We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #28 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We just completed nine nights at this hotel.
Check in was nice. Staff were very welcoming and informative.
Our junior suite was OK.....nice layout, two big windows overlooking the tiny street.
The bathroom wasn't fantastic though - a hand held hose/shower over a very deep bath. I had noticed on a review from a year ago that someone commented on this same problem and the hotel responded that they were going to attach the hose to the wall to sort of make it a shower. But, after a year, they haven't! NOT an ideal arrangement for a 5 star hotel.
The room had a strange smell (past wet carpet perhaps??) and is masked by a contraption that sprays out a 'perfume' every 1/2 hour or so. But the smell lingers. We counted that by opening the windows as often as possible
There is now a coffee machine in the room. Nice touch but charging 2 Euros/coffee capsule OR tea bag seems a bit steep.
Another weird thing was there is no iron. And the reason for that is 'security'??? I am happy to send out our clothes to be washed/dry cleaned etc but often, after a long flight, things just need to be lightly ironed. This is not available here. We could 'send the clothes out' but then the clothes would not be available until the next day. Not ideal!
The roof bar has fantastic views and is a pleasant place to spend some time. But the bar staffer
there was borderline rude/elitist. So much so, we only went there once at night.NOT friendly at all and made us feel uncomfortable. But still a lovely place to go during the day.
Breakfast was great! HUGE spread. Beautiful coffee. And the staff there were amazing! Real gentlemen and charming :)
The cleaning staff were also great! Room was cleaned thoroughly every day and the girls were really friendly.
We had ordered a car to drive us to the airport. Somehow, it had not been ordered and we got a taxi instead. Again, not a big deal. Just poor attention to detail.
We got a good deal through British Airways which included full breakfast. It was approximately 415 Euros per day.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a separate shower if that is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefirsthotel, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor.

We delighted that despite some inconveniences you have enjoyed the friendliness of our staff from the moment of check-in, the Junior Suite and the cleanliness of the room, and the buffet breakfast at The First.

We are just extremely sorry that we did not have the chance to fix some of the inconveniences during your stay in the hotel. If we would have known that you prefer to have a shower we could have moved you to another suite with walk in shower. We also have just recently deep cleaned the carpet in our suites and perhaps the carpet was not properly dried on your arrival. Again we wish we would have known this during your stay to take a proper measurement to ensure that you are having the best time with us.

As regards to having the iron in the room, it is an Italian regulation that we unfortunately do not have much control of, however we do provide a pressing service that could be done expressly for you. We would however took good note of your comments and make sure that our clients are well aware of this express service.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the fantastic view from our terrace but disappointed to hear that you have not been treated rightfully by the bar staff. We will investigate the matter with the responsible of the bar and restaurant to make sure that this will not happen in the future. All of our guests should feel welcome in our terrace and all hotel areas as if it is in their own home and we are truly sorry if this feeling did not come across during your cocktail hour in our terrace.

We thank you so much for your precious comments, equipped with this comments we will improve our service and make sure that the next time you are returning to The First we would be more than prepared to give you the fullest service with most attention to details.




Sincerely yours,


Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    125
    32
    7
    9
See reviews for
113
488
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The name may translate awkwardly into English, but this is not an awkward hotel. From check-in to check-out, we had a great stay. The hotel is modern and a nice break from the older hotels we stayed at in Italy. We were upgraded to a spacious junior suite that had the most comfortable bed of all our hotels and a small patio. It was the quietest room I've ever stayed at in a hotel. Even within the suite itself, you could hear the door from the bedroom.We mistakenly thought that breakfast was included as it was at all of our other hotels and started helping ourselves befire the waiter interrupted. Entirely my fault, but I was still mortified. In keeping with the more international flair of this hotel, breakfast was a supplement. I really liked it included as it was at our other hotels. We ulitimately did not eat breakfast at the hotel after reviewing the selection vs. price. The breakfast experience was the only negative of our stay. All in all, while there are a lot of good hotels in Rome, and this one is worth a look.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeniceNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefirsthotel, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on trip advisor. We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us right from the moment of check-in and that you are fond of the comfortable bed we have carefully prepared for you and the quietness of the surroundings in the beautiful junior suite.

Regarding the breakfast, the best available rate normally does not include breakfast however we do have some packages that include daily buffet breakfast. We apologize if this was not stated clearly for you upon check in creating an uncomfortable moment in the restaurant. We will definitely be sure to explain better to our future guests so the same situation will not be repeated in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The First Hotel, our comfortable and cozy bed is waiting for your next trip to Rome …

Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in an art suite for three nights in May. Although we were satisfied with our stay, there are some things that could have been better. We definitely liked the location - the First is located on a side street next to shops, restaurants and sights. You can walk to all major attractions but it’s still quiet at night.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the iPod speaker system in the room (didn’t work), which they fixed while we were out. They also arranged a Vespa for us on a very short notice. Our room was also ready when we arrived a couple of hours before check in time.

The rooftop terrace was nice and had a great view. We had some cocktails there a couple of nights. The only weird thing was that you had to order downstairs at the bar, and they would then bring them up to the terrace. Apparently the actual rooftop bar is open only in the middle of the summer.

One thing that left us a bit disappointed was the room. We asked for a room on higher floors, but got one on the first floor (I actually thought it was a bit funny). The room itself was ok, but a bit dark. The windows were small and were facing the building across the alley. The room had two bathrooms, one with bath and one with shower, which was quite nice.

Another thing that wasn’t top notch was the cleaning. There were a couple of used slippers under one of the sofas, and the bathroom walls were stained. The chair by the desk also had a red stain on it. Small things but things I would expect to be in order in a five star hotel.

Breakfast wasn’t included in our room price, but we tried it one morning. The selection was very limited and it was not quite worth the money (30 euro /person).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefirsthotel, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay at The First. We are delighted that you are satisfied with your stay, our location is indeed one of the unique feature of our hotel. We are located strategically in the city center surrounded with different interesting sights, shops and restaurants yet situated in a quiet secondary street just a corner away from the main traffic area.

However we are very disappointed to learn about the inconveniences that you have encounter during your stay at The First and regret that we did not have the chance to make it up to you while you were still in the hotel.

Being a boutique hotel with small room inventory unfortunately we are not in the position to be able to grant 100% the request from our clients regarding the high floor, etc. especially during such high season like June. However we always try to do our best to find a suitable solution and that the client is satisfied with the room/suite assigned and whenever possible we always put a priority to get the suite ready at earliest possible, just like in your case, you were able to check in hours prior to the official check in time.

We are glad that our staff have been efficient to assist you with the request for extra lighting and for fixing the ipod speaker and assisting you with the vespa reservations, however we do acknowledge the lack of attention on the small details in which we are improving day by day as the hotel is growing into its second year of operations.

We truly appreciate your suggestions and will use your them as input to improve our service and commitments to our clients.



Sincerely yours,


Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The actual rooms are decent. Carpeting does have a bit of walking stains, but it's clean. The beds are firm and supportive. A strange issue for English speaking guests: none of the channels are in English. Russian? Yes. Spanish. Yes. English? No. Odd.

The service was ok. While everyone was cheery, they didn't sweat the details. For example, we called to ask why the AC wasn't working to which we got a "we'll fix it from down here" response. After three calls, they finally explained that the AC doesn't work if any of the windows are not closed completely. Apparently the bathroom window was open a crack. If we had knowns this is how the AC woks, we would have checked EVERYTHING...a detail helpful at 2am. Or the concierge's recommendations for restaurants in Rome were the same tourist food traps…we expected better from a hotel of this caliber.

Stay away from the rooftop hotel. Even with the killer view, the scene's not deserving of the elitist attitude.

All in all, a decent stay. Very convenient to everything central in Rome. Just not amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownboynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefirsthotel, Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your last stay at The First Hotel on trip advisor. We always thrive to improve our services and commitments to our guests and therefore we very much appreciated your feedback.  We actually provide sky satellite TV with over 300 channels in over 10 different languages including English in all our rooms and suites and it is true that our hotel adopts the energy saving system therefore if the window is open the air condition will automatically shut down, we however apologize that these wonderful features were not make clear to you on your arrival thus creating an inconvenience situation for you. As regards to the restaurant recommendations we have shared it with the team and we are continuously expanding our list.  We hope that you would give us another chance in the future to offer you the amazing experience that you well deserve. Thank you again for your constructive comments.   Sincerely yours,   Giuseppe FalconieriGeneral Manager The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

If first impressions count then this place wins hands down. We arrived on a Sunday evening, around 9pm, and where greeted by the reception guy and his sidekick. They both spoke impeccable English and immediately made us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble - including a complimentary glass of prosecco each! Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

The standard room is large with a sofa and chairs and then a massive bed. a walk in wardrobe and a big bathroom - only a shower however that suited us just fine.

very cool roof top bar in the summer months. A great view and it was just wonderful to be out in a balmy evening.

Only gripe...the air con would suit me if it could go down below 21 but that's it. Fantastic location walking distance of everything and the metro.



Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marrayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I absolutely loved this hotel. They greet you with a complimentary glass of prosecco when you check in (and then a bottle later that day in your room). All of the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly -- and they all fluently speak English. (Antonio was our personal favorite.) It's also in a good location. In walking distance to Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Piazza Navonna, etc. And then there's the room. We stayed in a jr. suite, which was really large, especially for a European hotel. More importantly, the rooms are spotless. Bottom line: the hotel is terrific, especially for first-time travelers to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at The First in May for our last stop on our honeymoon. This little boutique hotel is nestled in a quiet area not far from the Spanish Steps with great shopping & restaurants just around the corner. The roof top deck has fantastic views of the Vatican and most of the city. The in-house Michelin rated restaurant All'Ore is exceptional as well. The service was impeccable and all of the staff were very friendly. I will definitely stay at The First for all future visits to Rome. - Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,256 in Rome
399 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#48 of 1,256 in Rome
1,316 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#32 of 1,256 in Rome
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Property: The First Luxury Art Hotel
Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials bringing life to a modern class atmosphere. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with dedicated multi-lingual staff that will make your stay a memorable experience. Perfect match between culture and elegance, all 29 rooms and suites are provided with LED TV with cable sports and movie channels, minibar, iPod/iPhone docking stations, a selection of books and marble bathrooms. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like a small art gallery, yours for a few days. From the rooftop garden, guests can enjoy the breath-taking views of the Eternal city. The First is a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing