We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, fantastic location and gorgeous man on reception...”
Review of Hotel Lunetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lunetta
Ranked #38 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

....what more could a girl ask?!

I just spent three nights here and it was truly a home from home in the pouring rain and miserable cold of Rome in January. The hotel is in an historic building which goes back to the days of ancient Rome, but which has been all gussied up on the inside and turned into the trendiest boutique hotel you can imagine. I was totally delighted with my room, which had a window in both the bedroom and the bathroom, looking out over an ancient, cobbled square. The decoration was up to the minute, from the (real) parquet floor in the bedroom to the beautiful white marble in the bathroom. An enormous tub welcomed for a hot soak, although it probably would've taken me all night to fill it to the top. Gorgeous, fluffy towels were on hand, and a couple of lovely robes. In fact the room had every amenity you could imagine, including Sky TV, a safe, minibar and even Champagne glasses for those of us who like to have a little fizz before a night on the tiles. I would say more five star than four star.

The breakfast was fantastic too. A great mixture of hot and cold, from cold cuts, to delicious cherry tomatoes in olive oil, to wonderful scambled egg and bacon. There were even some heavy duty toasters which made probably the best and crunchiest toast in the world. And then, if all that wasn't enough, a big plate of cake! You are certainly not going to be hungry after this breakfast!

There is a spa in the basement with all kinds of treatments which we didn't try, but it is worth going down there just to look at the remains of the ancient Roman theatre which used to be on the site. It's allegedly the place where Julius Caesar was stabbed by Brutus and with the low spa lighting and the dampness which seems to envelop you when you get out of the lift, you can almost imagine you are back in the dim and distant past. Truly fascinating and not just limited to the hotel - several restaurants in the block have remains of the same theatre in their basements too.

I had a couple of teensy niggles from my stay, although they didn't alter my five star rating. One is that the temperature in the room was set at 23 degrees C, which although is marvellous when coming in from the cold initially, is way too hot to sleep in. I mentioned this to the desk and the chap said he would alter it to 20 degrees from his control panel....and then didn't. So we suffered another two nights in boiling heat.

The second tiny niggle was that the bath had no shower curtain, so every time I had a shower, and despite my best intentions, the floor ended up flooded and took about three towels to soak it all up. If you are staying longer than three nights, this could get old.

However, so many other wonderful things more than made up for these niggles. The fact that there are little outside areas on each floor for people to go out and smoke on, the lovely bar with friendly bar staff and delicious cocktails and the roof terrace, which seemed to be closed while we were there. I most definitely intend to go back to try that out.

And finally, the gorgeous, helpful man on reception who offered me train and bus advice on the phone before I even arrived and was charming and delightful for all of the stay. Worth going back for him alone!

Top notch!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leopard_Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

Our family (two adults and a teenage son) had a three night’s stay at this lovely boutique hotel amidst Rome’s old town. It’s just off Campo dei Fiori, a bustling square, but on a quiet corner. The hotel is centrally located so that you can reach all points of interest by foot, we only needed a taxi for the trip to the airport. The Lunetta has 30 rooms which have been recently remodelled. We had the Family Suite with two adjoining rooms. The master room was large, had a very comfortable king size bed and an additional (pull-out) sofa. Its bathroom was spacious, with a double sink, a tub and a shower. The second room had a queen size bed and was conveniently sized with an adequate bathroom. We were very much in favour of this suite, also there was no noise from the exterior (double-glazed windows) and the air-con was near to silent. The rooms were tastefully decorated and immaculately cleaned. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was served in a cramped room. There was a buffet with a nice selection, especially the pastries were very good. Overall, breakfast was okay but nothing to write home about. There was also a roof top bar which was quite nice and a spa, which we didn’t use so we can’t comment on it. By the way, the hotel was built on the remains of the walls of the Theatre of Pompeius, which the staff are pleased to show you. The employees were friendly and helpful and were always wearing a smile. In conclusion, a conveniently located boutique hotel with generously sized renovated rooms with welcoming staff, very much recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This was a new, modern hotel in the heart of ancient Roma. It is a block away from Campo Fiori and about a 15 minute walk from both the Colosseum and the Vatican. It is also near great local restaurants for dinners out.

Our room was on the small side but what you would expect in a city hotel and the bed was a full king. We were in the "deluxe" room, which was 1 level up from their cheapest rooms, so I'm not sure what they would be like, although I think the "deluxe" of our room was being on the top floor with a vaulted ceiling, so I imagine the regular rooms were similar, without those 2 features. Everything was very clean and new. The bathroom was huge. Breakfast was fresh and delicious- yogurts, cereal, pastries, bread, cheese, coffee, tea and juice. The staff was accommodating and happy to give tips on dinner reservations. They do also arrange tours. Our package included free use of the hot tub and sauna, which was in the basement- check out the pictures on the website, the basement is actually the ruins of the ancient Pompeii theater. You have to schedule a time to use the facilities, which is nice because you get the hot tub to yourself rather than sharing with others. They also have massages and other services. The roof top bar area is also nice, although as we were there in November it was not in full operation but the weather was nice enough to bring back our afternoon gelato and hang out for a little while.

I would definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it to active couples who want to see most of Rome by walking, which is who most of the guests were. There were also 1 or 2 families there. It is a small, unique, excellent boutique hotel that gives you the cultural feeling of being in Italy without taking away the comforts of home.

Room Tip: The deluxe room gave us a few extras like being on the top floor. Check out other reviews to see wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cindy1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Lunetta with my husband and our 12 year old son for one night when we stopped off in Rome on our way back to NYC. We had the family suite, which consists of a queen sized bed with en suite bathroom and also a pull-out sofa room with its own en suite bathroom. There is also a lovely terrace with contemporary wicker furniture. The room was very comfortable for one night, however we could not have spent a whole week there. It would have been too cramped. The design of the hotel is a very nice combination of the old (such as the wood beams on the ceiling) and the contemporary (such as the glass elevator). There is a spa in the basement, which includes treatment rooms along with a sauna, a steam room and even a whirlpool bath. So bring a bathing suit. The breakfast was quite good. The staff was very friendly and nice. That area just off the Campo dei Fiori is a fun place to be.

Room Tip: The penthouse family suite would make an amazing honeymoon suite. Not really big enough, though, fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYNYGIraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Hotel Lunetta is located a few steps from Campo de Fiori in the heart of Romes old town - but on a quiet corner. You need to step outside the hotel to start a impressive journey. From this starting point you will reach all central points of interest easily by feet. We got room 101, its a cosy small room with view to an areaway. If you travel with big luggage, there is no place to store it within the room. The bath and the bed were great. The service and support is great as well, the guys provided us charging adapters, called taxis, explained maps and were all the time really polite. Breakfast is great.

PS: WLAN is free but IOS 6 is not working yet.

Room Tip: Rooms with sight to areaway are really quite, no nice sight but really quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here just before Christmas 2012 and were staying here for one night only as we were in the middle of a cruise. The hotel staff were helpful with some questions I had before arriving re nearest train stations etc. I chose the hotel after much research on location, facilities and design. The design is important to me as I am in the business so I always try to choose a hotel which will inspire me. Other hotels in the area seemed really dated and in need of a makeover from the look of the photos!

I liked the fact that it had a lovely spa which turned out to be just what I needed after a long days sightseeing. I had a 30min massage which was ok nothing amazing. It was on offer for 39€. Spa area is small but perfectly adequate. The room we had was spacious and beautifully decorated in a modern classic theme. Lovely bathroom with all mod cons. Breakfast was lovely it offered hot and cold food with a good range to choose from.

Hotel is very short walk to campo d'fiori and piazza navona. There is also a bus stop just round the corner which was useful to get around the city.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I was staying in Lunetta Hotel with my girlfriend for 4 nights, the hotel is just amazing, first of all the location is very very central and it's close to everything - 30 meters far from Campo De Fiori, 2 mins walk from Piazza Navona and 10 mins walk from tens of others attractions. the hotel is located in Piazza Del Paradiso, which is a very quiet area.

The staff were great and very helpful, service is amazing by all means, very welcoming, very personal, always smile.

Breakfast is also great, in fact, one of the best breakfast meals I've had even when comparing to restaurants.

SPA is also great for relaxation, all the facilities were very clean and in a very high class of style.

All at all, very much recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,270 in Rome
838 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#8 of 1,270 in Rome
247 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,270 in Rome
3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,270 in Rome
3,037 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lunetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lunetta

Address: Piazza del Paradiso 68, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £109 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lunetta 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in early july 2011, the hotel Lunetta is the result of a complete renovation of a historic building dating back to 1368 ad and now an elegant 4 ****L The hotel Lunetta boasts 30 elegant rooms, all furnished in a sophisticated modern design, and differ among themselves for careful choice of materials and details that make one different from the other while maintaining a unique style.Opened in early July 2011, the hotel Lunetta is the result of a complete renovation of a historic building dating back to 1368 ad and now an elegant Boutique Hotel 4 ****L. The hotel Lunetta boasts 30 elegant rooms, all furnished in a sophisticated modern design, and differ among themselves for careful choice of materials and details that make one different from the other while maintaining a unique style.On the top floor the Roof Terrace Bar(open until Midnight during the summer) is the ideal place for relaxing moments sipping a drink and admire the spectacular view over the rooftops of Rome. In the morning, from 07.00 to 10.30 in the Breakfast room is served a generous Buffet with the choices of croissants, pastries and homemade cookies, natural fruit juices, as well as local meats, cheeses, scrambled eggs, bacon and specialty seasonal. Light Lunches or Dinner are served in the bar, or in the room through the Room Service. The Hotel Lunetta is located in the Historical Center of Rome near the lively Campo De'Fiori, a 30-minute walk from St. Peter's Basilica, 300 meters from Piazza Navona and a 12 minutes walk from the Pantheon and 20 minutes from the Spanish Steps.THE SPA Immersed in the extraordinary setting of the Theatre of Pompey, built in 55 BC in the ancient heart of the capital, comes the exclusive Spa of the Hotel Lunetta. An area of 300 square meters in which to relax and get in shape after a hike or a day's work.The Spa has an indoor swimming pool of 15 square meters with Jacuzzi and water blades for cervical muscles, Finnish sauna, Turkish bath, chromo therapy, emotional shower, a wonderful spa suite for couples therapy and various booths for the more advanced treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lunetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing