We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what you expect?”

Residence Monteverde
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Monteverde
Ranked #273 of 1,100 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Torquay
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not quite what you expect?”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Any visitor expecting a hotel should go elsewhere! The Residence is exactly what it says and is a grand house that has serviced rooms. The first problem is finding the place--a taxi is recommended as it will be difficult for a visitor to find it on foot. I would also recommend ringing the house from the airport to ensure that you are expected--I arrived by taxi to be faced with locked gates and nobody at home--the taxi driver rang mine host who arrived shortly by car.The rooms are spacious and clean. The room has beverage making facilities -I was aware that the breakfast room was not in use but 'sealed' croissants were supplied for breakfast. The room does not have a mini safe which proved inconvenient for safeguarding passports etc. The bathroom was modern but the shower cubicle was very small--there are no baths in any room that I saw. The Residence is quite close to tram no. 8 which runs frequently to the centre of Rome.The fare is 1.5 euros but tickets have to be obtained from a machine on the tram or from tobacconist shops. I did not see an inspector during my 8 days but I am told that the penalties for not having a ticket are high. The Residence suited me very well but it is not a hotel and does not provide a hotel type service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theriviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
6
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed at Residence Monteverde with three friends last year. After a struggle booking (I had to practise my Italian and make a phone call!), we arrived at Trastevere station. The place was a little tricky to find at first, but was a treat when we got there. The apartment was large and comfortable, with a lovely balcony. My only qualms were that the kitchen equipment was a little basic, and that it was slightly out of the way. Apart from that, it was a great stay. The owner is very charming and clearly goes to great lengths to make sure her guests enjoy their stays.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DethStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Two of us stayed in the apartment, there was a second single bed in alcove off the lounge /kitchenette combo room. Well maintained, classy finish and clean throughout. Would not dream of staying in Rome central - too hit and miss on expectations regardless of stars and price. Was expecting to stay in triple room, but kitchen facility was nice option, we used it. Had to purchase a few kitchen basics, like spices, cleaning sponge, gloves and liquid - have left them there maybe you can benefit from it. Lots of bottled water. Did also drink water from tap in apartment and was fine, did use fountain in park once - there is a lot of running spring water (24x7) on the streets and parks (literally, it's on all the time - no shut-off). Used fridge freezer to make frozen bottled water used all day when walking around.

Address is easy to get to from "Roma Trastevere" train station, which is on FR1 - Fiumicino Airport line, 30 mins. There is a little short-cut up some stairs when walking to and from station ( explore with Google streetview and you'll find it).

Use Tram 8 to get into Rome (end stop is "Largo di Torre Argentina", great spot.). Purchase tickets at Tabacchi shop by "Roma Trastevere" station and tram stop is between station and apartment, so very well situated. "Despar" shop sells all food you need at "Roma Trastevere".

We used the mainline (regional) trains for getting to "Roma Termini" (often) and "San Pietro" station (two different lines) for Vatican city. Did day trip to Florence (very early start and back in afternoon).

Mainline trains will get you there eventually, but lots of delays ('retardo' [delay]- Italian, get used to it, you'll hear it a lot). Get there earlier then you need. Figuring out how the regional rail works takes some time and announcements and signs are not too helpful - I know I'll get flamed for making a big deal out of this; but we're talking 1st world infrastructure run to a lower standard. All part of the experience.

Very hot in June which meant we didn't tend to do anything in early afternoon. Go home, rest and get out again at 4pm.

Would definitely make use of this location if I were to do this again, the 20 mins or so it takes to use Tram 8 is not a hassle. If you can figure out the buses that would be a bonus.

We didn't have any hassles communicating in English, but the locals clearly appreciate some effort on the Italian lingo. On the trains you either ask someone, follow the crowd, get lost or know some basic Italian to help you figure out it's time to jump trains, platforms or walk.

This location offers a very quiet nights rest, in the suburbs close to good food (and Gelatto). Try "New Station" (Via Giuseppe Parini) for great food and hospitality.

Super friendly and helpful family run business. A possible improvement would be a simple 1x page guide explaining how things work or getting around - make things a little easier when you get there. You need a map of the whole country (because you never know where that train might take you) and a proper map of Rome - Lonely planet guide has insert, DK Eyewitness book no good for maps, but do a great iPod/iPhone app with proper map [crashed initially was stable rest of time].

Room Tip: Yes. Tram info and location, accommodation experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lionel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Residence Monteverde, located in Monte Verde Vecchio district, is my choice accomodation whenever in Rome. I particularly like the family atmosphere, the spatiousness and light of most rooms, the silence and quietness at night, but more than anything else the perfect location, close to tram 8, to Trastevere train station and to buses 3, 75, H which is particularly convenient to reach the downtown area as well as Termini Station, Piazza Venezia etc... Monteverde Vecchio district, adjacent to Trastevere, has everything from a quaint little market, to large supermarkets like Upim or Docs. It is also walking distance to the Doria Pamphili Park..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie-christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monteverde
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#440 of 1,258 in Rome
430 reviews
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
#277 of 1,258 in Rome
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Trastevere Station
#1,219 of 3,668 in Rome
105 reviews
Monteverde
Suites Trastevere
Suites Trastevere
#17 of 3,668 in Rome
728 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#375 of 1,258 in Rome
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Monteverde

Property: Residence Monteverde
Address: Via Vincenzo Monti 10, 00152 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde , Gianicolense
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 1,100 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 500 meters from Trastevere Station, Residence Monteverde is set in an Art-Nouveau villa. Beautiful house in lovely area with excellent connections (tram 8 to trastevere and city center, bus H to termini, cheap train to fiumicino). It offers free Wi-Fi, satellite TV and private bathroom.Situato a 500 metri dalla stazione Trastevere, Monteverde Residence e' situato in una villa Art Nouveau. Bella casa in bella zona con collegamenti Straordinario (tram 8 a Trastevere e il centro citta', autobus H per Termini, il treno low cost per Fiumicino). Offre connessione internet Wi-Fi, TV satellitare e bagno privato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing