We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #33 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you have ever played the donkey and tail game, you could not stick a pin in a map more central. It's simply close to everything. The hotel staff in reception were very friendly and knowledgable and gave you as much time as you could wish for regarding asking questions, nothing was too much. We also had a beautiful room on the 4th floor with a lovely large outside area and hot-tub. The room (405) was very large when it comes to city based hotel rooms. Our friends were staying in room 104 which was a more standard room and even this was of good size, although to the front of the building which apparently was a little noisy at times. My only complaint would be the staff who "served" us on the roof bar, it was as if we were a nuisance being there and we decided not to eat there on our final night because of this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is to the back of the hotel and high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to learn that overall you had a wonderful stay and that you appreciate our Jacuzzi Suite which is one of our signature suites, but most importantly we are delighted to learn the positive attitude and hospitality of our reception team. We however are sorry if this did not apply to the bar staff. Despite that our food and beverage outlets are outsourced it is no excuse to have a different standard of service, we were therefore bring this to the attention of our bar/restaurant partner and we thank you for your kind input.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at The First.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    135
    33
    7
    10
See reviews for
126
511
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here as a part of a tour of Venice, Florence, and Rome

Location
Great location. Close to the major sites of Rome. The Piazza de Popolo was a 5 minute walk. Spanish steps, Hadrian's Temple, Trevi Fountain, etc were all within a 15 minute walk. The great part is that it's off on a side street, so it's very quiet.

Rooms
Well kept hotel with modern Italian decor. King sized beds were available. Our room looked out on a nice green garden. Bathrooms were stone clad and had great water pressure.

Service
Great service from check-in to check-out. Staff were all friendly throughout our stay. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayztrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you have had a wonderful stay with us and truly appreciate your positive comments on all aspects.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The First.

Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is fairly new but they have a lot to fix to be a truly 5 star hotel. The positives were the room size and decor which were very nice. We had two rooms joined by another door making our rooms essentially into a suite. The rooftop restaurant was beautiful but we didn't eat there. The art work was kind of cool as well. The things that need improvement are many. First, the hallway leading to our hotel rooms had a glass wall making it extremely hot. I don't think the air was on at all. Every time I had a nice outfit on, I worried about sweating in that hallway. Second , the hallway had too many bugs hanging around the lights by our room. It almost was like the hallway was outside but no ventilation. Third, they would not provide change for a 500 or 100 Euro bill. Every other 5 star hotel we stayed at provided change (needed for tips, etc). Fourth, there is no fitness center. It's "in development". When I asked for a local gym they only offered use of a spa type gym locally for 45 Euros. That's outrageous when you want a quick workout each morning. I found a local gym using my iPhone for 15 Euros. Finally, the staff in the restaurant at breakfast was awful. We would sit down and they would disappear into the kitchen. If you want coffee or a hot breakfast, you must get up and find them. I'll end with a positive note. It is in a great location!,

Room Tip: Don't get rooms around 502 unless they have fixed the hallway issue leading to those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor about your last stay at The First Hotel. We are truly sorry to hear about the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay with us, we have taken every each of them into consideration and placed a proper counter actions to avoid the reoccurrence of these issues in the future.

We hope that you would give us another chance to be your host and home away from home wherever you future plans bring you back to Rome and until then we thank you for your input and send you our most sincere regards.


Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Starting with the positives: the room was quiet and the bed was comfy. The hotel was well located being close to the Spanish steps and shopping district.
The negatives: tired decor with grubby carpets and marked walls. Dodgy breakfast with chocolate mousse as a present from the chef (?), kidney beans (?), instant coffee and toast to break your teeth on. Virtually the first thing the guy on reception did when we checked in was to push restaurants at us - was he on a kick-back? It certainly felt like! Unprofessional and lacking class. The outside terrace area was uninviting and there was no view whatsoever from the hotel.
Luxury is not a word I would use in conjunction with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happytraveller681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Despite the fact that you appreciate our suite, comfortable bed, and perfect location we are sorry to hear about your non satisfactory experience at The First.

Our hotel is opened about 3 years ago, we have always keep up with the maintenance to ensure that the hotel is always in top condition. However being in a high season period with the hotel almost fully booked everyday makes it challenging for us to do the extra maintenance at the moment. We however have put in place to make over some of the rooms with the marked wall for the lower season period. This is in now way an excuse, we just to want to explain that our wall is made of fabric and not of hard wall that can easily be painted in one day and therefore need a more elaborated work and time to have it redone.

As for the breakfast, we serve only fresh grinded Italian coffee and fresh toast in the restaurant. The only instant coffee we use is the complimentary Nespresso machine that we place in every suite for our guest comfort. We are sorry that we came to learn this only after your departure, otherwise we could have investigated further while you are here.

Regarding the check in, our staff are trained to inform the guests about the local attractions and happenings including bars and restaurants around the area to make sure that our guests are well oriented. We apologise if you perceived our extra service and pro-activeness as a negative spin but rest assured that all was done with good intention to optimise the stay experience of our guests.

As for the terrace, we have been cited on various publications as having one of the most beautiful rooftop terraces in Rome with 360 degree view of the Ethernal City. This is the first comment we heard about the lack of view and uninviting atmosphere. We started to wonder if you have visited our rooftop terrace on the 6th floor with the full bar and restaurant service run by our Michelin-starred Chef or your only visited one of our small terraces on first and forth floor available for our guests to enjoy a private moments.

We hope to have the occasion to welcome you back to The First and to make up for your last stay. We will be sure to give you the full tour of the hotel and ensure that you will be the most superb breakfast with us.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stotfold, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

A delightful hotel tucked away near piazza del popolo. Outstanding customer service from all the staff especially reception who helped us to pre-book our tickets for the colloseum and Vatican to skip the queue.
The junior suite is a nice size with pleasant modern decor. Air conditioning in the room can be adjusted to suit personal preference.
The restaurant on the sixth floor roof terrace serves amazing food and has a stunning view across the rooftops of the city.
Breakfast buffet is well stocked and hot dishes can be requested. You can even start your day with a glass of champagne!
Good location, 15mins walk to Spanish steps or trevi fountain. About 35mins to the colloseum. Shame all have scaffold around them right now!
Would highly recommend this hotel for a wonderful romantic stay in Rome.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and thank you for the wonderful comment about the excellent customer service that has always been our number one priority.

We are also delighted that you like our Junior Suite and its modern decor, our rooftop panoramic terrace and our great location.

We look forward to yet another memorable stay with us and hopefully next time you would be able to enjoy the Roman's sites on their superb condition.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Rome for a special birthday in January 2014. I was nervous about choosing a hotel as I wanted the trip to be special and reviews can be conflicting and confusing. My main criteria were to have somewhere clean & comfortable to sleep and somewhere that was very central so that we could make the most of our three night stay. I was under added pressure as my other half once lived in Italy and my ability to understand even English maps is terrible.
I could not be happier with the choice that I made and feel awful for waiting this long to write a review. Location- wise you cannot go wrong. The First Luxury Art Hotel is within walking to distance to pretty much everywhere of any importance/interest and was an excellent base for our little adventure. This hotel might not be on par with the Shangri La (as I think some people seem to expect) but it is a lovely well run hotel that offers comfortable and contemporary rooms- yes they are on the small size but are absolutely fine for a mini break or those who don't hang around in their rooms all day. The beds are very large and comfortable and the bathrooms are excellent quality, as were the products. Storage for clothing is a slight issue but we only hung up a few evening pieces and lived out of our suitcases for the rest of the time. Our room was quite warm at night due the heating being on as it was winter but we simply opened the window which was fine.
All of the staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient and went above and beyond to make our stay special. We were given two restaurant recommendations by hotel staff-‘La buca di ripetta’ where we had a beautiful evening and ‘Ad Hoc’ which is also well worth a visit. The restaurant manager at La Buca Di Ripetta made us feel like family, the food was outstanding and the atmosphere was intimate despite every table being full. You can expect a slightly more modern and interesting menu at Ad Hoc in a wonderful wine cellar setting. Both places are within a two minute stroll of the hotel. Unfortunately we didn’t get a chance to eat in the hotel restaurant which we regret!
Fabulous hotel, wonderful memorable holiday/birthday. My only tip is this; if you only have one meal during your stay go to ‘Amando al Pantheon’. You’ll see why.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are honoured that after a series of research you have chosen us as a surprise birthday trip for your boyfriend and glad that you have had a wonderful stay with us.

We are also glad that you like the location (we are indeed in a perfect location, so centralised and in walking distance to many of the Roman sites), our super comfortable bed, luxurious bathroom and the hotel's modern yet intimate atmosphere. We are also pleased to learn that our staff have treated you with the most warm welcome and have gone above and beyond to ensure that your stay is a memorable one.

As for the size of the room and the wardrobe, we are actually an almost all suite hotel with very few double rooms. Our suites are spacious with sufficient space for the wardrobe but unfortunately this is not the case for the double room. Therefore for other guests who will be reading this comment and reply, we suggest you to book from our Junior Suite category and up, especially if you are travelling with heavy suitcase of if you are staying for multiple nights, otherwise just like you say, our double room would still be perfect of a mini break.

Again, we thank you for your wonderful review and hopefully we could have you back at The First soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The reception was very friendly/ efficient and we were very happy to be upgraded for our 4 night stay. The room was modern, clean and very spacious. We loved the decor and artwork. Our only complaint about the room was that it was a bit dark. The view from the roof deck bar was amazing and we appreciated having this option in the hotel. We felt that the breakfast buffet should have been better - for a great local breakfast in a beautiful setting try the Hotel de Russie. Although the rooms daily cleaning was good…they didn't neaten up at all only cleaned (most luxury hotels do both) and the turndown service was inconsistent. Overall a great hotel, but missing something for a 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC102005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. It was our pleasure to have been able to upgraded you to one of our suite and we are glad that you have enjoyed our spacious suite, the decor and the artworks in the suite.

Our suites are designed to create a more intimate and romantic atmosphere therefore they are not as bright as a room/suite in a business hotel, however we provide an extra standing lamp in case our clients prefer a brighter room. We are sorry that we did not find this out during your stay here otherwise we would be more than delighted to arrange extra lighting for you.

As for the tidying up in your room, our policy is always to first respect the clients' privacy and trying not to touch and move around too much of clients' personal belongings. We are sorry if this is perceived as lack of inconsistent service, we will certainly make note of this and ensure to double check with the clients in the future. We just wished that you would have brought this up to our attention during your stay so that we could take immediate action.

As for the breakfast, we are providing both buffet and continental breakfast however with the buffet breakfast our guests are welcomed to order a hot dish freshly prepared from the chef, which is mostly appreciate it by our guests. We will however take your input to improve the quality and setting our our breakfast.

We thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the occasion to welcoming you back at The First.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,263 in Rome
420 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#53 of 1,263 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#38 of 1,263 in Rome
1,053 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Property: The First Luxury Art Hotel
Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the iconic shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with 29 rooms and suites perfectly matching culture and elegance. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like in an art gallery, yours for a few days. Enjoy AcquaRoof dining with breath-taking views of the Eternal city, and the amazing cuisine of Michelin star Chef Alessandro Narducci at Acquolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing