We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel.”
Review of Hotel Lunetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Lunetta
Ranked #32 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel.”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed for four nights, second trip to Rome.
Location is superb, just off Campo de' Fiori. Piazza Navona, the Pantheon and Trastevere are less than 10 minutes walk. The Colosseum and Spanish Steps are around 20-25 minutes away but we walked everywhere. Taxi to and from Termini to the hotel is required but the location is worth it - allow 15 euro each way.
The room was functional and clean but nothing special. The lighting was a little dim; one of the lamps was broken and there was no plug socket for the standard lamp which may have helped! The size of the double deluxe room was reasonable but there was no real space for luggage storage and the wardrobe was tiny - 5 hangers. The bathroom was spacious and clean but the water was quite chilly. The WIFI didn't work well in our room; probably due to it's location at the back of the hotel and up some steps. The WIFI however worked well in reception areas so not really an issue. You do have to log in every time which is annoying.
The breakfast was nice but nothing special.
Overall, this is a good hotel but with no atmosphere and whilst the staff were courteous staff were not particularly helpful/approachable. I have travelled alot in Italy and I would say that this is a good hotel but for 300 plus euro per night I would expect a little more given experiences elsewhere. Need to iron out a few things in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingVegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    184
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
178
418
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N.Yorks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

What can I say, I am so glad I picked this hotel based on the glowing reviews from Trip Advisor!! Location, staff, room, breakfast all PERFECT! We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and we will return next time we're in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Lunetta. Friendly staff, nice rooms, great location. There were some minor annoyances but overall we were pleased.

Room:
The room was quite small and had no view (looked across a small alley to another room). This was the "superior room" so perhaps higher levels had it better. Nevertheless, the room had a nice size TV with many channels to choose from.

Even better was the Wifi service, it worked great! In fact it was one of the only places I've stayed where the wifi was good enough to conduct a video conference over the internet.

The room had a small desk, nightstands and wardrobe with a safe in it. It felt a little cramped but it wasn't a major problem.

The bathroom had a stall shower that was quite narrow but very useable with nice rain shower coming from the ceiling and a handheld sprayer as well.

Two things bothered us about the room. First, the door doesn't seem to have any soundproofing and you will hear people rolling luggage and closing doors outside in the hall. It was enough to wake us up several times.

Second, we seemed to have a few insect visitors in our bathroom daily. I found a few spiders, no big deal. However, one day we had a scorpion appear in the bathroom. Needless to say I was very worried about scorpions hitching a ride in my luggage after that.

Hotel/Lobby/Breakfast:
The lobby had some seating but not much. The roof had a small but nice bar area that was open in the afternoons for drinks. There wasn't much of a view unless you like looking at other rooftops but I think this is typical in most of Rome. The breakfast area was nice and we found the food to be pretty good, though honestly there are really great cafes right outside that have great food as well.

Service:
Service here was friendly and helpful most of the time, though we did have one front desk person tell us he didn't have any dinner recommendations for us when we asked, which was kind of odd.

Location:
The hotel is in a great spot. It's just off of a really nice sqaure (Campo de' Fiori) that has a daily fresh market and many nice places to have dinner or drinks at later at night. You can walk to many major attractions from the hotel, and it was also easy to grab a cab when needed from there as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Lunetta is a beautifully designed hotel in a great, great location! The staff was professional and very courteous. The breakfast was excellent!! Prices were a bit higher but we booked last minute The rooms were a bit small for a four day stay -- but not smaller than other city central Rome hotels. I would stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I were guests for 5 days/nights at Lunetta for our 10y anniversary trip. We spent 2 days/nights on front of our week stay and 3 days/nights on back of our stay with trip to Florence/Orvieto in between. We checked back in on our 10 year anniversary for our last 3 nights of the trip to find out that we were upgraded by some stroke of luck/hospitality. They helped arrange a surprise couples massage for us upon return to the hotel. Our spa experience was just ok as we were charged full couples massage despite not using jacuzzi following broken wine glass. The room upgrade helped us forget this though. The staff on site is awesome from the bellmen to reception to breakfast servers. The rooftop bar is a great way to start the evening. The hotel is modern, shiny and clean. It is around the corner from Campo D' Fiori if you want to hang with a younger scene at night while less than 5 min walk to artsy Piazza Navona. Trestavere is less than 10 min walk in one direction while Pantheon is as close the other. It is as central as you want to get while also being on a quieter little street. Big thanks to the staff there for assistance from initial reservations to check out. We can't wait to come back again. Tip...the Hotel hooked us up with a tour company called Eyes of Rome. Our private 3 hour Vatican tour with Katie was the most informative 3 hours of our trip to Italy. Definitely recommend if you don't mind paying a little more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Lunetta earlier this month and had a wonderful stay. I am sorry I can't remember the names of all the extremely helpful and courteous staff. Our favorite (probably because we got to know him best!) was the young man who tended the roof top bar -- As others have commented, its very close ( a short block) from Campo di Fiori, but tucked away a bit so there is no noise and hubbub, but you are within steps of lots of restaurants, metro line, bus stops, etc. It had the best breakfast buffet among the 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip because (although there may not have been the huge spread at some other places, everything was fresh, and of high quality, and sufficiently diverse; even the coffee Americano was made per cup and didn't sit in the pot somewhere. we got an on-the-fly- restaurant recommendation one light (for PierLuigi) was the best of our upper end meals of the entire trip. Its a small urban hotel -- don't expect any views, even from the roof top.

My only "critiques" (I don't want to call them criticisms) were (1) -- it was hot while we were there, and air conditioning was sufficient, but I would say barely by my U.S./Arizona standards (I like it really cold when I sleep -- I am of that certain age); (2) we are generally early birds, but the one morning we got a late start, it seemed like there might have been an issue with the quantity of hot water available; (3) the stall shower in the room we had was very small and there was no place to put soap or shampoo except the floor. I am normal weight and only 5"4" and it was so snug in there I could barely fit when I went bent/squatted. So after one use, I switched to the tub-shower. That was Ok but its very slick and they did not provide a rubber mat (noticed that only 2 of the 4 hotels we stayed in did so), so you need to be careful. (3) If you think you may use the pay per view while you are there, make sure you get someone to explain it when you check in or during the day when there are more staff around -- we wanted to watch something our last night and neither the gentleman at the desk or the (non-English speaking) night porter seemed to know how it worked.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mennolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed at Hotel Lunetta after I missed my flight due to a strike which my hotel in Sorrento failed to mention as I was checking out. I booked a last minute set of rooms for me and my family. After an incredibly stressful and difficult day, I could not have been anymore pleasantly surprised. The staff at this hotel are AMAZING!!!! They were incredible in every way. After hearing about what had happened to me, the staff went above and beyond to ensure that my stay was pleasant and easy. The rooms were extremely clean and very nice. The location was terrific. I wish that I had been able to spend more than one night! I have recommended this hotel to everyone that I know and I definitely plan to make a return trip to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#56 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lunetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lunetta

Property: Hotel Lunetta
Address: Piazza del Paradiso 68, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lunetta 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in early july 2011, the hotel Lunetta is the result of a complete renovation of a historic building dating back to 1368 ad and now an elegant 4 ****L The hotel Lunetta boasts 30 elegant rooms, all furnished in a sophisticated modern design, and differ among themselves for careful choice of materials and details that make one different from the other while maintaining a unique style.Opened in early July 2011, the hotel Lunetta is the result of a complete renovation of a historic building dating back to 1368 ad and now an elegant Boutique Hotel 4 ****L. The hotel Lunetta boasts 30 elegant rooms, all furnished in a sophisticated modern design, and differ among themselves for careful choice of materials and details that make one different from the other while maintaining a unique style.On the top floor the Roof Terrace Bar(open until Midnight during the summer) is the ideal place for relaxing moments sipping a drink and admire the spectacular view over the rooftops of Rome. In the morning, from 07.00 to 10.30 in the Breakfast room is served a generous Buffet with the choices of croissants, pastries and homemade cookies, natural fruit juices, as well as local meats, cheeses, scrambled eggs, bacon and specialty seasonal. Light Lunches or Dinner are served in the bar, or in the room through the Room Service. The Hotel Lunetta is located in the Historical Center of Rome near the lively Campo De'Fiori, a 30-minute walk from St. Peter's Basilica, 300 meters from Piazza Navona and a 12 minutes walk from the Pantheon and 20 minutes from the Spanish Steps.THE SPA Immersed in the extraordinary setting of the Theatre of Pompey, built in 55 BC in the ancient heart of the capital, comes the exclusive Spa of the Hotel Lunetta. An area of 300 square meters in which to relax and get in shape after a hike or a day's work.The Spa has an indoor swimming pool of 15 square meters with Jacuzzi and water blades for cervical muscles, Finnish sauna, Turkish bath, chromo therapy, emotional shower, a wonderful spa suite for couples therapy and various booths for the more advanced treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Lunetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing