We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply bliss...A MUST STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #28 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Simply bliss...A MUST STAY!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is an excellent modern and contemporary hotel in a great location.

Firstly the staff, especially Nadia who works on concierge and front desk, were some of the best I have experienced. Warm, friendly, interested.... they made you feel so welcome from day one. We were greeted with a glass (well 2 actually) of Prosecco and a full explanation and tour of the hotel and facilities. Nadia also booked us into an excellent restaurant.

Our first room was a lovely small suite, comfortable bed, great TV and beautiful bathroom with rainfall shower. Bliss.

Unfortunately the other guest I was travelling with had an accident whilst we were out in Rome. He needed stitches on his head and bedrest. The hotel could not have accommodated more. They made various calls to us to make sure he was OK and showed genuine compassion. Our TV did not have the capacity to watch movies due a technical issue so they upgraded us to a superior suite. This also had a Jacuzzi bath as showering was difficult. Very thoughtful.

The room service which we ate was restaurant quality. We ordered twice in the end as was so delicious!

Thank you to all the staff, you made what could have been a difficult and ruined holiday, special and memorable for all the right reasons.

We will be back!

Room Tip: The superior suites are excellent - huge and decorated beautifully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla H, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor about your stay at The First. We are delighted to hear that our staff have done all above and beyond to make your feel welcomed and to ensure that you have a wonderful and memorable stay with us. We hope to have the occasion to have you back at The First soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    126
    32
    7
    9
See reviews for
113
488
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the First Hotel over the New Year. First impressions of First are amazing – a beautiful lobby and beautiful staff who take real care of you. Even though we did not care for all of the artwork, there is no doubt that this is a very classy place. Our room was a little small by US standards, but furnished to a high level. More storage space would have been useful, especially in the bedside cabinets, and we found the room to be overheated. The bathroom was lovely. The views from the roof-top terrace are spectacular. The location is great, within walking distance of just about everything, but on a quiet side street so that you away from the noise and bustle of the city centre. A special mention for the restaurant; it has a Michelin star so you would expect it to be good, but it provided us with one of our most memorable meals together. Not cheap, but worth every euro. A truly extraordinary experience, and one we will long treasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holtspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla H, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are glad to hear that you have had an extraordinary time with us and that our Michelin star restaurant All’Oro has completed your stay experience at The First. We thank your for spending your new year holiday with us and we wish you a happy and prosperous 2014. Hopeful to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a quiet street close to the shopping area around Via del Corso and to Piazza del Popolo. The beds are large and comfortable, though the normal rooms are somewhat smallish; the bathrooms are excellent. There are, however, a few drawbacks. First, the rooms are way too hot, being heated at 25C. Switching off the heating and opening the window hardly helps - it stays around 25C, so that one sleeps badly and becomes more tired and moodier by the day. Second, the breakfast is not included, and too expensive, especially if one takes into account what is on offer. Third, part of the personel is arrogant and not particularly enthusiastic to help - on a number of occasions we ordered something which never arrived. All in all, this is an hotel which would like to be luxury, but isn't quite up to it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our strategic location, our large comfortable bed and bathrooms. However we are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Regarding the room temperature, being the heating system is centralised, it could happen that some of the rooms, especially the smaller rooms, to have a slightly higher temperature than the suites. We are sorry that we were not aware of the situation at hand during your stay with us, we would have gladly find a suitable solution for you or move you to a larger more comfortable room.

As for the breakfast we do have rates and different packages that include the breakfast complimentary, we would definitely suggest our future guests and trip advisor readers to book the package with breakfast included, however it is indeed true that some of the rates, especially the discounted or last minute rate that do not include breakfast. As for the offering of the breakfast we will discuss with the management of our Restaurant All’Oro as well as your comments about the personnel. We are surprise to hear about this comment since we always have had positive and warm feedback about the friendliness of both the hotel and restaurant staff. Therefore if you could kindly give us more details about the order that was never delivered, perhaps by writing to my email gm@thefirsthotel.com, would be very much appreciated. We want to make sure that we could take the proper action to ensure that the same episode would not represent in the future.

We thank you for your valuable comments and we hope that you would give us a second chance to impress you and to make your stay at The First a perfect one.



Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at First Luxury Art Hotel. The hotel was excellent last year and just as good this year. Thank you again to the wonderful staff for making our stay so easy and enjoyable.
On our last stay we were excited to see the sights of Rome. This stay we were able to further enjoy all that the hotel's neighborhood has to offer. It is surrounded by lovely shops, cafés, restaurants bike stores, art galleries, and even local hairdressers which were reasonably priced by Australian standards. It's a beautiful area of Rome to explore and we are so glad we took the time to return.
An excellent choice in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugalug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla H, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are glad to have the chance to welcome you for the second time at The First and delighted to know that your have had an even more enjoyable time this year round exploring the neighbourhood attractions. Our team remember you very well and please know that you are always welcomed at The First, your home away from home.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maida Vale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nothing to fault this well kept secret of a Hotel. The staff at check in was impeccable, nothing was too much of a problem for them and it wasnt just because its their job, they did it with passion! The suite was well appointed, spacious and the forniture was at a par with an art gallery. Breakfast could be improved, but all in all a very enjoyable stay. We will go back for sure

Room Tip: higher floors rooms have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urtheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla H, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are glad to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us and that our staff have been most helpful. We thrive on hiring the right person with the positive service attitude to be part of our team, so your comment only give us even more encouragement to do our very best.

We have taken note about the breakfast and will discuss it with the restaurant management to find ways to improve it.

Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
198 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel is a little gem.

The location is ideal, close to many sights but also in an area where you can escape from the crowds.

Our room (a junior suite) was spacious & comfortable - the bed was perfect. The bathroom excellent - nice towels - lots of nice quality products. The espresso machine was a bonus as was free wifi.

Housekeeping was impeccable.

We had Christmas lunch in the restaurant & it was very good food reasonably priced - last year in Paris we paid 3 times more for a much much less enjoyable experience. Markus the Maître D is lovely & the team were great.

Actually, every staff member we dealt with in our 4 night stay was charming & helpful.

We really loved this place & we will go back.

One small complaint was how hot the room was but we opened our bedroom window & it cooled down pretty quickly & everything else was so good it would be mean to give it less the 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla H, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor and for having chosen The First to spend your Christmas holiday. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed our beautiful and spacious suite, bathroom and our different amenities and that you have had a wonderful Christmas lunch in our Michelin starred Restaurant All’Oro. We will definitely pass along your kind comments to Markus and team.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you back at The First and in our Restaurant All’Oro soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Booked as surprise for wedding anniversary

The hotel and staff could not have done more to make our stay perfect

Every detail was thought of from trips to sorting out our cocktails on the Terrance ( which in winter is closed)

Will rush back soon

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment in Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to hear that our team have taken a great care of you during your stay with us and that you have had a memorable stay at The First. We look forward to having you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
402 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#39 of 1,257 in Rome
1,028 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Property: The First Luxury Art Hotel
Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials bringing life to a modern class atmosphere. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with dedicated multi-lingual staff that will make your stay a memorable experience. Perfect match between culture and elegance, all 29 rooms and suites are provided with LED TV with cable sports and movie channels, minibar, iPod/iPhone docking stations, a selection of books and marble bathrooms. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like a small art gallery, yours for a few days. From the rooftop garden, guests can enjoy the breath-taking views of the Eternal city. The First is a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing