We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific boutique hotel with great location, large room and terrific breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #28 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Terrific boutique hotel with great location, large room and terrific breakfast.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February as part of a British Airways vacation package and were generally extremely pleased. The junior suite room was quite large and comfortable, modern and beautifully decorated, with a great bed. I loved the flat screen TV which doubled as a decorative mirror. As noted by other reviewers, the room could get warm but opening the large windows generally cooled it down quickly. It was also surprisingly quiet given the very close location to the Piazza del Popolo. Breakfast, included in our package was fabulous and really an unexpected bonus.

I have only one criticism. While I thought the staff were generally very helpful, (the doorman was simply top notch), one of the women at reception had an edge which I thought was unnecessary. An example was returning to the hotel after the first day touring. Reception had misplaced the copies of our passport on check-in, so disactivated our room key in order to force us to go to the front desk and have someone accompany us to the room to make a new copy. I was annoyed but the receptionist acted like it was our fault - I didn’t like that. We had a couple of similar incidents with the same receptionist being annoyed when we asked questions as she was so busy. A small issue in the big picture and not one which would prevent me from staying there again, but it shouldn’t happen at this caliber of hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you are pleased with your stay at The First and that you have enjoyed our spacious suite, modern decor and comfortable suite.

We are however sorry for the poor impression you had with one of our receptionists. We are proud to have always offer a very welcoming atmosphere with professional and friendly staff, like most of the feedback we received from other guests, therefore your comment really came as a surprise to us. We will investigate further and take proper measurement to the staff that was on duty during your stay to ensure that this episode will not be repeated in the future.

We sincerely thank you for your kind input, hoping that you wound give us another chance to make up for this unfortunate situation by having you back at The First soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    125
    32
    7
    9
See reviews for
113
488
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Located in a quiet side alley, this small, ultra-modern boutique delivers high quality. Service was outstanding.

Small negatives we experienced:

Some items are over-designed and inefficient: the TV, the Phones and the Safe. All were difficult to use (did you ever think that some hotel safes operate differently?) The international flat screen TV was nearly impossible to use effectively. Despite us having been booked into a upgraded suite, only one bar of soap was provided for both sink and shower.

Other than these minor items, the hotel was an excellent - albeit pricey - choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you have found that our property was of high quality with outstanding service.

As regards to our TV and Safe, we understand that it could be a little tricky. To anticipate this we in fact always explain to our guests during the in-room check-in and we also leave a clear instruction in the room. We however thank you for your input and we will try do to a better job in explaining the different functionalities to our guests in the future.

We hope to have you back at The First Hotel soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Family of 4 stayed 3 nights on vacation. Greeted with smiles and escorted to rooms. Luxury of the big brands in a small and warm atmosphere. Roof top views are impressive. Easy walk to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain (which are both under renovation for next year or so) Will definitely stay again next time in Rome

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you and your family have had an enjoyable stay at The First and that you appreciated our friendly, luxurious and warm atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The First Hotel soon and to revisiting the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is lovely, clean, and very quiet.Perfectly situated between The Vatican and the Colosseum, around the corner from the Piazza del popolo and the Via del Corso.The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel, I would definitely love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

What a delight to read your comment on Trip Advisor. The professionally, courtesy and friendliness of our staff have always been one of our strong points and we are happy to receive such wonderful feedback from you.

We hope to have the occasion to welcome you back to The First soon and until then we are sending you our warmest regards.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I, along with my sister and brother-in-law stayed 4 nights earlier this month. My sister had booked the hotel and I was skeptical only because it was not a name or brand I was familiar with. We were pleasantly surprised, though, from the warm welcome and easy check in after a long day of travel to the consistently helpful and caring staff. They were always smiling and willing to help with any requests and truly made the entire stay feel more intimate and personal.
We had a jacuzzi suite that was spacious and the jacuzzi proved to be wonderfully relaxing after a long day of touring the city!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GRTadewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor.

Needless to say that we are extremely thrilled that you decided to try our hotel despite your unfamiliarity with our brand. We are indeed a new hotel open about 3 years ago but we are also part of the Preferred Hotel Group, which is a guarantee of luxury and quality in product and service right from our opening day.

However, more importantly we are happy that we have exceeded your expectation in term of service and atmosphere. We are glad that our staff had made a difference for your stay and that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing time in our Jacuzzi.

We look forward to see you soon at The First and we will definitely reserve the Jacuzzi Suite again for your next stay.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had three rooms in the hotel from the first suite to the junior sweet. They were fabulous. Great spacious rooms with much detail. The rooms were just like being at home. Everyone was so kind and could not have been more helpful. The hotel itself is located within walking distance to everything. We loved it so much that we are coming back next year. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cartesroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor.

One of the main concepts of boutique hotel is indeed to make our guests feel at home therefore we are so delighted that we have managed to extend this experience for you at The First Hotel.

We hope to have you and your family and friends back soon at The First.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recommend this hotel as one the best in Rome for so many reasons!!! We would like to specially thank Mr. Flavio Eulogi Cristallini, he speaks Mandarin Chinese very fluently, so professional,helpful and friendly!! They made our stay in Rome unforgettable... Thank You Very Much!!

Room Tip: The bed is very comfortable, so impressed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia88538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor and for recommending The First Hotel as one of the best in Rome.

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful and international team to ensure that we could welcome our guests in their mother tongue language and to make them feel more at home. We are also proud to have such great team who always go above and beyond to ensure that our guests needs are met.

Your comment has given us such a great motivation to continue investing on our personnel. We will extend your kind and encouraging comment to Flavio and we we hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,256 in Rome
400 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#48 of 1,256 in Rome
1,318 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#32 of 1,256 in Rome
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Property: The First Luxury Art Hotel
Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials bringing life to a modern class atmosphere. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with dedicated multi-lingual staff that will make your stay a memorable experience. Perfect match between culture and elegance, all 29 rooms and suites are provided with LED TV with cable sports and movie channels, minibar, iPod/iPhone docking stations, a selection of books and marble bathrooms. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like a small art gallery, yours for a few days. From the rooftop garden, guests can enjoy the breath-taking views of the Eternal city. The First is a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing