t work at all, we complained the first day and they said that they would get the maintenance company to come to fix the air conditioning, a week later (after complaining daily) it still wasn’t fixed
3) the hotel recommended opening the windows to keep the room cool, since the hotel is non-smoking all the staff and guests smoke on the patio area so the room stinks of people smoking
4) complimentary water was only ever put in the room if we told the front desk that the maid service “forgot” to put the water bottles, in 7 days they “forgot” 5 times
5) the cleaning staff would take the glasses out of the room, instead of cleaning them every day they would just remove them so you couldn’t use them therefore less for them clean – not like they were cleaning anything properly anyway
6) The internet doesn’t always connect properly in the rooms but works fine in the lobby
7) I asked the concierge to book us train tickets and also a Vatican tour the concierge said they tried but could not do this because their internet didn’t work, I booked the tickets and tour myself while in the lobby and emailed the confirmations to the concierge to print. Although they claimed their internet didn’t work they got my emails and were able to print the booking confirmations – I guess emails don’t need internet

There are a few helpful staff (Dario, Meriem, Antonio) but the management were poor and unhelpful. I tried to talk to the duty manager (Pricilla) about my complaints but got the same answer every day “she is out of the hotel currently but is on her way back and would like to talk to you”.

Pricilla finally had the nerve to talk to me while we were checking out and her answer to my complaints were “there is nothing I can do to help”. Well if the management can’t help, then I guess no one can help.

They claim to be a 5 star L but only deserve to be a 3 star. It is the little things that make you want to come back nothing during my stay would ever make me want to come back or recommend this hotel, in fact I would advise my friend not to stay here. There are real luxury hotels in Rome (Plaazzo Manfredi, etc.) and I will try one of them on my next stay. Avoid this place at any cost.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel, if you want make su
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank babahadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the First Luxury Art Hotel in Rome in March 2013. The front desk staff were very courteous and welcoming. The restaurant service was also excellent. Our room was very clean, stylish and had a lovely back terrace with hot tub. Antonio was particularly wonderful as he helped us solve our travel problem due to a last minute regional train strike. He gave us excellent advice, did immediate research and even gave us the phone number of someone in the region we could call if we needed help while travelling to our destination. Without his help, we would have surely had big problems. He truly saved the second part of our vacation! Note to those taking a taxi to this hotel - if your driver tells you he can't get to the front door, he is lying and doesn't want to get caught by the hotel doorman overcharging you (which we were). Insist that your taxi driver drop you off at the front door, which is down a small cobblestone alleyway. We would definitely recommend staying here - the location and service are excellent. You are right near the Piazza del Poppolo, shopping on the Via Corso, and the park that surrounds the Village Borghese. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OpetOpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Relatively new hotel, excellent helpful and friendly staff, convenient location that we could walk to many of the attractions and shopping. Breakfast was delightful with many choices, room (deluxe) was very clean though a bit small for 2 person, well it's in the middle of the city and we did get quiet quality sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyLA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Excellent boutique hotel with plenty of tasteful art in the room suites. The staff were very accommodating, the food was satisfying, and the location could not be beat. Pololo Square was only a few minutes away. And Rome is such a beautiful city with so much history that we spent our holiday in love with the historical sites. I highly recommend staying at this wonderful hotel. At times it felt that the hotel was an extension of the beauty and majesty of the city of Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
429 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,267 in Rome
1,368 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#37 of 1,267 in Rome
1,063 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £293 - £806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the iconic shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with 29 rooms and suites perfectly matching culture and elegance. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like in an art gallery, yours for a few days. Enjoy AcquaRoof dining with breath-taking views of the Eternal city, and the amazing cuisine of Michelin star Chef Alessandro Narducci at Acquolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing