We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The First Roma
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveller rating
692
151
34
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
692
151
34
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart hotelrooftop barjunior suiteglass of proseccomichelin star restaurantspanish stepsnear piazza del popoloquiet side streeton arrivalluxury hotelbeautiful hotelmarble bathroomour honeymoonnespresso machinedinner reservationssitting areathe hotel manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 897 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

If first impressions count then this place wins hands down. We arrived on a Sunday evening, around 9pm, and where greeted by the reception guy and his sidekick. They both spoke impeccable English and immediately made us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble - including a complimentary glass of prosecco each! Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

The standard room is large with a sofa and chairs and then a massive bed. a walk in wardrobe and a big bathroom - only a shower however that suited us just fine.

very cool roof top bar in the summer months. A great view and it was just wonderful to be out in a balmy evening.

Only gripe...the air con would suit me if it could go down below 21 but that's it. Fantastic location walking distance of everything and the metro.



Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank marrayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I absolutely loved this hotel. They greet you with a complimentary glass of prosecco when you check in (and then a bottle later that day in your room). All of the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly -- and they all fluently speak English. (Antonio was our personal favorite.) It's also in a good location. In walking distance to Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Piazza Navonna, etc. And then there's the room. We stayed in a jr. suite, which was really large, especially for a European hotel. More importantly, the rooms are spotless. Bottom line: the hotel is terrific, especially for first-time travelers to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at The First in May for our last stop on our honeymoon. This little boutique hotel is nestled in a quiet area not far from the Spanish Steps with great shopping & restaurants just around the corner. The roof top deck has fantastic views of the Vatican and most of the city. The in-house Michelin rated restaurant All'Ore is exceptional as well. The service was impeccable and all of the staff were very friendly. I will definitely stay at The First for all future visits to Rome. - Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

When I arrived in Ischia I was a little disappointed because the temperature was unseasonally chilliy.
Good thing I stayed at this very nice Hotel/Spa, with a great view, excellent food, great service. When I left I felt lucky to have spent time in Ischia and the chilly weather was not a factor, actually I felt like a local.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincenzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This unusual boutique hotel has a wonderful quiet location a short walk from the Spanish Steps but a world away from the crowds. This is an area with neighborhood restaurants, some of whose patrons even seem to be neighborhood residents.

One of the greatest reasons to stay here is the remarkable roof deck which has a stunning panoramic view of the whole city.

The hotel is a very chic and modern establishment built within an old building. The theme here is "art," and indeed there is art everywhere -- some of it very interesting, some of it merely trendy. The rooms are stylishly furnished and the marble bathrooms are beautiful. The beds are very comfortable and the bedding is luxurious.

But there are quirks. The standard rooms are elegant but small. We doubt that most people looking for a luxury hotel would be really satisfied. The "junior suites" are much larger, have sitting areas and are a much better value. But beware of a problem with some of them. We were originally assigned a suite whose windows were semicircular oddities placed low in the room. If you bent down, you could see out, but none too much light got through in any event. These suites appear to be mainly (or entirely) on the first floor (second in American terms). Avoid them! The third night we got a suite on a higher floor and it was much better.

There are other quirks: The suite had a lot of light on the artwork, but lacked an adequate reading light. (When we asked for one, it was delivered immediately however.) While the roof deck is a great place to read or have a glass of wine, it is often closed in the evening for special events, as others have noted. Sunsets on the roof are supposed to be spectacular, but on our two available evenings, we were shooed away before the sun had a chance to set.

But it was all done very politely. Indeed, employees here are very pleasant and went out of their way to help us with a couple of problems. We didn't have lunch or dinner at the hotel. But the breakfast buffet is much better than most and is served in a beautiful room -- with lots of art.

Nice benefit: Our package included an excellent car service to or from the airport. Our driver, Alexander, was very prompt, professional and helpful.

Overall, if you get the right room, you should have an enjoyable and interesting experience. If you stay here, you'll have many restaurant choices. We enjoyed a delicious dinner at La Penna d'Oca, only two blocks from the hotel. We also liked "Gran Sasso," an informal neighborhood place a half block from the hotel, which was also a good value.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suites and avoid the suites with bizarre windows.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voyager45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews