We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value a short distance from the main drag”
Review of Borgo Papareschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borgo Papareschi
Ranked #44 of 1,100 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London/ Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Value a short distance from the main drag”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I'm sure I had written this review already but maybe since they changed the name from Casali to Borgo it has disappeared. Stayed there for a night at the start and end of our tuscany holiday. There was 2 couples and we had the superior apartment which was huge and you could probably sleep a few more on the sofas. Very Clean and the front desk staff were not only very attentive but looked like they enjoyed their job. Gorgeous! I'll use them again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ButteryBiscuitBase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    104
    34
    8
    10
See reviews for
107
94
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in the double storey studio and the experience was wonderful.

The room is very clean, spacious with nice decor. The bedroom and bathroom are on the upper floor and the kitchen and living room on lower floor. The bed is comfy.

The apartment is not located in the heart of Rome but you can get to the city centre in around 20min by bus, and the bus stop is just around the corner.
Train and tram station are within 15min walking distance. But I don't mind a little travel to stay in such a comfortable apartment.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelLKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, as part of a longer holiday in Italy. .

The apartments are a simple bus ride from central Rome (but fairly lengthy – 35 mins). If I recall correctly, it was the No. 170 bus from the main railway station and a 3-day, all services, bus pass cost around 15 Euro (no need for a taxi, unless you're a large group, or arriving at a very late hour).

Upon arrival, we were greeted by cheerful, helpful and effective staff – even offering to carry our luggage up the stairs.

The apartments are either newly built or have newly been refurbished – all mod cons (working WiFi and a central laundry area, which works well but is rather pricey).

The door to each apartment has a high security lock on it and appears to made of steel. This fits in with the 'gated community' approach – an 8 foot high set of railings run around the whole set of apartments and windows of the ground floor apartments had metal grilles. Having said that, this kind of approach seems to be fairly normal in Italy - we stayed in several places and saw similar locks on main doors, grilles over ground floor windows, etc.

There are no curtains on the windows, but all windows are provided with shutters for privacy (again, much the same as other places we've stayed in Italy).

The kitchen equipment is a bit spartan. But, when we asked for a kettle, one was provided with good cheer, about 10 minutes later. Agree with the point about an oven dish or casserole – would be very handy.

Furniture, towels and bedding – all good quality.

It was a bit pricey. But what we hadn't realised until arrival was that there was a dual canonisation going on – so every bed in Rome was taken.

Surroundings – my guess this is an area where most people work with their hands (cooks, cleaners, nurses, mechanics, plumbers and so on). And where a significant proportion would like to work, but can't (latest Italian unemployment is almost exactly double the UK rate - 14% overall and an eye watering 42% for the under 25s).

The walk to and from the apartments is either , , . along a road, with a new hotel and past a well-used children's playground . . or . . a shortcut via an unmade path, through trees and shrubs, and onto the adjacent road between high rise apartments.

We shopped in local shops and took the bus in an out of the city centre each day. I went for a 30 minute jog through the area one morning. We didn't feel unsafe, but did what we'd usually do in most big cities . . be aware and be careful. Someone made an attempt to pick my pocket on the bus, but that happens in a lot of cities and he soon stopped and moved away when I turned towards him.

There is an abandoned factory 'over the road' and there seem to be some people living in part of it (lashed up satellite dish and lights on after dark). But, three things . .
1. No noise at all from them or from anyone else (in fact, I've never heard so much bird song in the morning, as at this place);
2. Part of the waste ground next to the factory has been converted into an impromptu vineyard and
3. I guess a lot of people would think . . . 'in their shoes, what would I do?' and my answer would be 'I'd probably do much the same as them'.

All in all – a good experience, but if the world economic crisis hadn't happened and Italian youth unemployment was at a more morally acceptable level than 42% then it would probably be that much better. Who'd have thought that a review of apartments would stray into economic and political theory.....?

Room Tip: If you don't like grilles over the windows, better to ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nodder64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgo_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for the detailed description you provided: it will be very useful for our next visitors! All the staff appreciate your kind compliments and we are glad you enjoyd everything in our aparthotel. Curtains have been added in all the apartments, that, as you mentioned, have all been recently renewed.
We are sorry about what occurred to you in the bus: as you said, it is better to be aware and careful in big cities like Rome. We are relieved that everything went right evenutally!
We are immensely happy you had a good experience here at Borgo Papareschi and we hope you will choose us again for your future holidays in Rome!
Lovely greetings from the Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights with 3 teenagers. Wanted somewhere that was accessible for the city and offered flexibility for eating. This is not a place to take a family.
The accommodation was lovely but ill-equipped. There was no kettle and nothing to put things into the oven on (no oven pan) very few cooking utensils and i was told to go an buy some.
The area is by a run-down disused factory inhabited by squatters. Every night loud music is played until 4am. The block is surrounded by a high fence and there are bars on the downstairs windows. There are no curtains so anyone can see in. To leave the apartment you have to go through the waste-land to get anywhere. This is not a place to be at night. We walked through in broad daylight after going shopping and there were people peeing. We arrived at 5pm and our apartment was not ready, We were told to go away and we came back after shopping at 7.30pm and it was still not ready. The taxi to Rome centre is 60 Euros. You cannot eat out unless you go through the dodgy area, but you cannot eat in as there is nothing to cook with.

I did not sleep as I felt at risk all the time that I was there.

This was our first time to Rome and spoilt what was to be a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Do not go here. It is in a dangerous location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgo_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Mrs Banes,
Thank you for having spared some time for a review. Being surprised about the description of your stay (which, with all due respect, seems to have been written in the wake of an overreacition), we would like to reply to your statements.
First of all our kitchens are equipped with basic cooking utensils. The reception is always available and willing to provide the guests with more equipment in case they need more things.
Secondly, our facility is located in Viale Marconi shopping area as advertised and can be reached both through a pedestrian alley (at the end of Via Einstein) and by walking on the sidewalk of a standard city street (Via Pietro Blaserna). We always provide this kind of information at check-in, along with directions and tips on how to reach the city centre by public transport.
The “run down disused factories” are part of the 20th century industrial heritage of the city of Rome and the whole area surrounding the accommodation facility is soon to be renewed and converted into a park. However this concerns the municipality of Rome and the 11th district’s administration which, despite the numerous complaints filed by our company and by other citizens, are not taking action.
In addiction, we are very surprised you could not sleep, since the quality of sleep is one of our “fortes”: the accommodation is situated in a green area away from the noisy and the congested traffic of Viale Marconi.
In the end, we did apologize for the apartment not being ready: it was a one-time inconvenience due to one of the members of the staff feeling unwell (therefore unable to work) on that day. However the apartment was actually ready by the time you came back after shopping: there was only a kettle missing, which was brought to the apartment as soon as you entered it.
We do hope to be given a second chance: we will be ready and happy to welcome you and your family again at Borgo Papareschi.

Best regards,
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have stayed there several times, and will do so in the future. Don't be alarmed about the setting (abandoned factories). It seems safe and in fact rather charming. There are additional benefits they don't mention, like the sitting area in a private garden, very attractive soaring ceilings, etc. If you want to take a walk, follow the sidewalk towards the river.

Room Tip: If using a GPS to find it, go further on the road. It's just around the large hotel. Follow the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgo_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guests,
thanks for your review, we really appreciate your warm words. We love the work we do and people like you are one of the reasons why we do!
All of our guests' feedback is very important to us and to future guests, who may find this review very useful.
Thank you for highlighting some of our pros, such as the comfy sitting areas in the some of the apartments' partios and artistic details such as the fine ceilings. There are also other comforts like free wifi connection, Sky tv and channels in many different languages, free parking, laundry area with self-operated washing machine dryer, etc...
We will be waiting for you to come back soon. See you next time!
Best regards,
The staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anywhere
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The staff was great and very helpful during the whole time we spent there, however the fact that there is not staff in the reception from 8:00PM till the next morning could be annoying. There is plenty of supermarkets around and kitchenette is furnished well enough. The weakest point of the apartment is the bed, quite uncomfortable. Even the sofa-bed is much better. Some of the rooms need maintenance but does not affect the overall comfort. There is only one bus connecting the place to the city center and at peak time and weekends you may need no less than 40 minutes of a very unpleasant trip plus the variable time spent waiting at the bus stop (Could be a bitter one in winter and summer). The nearest metro station is at 20 minutes walking. Great place if you have your own car and an iron waist.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chavernys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgo_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
First of all thank you for your high esteem about the staff, we are so proud that could help you. Since we are a rental apartments, there is not the night concierge, anyway on the door of every apartment you can find a list of telephone numbers in case of emergency. For a big city, like Rome, meeting point for tourists, business men, residents…it is usual know about the traffic on the streets, reason why the waiting time for the public transportation should be long, even if the buses have a priority ways. Anyway there are more than one way to reach the city center, the bus 170 is just the first, you can also choose to walk for few min until Trastevere station where you can take the tram 8 to the center, otherwise there is the subway, that allow you to reach fast the main attractions.
Despite the busy city, lodging here, you can appreciate the quiet of the sleeping, for the silent area.
We are very glad that the near supermarket and the well equipped kitchenette have fulfilled your needings.
Regarding the bed, at the moment we are renovating our apartments, so that the beds are going to be replaced. Therefore we hope we will choose us again, to try out the new comfort of that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very quiet at night. The house was not new, but very clean. The staff was very helpful, giving us great tips about how to get to the famous sites in the city center. It was a bit far from the city center (20-30 minute bus ride), and it was not very safe on the bus (watch out for your purse!)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yunxia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Yunxia, thank you for writing! It was a very pleasant for us having nice guests like you! Also your informations about your country were so interesting! What we most love about our job is to meet people agreeable like you. We are glad you appreciated our staff, from the cleaning service to the girls at the Reception, we are enthusiastic you enjoyed the confort of the apartment and the cushy sleeping we offer! Unfortunately in Rome, like in all of the biggest cities, you have to take care about your stuff on the public transportation! Keep in mind for your next holiday in Rome, when, we hope, you will come back to see us! Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Patrizia Romana Palace
#58 of 1,100 in Rome
214 reviews
Ostiense
Residence Colombo 112
Residence Colombo 112
#36 of 1,100 in Rome
164 reviews
Monti
MarcoAurelio49 Apartments - Colosseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccolotel
#257 of 3,668 in Rome
52 reviews
Lungotevere Suite
#71 of 1,100 in Rome
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Papareschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Papareschi

Property: Borgo Papareschi
Address: Via Amedeo Avogadro, 85, 00100 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,100 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Borgo Papareschi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Apartments in the heart of Rome, the main building was restored and furnished with every comfort. Housed in an ancient building of 1800, once belonging to the Church of San Crisogono in Trastevere, Borgo Papareschi is comfortable and safe: the ideal solution, unique and fascinating, to experience the capital city, as they are located close to Trastevere and to historic center. All apartments are elegantly furnished and equipped with broadband internet connection, satellite TV, air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borgo Papareschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing