We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite places in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar San Calisto

Bar San Calisto
Ranked #459 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Trastevere
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Bar San Calisto is surprisingly one of the places I love best in Rome. It's a cafe/bar/gelateria that hosts the most eclectic variety of people. Many of the people that visit are regulars, many locals, some hipsters, some artists, some people are weird. The prices are incredibly cheap and the surroundings... well, you are in Trastevere, you either love it or hate it.

But that's not the important part - Bar San Calisto offers what I believe is one of the best Gelato in Rome. I know, it's kind of hard to believe that a shady bar, selling a 1.5 euro cone/cup ice-cream in touristy Trastevere might be given this title, but it's true, and the locals who frequent this place know it. Do yourself a huge favor and go there for the ice cream. You will thank me :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TLV-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    107
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of my favourites in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is my friend’s local in Rome and we always sit here for a few hours when we are there. It is literally only 50 metres at most from Santa Maria de Trastevere and some very expensive food and drink but also close to the fantastic Da Augusto restaurant. A big bottle of Peroni or Morreti is only 2.50 Euros and the home-made ice cream is lovely. The place is full of character and where you will definitely not see the dolce vita. It is very bohemian to say the least and very 1950's. When we were there last Friday Vogue was using it for a fashion shoot. One of my favourites in Rome.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigandWendyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
223 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great bar with cheap drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Good location with a great buzz. Drink was very cheap but good. We were there on a Thursday night after dinner and the place was very busy with a great atmosphere. A nice place to hang out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanmary16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheapest pub ever in Trastevere Area. A+”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I would consider this pub as the cheapest fun pub ever existed in Trastevere area! an amazing place to hangout with friends, this place is Crowded in weekend, for anyone who wants to have a drink (Mostly different beers) and not spending too much money!
BAR San Callisto is an old pub and all locals from Trastevere mostly youths come here to have a chat and drink something during the weekend
it has enough space inside the pub to seat and enjoy your time with friends specially during winter to warm up as well even thou it wouldn't be so cold in Rome, I would definitely recommend this pub to Budget travellers.
I come here once in a while to have drinks around midnight, never had anything else so I can't comment on food or anything and i don't even know if if they serve food here or not,

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulDeperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love this bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

So cheap, friendly staff, always bustling at any time. Full of locals throughout the day drinking coffee or beers in the afternoon/evening, then gets busier at night with tourists. A gem!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar San Calisto also viewed

 

Been to Bar San Calisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing