We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Tour”

Romaround Private Tours
Ranked #266 of 787 Tours in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Romaround has more than ten years of experience in organizing high quality private tours in Rome, Florence, Venice and other beautiful locations in Italy: walking tours, shore excursions, limo tours, day-trips, wine tasting, cooking classes and more. The guides of the Romaround team will make you enjoy a wonderful time: they are friendly and knowledgeable, have academic degrees in art or archaeology and are all officially licensed. This is the official Romaround, beware of imitations
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Walking Tour”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have just come back from a short trip to Rome to watch the rugby. Sunday I had arranged a 'walking tour' of the city for 3 hours for 10 of us. Our guide arrived very promptly at 10am and he was just amazing!! Mauro was very informative literally about everything!! If you asked him anything about 'anything' he knew it!! He was very relaxed and extremely knowledgeable. He guided us around for 3 hours and we certainly felt we got our monies worth. I would thoroughly recommend this company!! I loved the fact that Mauro was so casual but so passionate about his city - it really shone through. I can't wait to go back and meet him again and do more that we didn't have time to do this time around! He even made sure we found a restaurant to have lunch at at the end of the tour. Thanks again Mauro!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    4
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent day seeing and learning about ancient Rome!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The folks at Romaround Private Tours were great to work with and helped us get to all the sights we wanted to see. The guide they provided was Mauro and his depth and breadth of knowledge about ancient Rome was incredible. Romaround's guides are certified so go into the various sites with you to discuss them and answer questions. We wanted to see a lot in one day and my parents are in their late 70s - Mauro did a great job of keeping a reasonable pace, the easiest way to walk around the various sites and kept us on track to see everything. We also arranged a driver with Romaround who helped us get around to all the sites more easily, so we could save my parents legs for wandering around ancient ruins. Mauro also shared with us some of his favorite sites that were near our centrally located hotel, adding greatly to our day-long tour. An incredible day in Rome and great value for the cost, along with excellent customer service. Romaround exceeded our expectations.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BonVoyager7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Private tours of Venice's 3 Islands and Florence/Pisa”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked tours with this company based on reviews on Trip Advisor- and have nothing but positive to say about both tours.
Our tours were originally booked in April and we had to reschedule them for September when our cruise line cancelled several sailings in April. Our online contact-Hali Vik was understanding and helpful, organizing and providing clear information.
Our first tour was from Venice and was of the Islands of Murano, Burano and Turcello. Our tour guide was Davide and he was fabulous. He met us at our hotel on time (in fact a little early), shared a wealth of interesting information throughout the day with my father, husband and myself. The private tour of the glass factory in Murano was very interesting as was the lace store in Burano. Selling produce being sold from a boat as you are walking along the water on Burano is still a wonderful picture in my mind.
As he was walking us back to our hotel in Venice he also introduced us to Sicilian gelato-absolutely delicious!

Our second tour was of Florence/Pisa a few days later when our ship was in port there.
Our day started off delightfully with our driver Francesco, taking us for a drive through the Tuscan countryside and stopping at a garage that had a wonderful bistro attached to it- started off the tour with great coffees and pastries. He was very personable and we had interesting conversations on a range of topics as he took us to Florence to meet our guide Elena. She spent 4 tours with us touring around Florence explaining the art, buildings and history. Elena was clearly passionate about her city
When we got to Pisa our driver dropped off very close to the tower (ah the joy of private tour vehicles vs large buses that can't get as us close to attractions) and we had time to explore
Overall both were wonderful days
This company was thorough and well organized and the guides and driver have what it takes to be successful with private tours-I would thoroughly recommend them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
“Passion for Rome and the History”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent three days with Margherita ans she was awesome. Her passion for her city and the history made our time in Rome very special. Its was clear that she knew the history and background of the places which we visited. It was a great experience for our family. I can't say enough about Margherita!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Connecticut
1 review
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our private tour was led by Margherita, and she was wonderful to spend the day with! We had only 7 hours to spend in Rome (from a cruise) and in that limited time we were able to see as much of the wonderful city as possible, constantly given as much information as we could soak in. Our family included one adult with limited mobility in a wheelchair, as well as 3 busy children, and Margherita was able to keep us moving along and interested all day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romaround Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Romaround Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing