We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time staying here, about to book the third!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon
Ranked #190 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Herford, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Second time staying here, about to book the third!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Great location, spotlessly clean, bright and well presented room and furnishings, good modern bathroom, friendly and helpful staff. After years of using a hotel near the Campo de' Fiori, which we loved the location of despite the rooms being very small and a bit oppressive, we were a bit nervous of trying somewhere new. But this hotel did not disappoint, hence we came back. It was very competitively priced and much cheaper than our usual place. We are about to book another trip and have no hesitation in recommending it. If I was being at all picky I would say that the lack of anywhere to put our clothes was a slight irritation - no drawers and the wardrobe was taken up with the fridge and safe. Plenty of space to put this right and as we were on a short break, living out of our suitcase wasn't a hardship. would book a different room next time.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms at the back are quieter. We faced on to the street but we don't mind the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona642064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    242
    54
    17
    10
See reviews for
120
294
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of June on a trip to Rome. We had a superior room that had a great amount of space and was very clean with a comfortable bed. The TV had a lot of great choices and the option to switch many of the channels to english language which was great for relaxing after a long day of walking around. The folks at the front counter were very friendly and always helpful when we had questions. There was a kettle in the room for making tea and coffee.

Two small things with the room, I know someone had mentioned before about the safe being small and it is quite small. We have a 10 inch tablet and it was a tight squeeze to get it in. The other issue that some others have mentioned is the shower. We did have shower pressure issues on one of the days and on another day we didn't have hot water.

One thing of note for those that might have issues with stairs or lugging their bags is that this hotel has an elevator. We enjoyed the breakfast and there was a lovely lady that was there 3 of the 4 mornings and kept the dining area immaculate and stocked the one morning she wasn't there it was a bit of a disaster with 3 quarters of the tables having messes on them and there being no hot water for tea and a lot of food having run out.

All in all we would definitely return here for the awesome service and location. It is a bit higher priced than some of the others but based on the prices I had seen I didn't feel that we over paid and commented on the issues above as feedback to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are planning on taking a taxi from the airport book their car service it is only 2 Euro more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had a very nice stay at Le Clarisse al Pantheon. The location is excellent - just a few minutes walk to the Pantheon and convenient to all sites in Rome. Our room was good sized,
very clean, well appointed and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very nice. The water pressure varied, but that is to be expected in hotels in older buildings. Wifi was free.
Breakfast, which was included, was a very nice buffet of hard boiled eggs, breads, meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereal, pastries, fruit, juice, coffee and tea.

The weather was not warm when we were in Rome, but we wanted to use the fan on the a/c unit to circulate the air. We couldn't get it to work, so we slept with the window open the first night. There was a good bit of street noise - from the bar below, from a machine shop nearby the next morning and from church bells. (The windows are double pane and do a good job of blocking noise when closed). The desk sent maintenance up to look at the fan. He reprogrammed the remote and it worked beautifully and we slept soundly the second night. The housekeeping staff turned off the fan the next morning and we were never able to get it to turn on again. We slept with the windows open the next two nights and dealt with the street noise. Some is to be expected in major cities. We did hear some noise one evening from a nearby room - it sounded like luggage being moved.

The desk staff here were all friendly and very helpful, especially Claudia. Special thanks to the hotel staff who kindly assisted us in making international calls when my husband at home was hospitalized.

Take advantage of the hotel pick-up service. The price, 50 euro, is the going rate to/from the airport. We were met at the airport by our driver holding a sign with our name. We were quickly whisked directly to the hotel in a beautiful Mercedes. The instructions we received were a little confusing as we weren't met outside of baggage claim, but at the exit. Just keep walking until you see a cluster of drivers holding signs.

Claudia recommended La Ciambella (the hotel restaurant) downstairs for dinner on Sunday and it was very, very good.

There is a lot to like about this hotel and I would recommend.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise ask to be placed in a room that is on a higher floor and not over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidsincollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolland, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Based on numerous recommendations we wanted to stay in the Pantheon/Piazza Navona area. We selected Le Clarisse based on the reviews and location. As expected, there is so much to do in this area, all within a short walk. All of the staff we interacted with were outstanding and very helpful. We also took advantage of the airport transfer which worked out fine.
The room was clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was that we had to ask for amenities a couple of times (soap, toilet paper). They provided whatever we needed when we asked, I just though they would have restocked during the daily cleaning. They also helped with tour reservations and recommendations.
We ate at hotel restaurant (somehow related I think), La Ciambella, a few times. This is where you get the hotel breakfast. Breakfast had the basics to get your day started, probably the same you'd get in most places in Rome. Dinner there was good. Food was fresh and tasty and our waitress took the time to clearly explain the entire menu to us in English (it's all in Italian), and provided recommendations.
And our best dining experience was right around the corner at Vecchia Locanda.
We will stay here again if we return to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Great location, just a couple blocks from the Pantheon and close to Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori, with Trestevere just across the river! Room was a little pricey but you are paying for a great location as we preferred staying in the Pantheon area as opposed to the Spanish steps. Our room was clean and nice but the first night we only had lukewarm water to shower in. We had full hot water the next two nights, though, so am not sure what happened the first night. They also had a airport limo which was comparably priced (50 euro for 3 people) and got us to the airport on time with no hassle. Breakfast at the restaurant right next door was adequate with pastries, cereals, meats, cheeses, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lm2hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on our recent trip to Rome. The location is excellent, located on a side street no more than 3 minutes walking from the Pantheon. It's a central location that allows easy walking access to every major attraction. Other than that, this hotel was a bust. The security was questionable at best - our room was not ready when we arrived, so we left our bags with the front desk - but they didn't have any place to put them, so they just sat out with no guarantee that the guy at the front desk would be there to protect them. The room key was a generic key that opened other hotel rooms - we know, because we accidentally opened somebody else's room. That was a major issue. The room size was large for Rome, and had a huge selection of TV channels to watch. Breakfast was included and was in an adjoining restaurant, and was mediocre at best, but the staff there was nice.

The bathroom was a mess - nice fixtures that didn't work at all. The shower was a total mystery - 2 different sized shower heads, one dribbled water while the other blasted it simultaneously, and one was often cold while the other was scalding hot. It was a circle sliding door, and was so tiny that you couldn't move without knocking the temperature, which changed every 30 seconds on it's own from freezing cold to burning hot. Total disaster. The hotel also had a rather loud mouthed receptionist at nights who made an inappropriate comment in jest to me in front of my wife, which neither of us appreciated. You can't beat the location, but this hotel was the worst of our trip across Europe, and it was the most expensive to boot.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Rita B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
"Dear Mr "thetaming",
first of all please let us thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon in Rome.

We are glad that you fully enjoyed our central location and all the positive outcomings from it, such as being able to access any attraction within easy walking distance.

We are also concerned, though, about your negative remarks. We take our Guests' comments, suggestions and opinions very seriously, because as you can imagine, it is our primary precious source for finding out where and how we can improve our Hospitality Standards.

That is why I would like to reply to each of them:

Safety: this was the remark that worried us the most, since of course our Guests' safety is our FIRST and most important concern. Therefore I would like to point out that it is true that we do not provide a locked room for our early arrivals' luggages, but it is also true that at least one member of the Reception Staff is ALWAYS present in reception area, right next to the suitcases and bags. Nothing unsafe ever happened from this point of view and nothing will.
As for the rooms' keys I hereby GRANT that each room has its own key, there is no way someone could open someone else's room, except of course for the maids with their passe-partout keys.
In fact, I find it pretty strange that none of our Staff members remembers such a complaint from your behalf. You are right: it would be an extremely serious matter if it was as you say, but if it was, I truly hope you would have asked us for an explanation, and we would have promptly showed you that such a thing was impossible.

Breakfast: even if we try our best, of course food is a matter of tastes, and it is sadly impossible to meet each single taste in this sense. But stilll we do our best by offering the following selection of food and beverages: Seasonal fresh fruits, orange and pineapple fresh juice, freshly cooked croissants of different kinds, pastries, homemade cakes, selection of dry fruit, cornflakes, selection of cereals, two kinds of honey, different kinds of jam, butter, different kind of biscuits, homemade quiche, eggs, tomatoes, salami, turkey, ham and other types of Italian meats, different kinds of cheese, different kinds of bread, many tastes of yoghurt, American log coffee, espresso, cappuccino, selection of tea.

Bathroom and shower: as you can read in the previous reviews, almost any of our Guests has truly enjoyed our large and modern bathrooms and showers. I do not know what happened during your stay though, there must have been a momentary inconvenience with the water temperature and shower heads. The double shower head is meant to be more comfortable in offering different kind and pressures in water jizzes at different heights. If for some technical issue this turned out to be a discomfort for you, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience and we encourage our Guests, once again, to let us know about any issue (should it happen) as soon as they notice, as this is the only way for us to know and provide efficient and prompt assistance.

Staff: the comment on the night auditor's behaviour has shocked us. On behalf of the property and management I hereby state firmly that all of our Staff members have been working with us for many years now, and we chose each and everyone of them very carefully basing the selection not only on their accurate knowledge and professionalism, but ESPECIALLY on the basis of politeness, customer care orientation, honesty and friendliness. As you and other travellers may easily check, ALL of the previous revious on this and other websites explicitly always compliments with our Staff's attitude. This is the first complaint EVER that we receive in this sense in many years of activity. Our Staff's efforts and results are our main pride and it always shows in our Guests' opinions.

We truly regret that we did not meet your expectations and we would like to invite you once again as our welcomed Guest when in Rome next time.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Le Clarisse al Pantheon
My wife and I stayed in a standard twin here for 5 nights in early April 2013. The hotel is in a superb location for sightseeing in Rome, on a relatively quiet narrow street a few blocks south of the Pantheon and around the corner from Largo Argentina. From our hotel we could walk to most of the sights in central Rome and easily get buses or a taxi elsewhere. It was a pleasure to be out in the evening and stroll through this lively part of Rome. The tram runs into Trastevere.

Our room was clean, just barely adequate size, very plain, but with no drawer storage. I believe the drawers in the wardrobe had been replaced by a refrigerator. An oddly shaped extension incorporated a window overlooking the street. The bathroom was small but updated. We were surprised at the cost of the room, but not out of line with other hotels in the area. I believe most of the hotels in the Pantheon neighborhood are in older buildings that have been redone as hotels.

The staff was very helpful and friendly -- providing directions, maps, restaurant suggestions and reservations. They really tried very hard. There was a problem with the noise from a group of restaurant goers or staff on the short narrow street in the early morning hours. When we complained the second night, the night desk manager went out there to quiet them down. The hotel has a car service that picked us up at FCO airport for the going rate, no hassle and took us directly to the hotel. Helpful, since it is a little difficult to identify the entrance on Via Arco della Ciambella.

The owners of the hotel have recently openned a restaurant, La Ciambella, in a large, attractive space adjacent to the hotel, also facing Ciambella, and we had a very pleasant, entirely adequate breakfast of cold cuts and excellent pastries there each morning. The waiter there is an especially friendly fellow.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAccidental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#125 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#316 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Pantheon Inn
Pantheon Inn
#444 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#57 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#132 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon

Property: Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon
Address: Via Dell'Arco della Ciambella 19, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon is a three stars hotel established in an antique building dating from the 12th century. Thanks to its prime location, is the ideal place to enjoy Rome and its surroundings. It is conveniently located close to the main commercial streets for shopping and the major tourist attractions for sightseeing such as the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo de Fiori, Largo di Torre Argentina, Via del Corso, Piazza di Spagna, the Vatican, Saint Peter's square, Foro Romano and the Coliseum. Overlooking our terrace or historical buildings, the 24 rooms are designed to meet the needs of families, couples on a romantic getaway and business travellers looking for tranquillity. All rooms are soundproofed and non-smoking, with air conditioning, safe, free wi fi, Tv lcd 27" satellite, Sky Tv, minibar, courtesy tray. The comfortable and modern bathrooms offer a wide shower, dry hair, body care kit and quality bath linen. Some rooms have a Jacuzzi and old brick ceilings. For the comfort and pleasure of its guests, the hotel offers Wi Fi in public areas with a 24h/24h reception desk and the possibility of an happy hour or tasting some dishes of the Roman culinary tradition at "La Ciambella" our partner Restaurant, Pizzeria, American Bar. During the course of summer, you can enjoy the terrace located on the second floor and relax after a day of exploring the city. Quality facilities and an excellent location make the Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon, the perfect starting point for indulging in what Rome has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing