We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable location, spacious sanctuary, good value in expensive city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gioberti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gioberti
Ranked #653 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location, spacious sanctuary, good value in expensive city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Two minute walk from Terminii – brilliant. Pleasant, helpful checkin. Room with very high ceilings and a sense of spaciousness so rare in more modern hotels. The Gioberti has a sense of grandeur and elegant charm. Room clean, bed was comfortable, double glazing blocked out street noise, shower functional, breakfast (included) was good. They happily stowed our bags for us (in a locked room managed by an attendant) while we did battle with the other several million tourists in the city that day, returned to collect them and jumped back on the train. For an efficient stop in Rome, this hotel (& location) is a top choice. On a more general note re Rome, the numbers of visitors seemed to us to have quadrupled since our last visit 5 years ago making many of the key sights unpleasant experiences (St Peters, Pantheon, Trevi, etc). If planning to visit the Vatican be prepared for very long (up to an hour) wait in full sun in a sardine-like crush to get through initial security screening, just to get into the main central square. The number of ambulances on standby is an indicator that people are struggling with this process in the intense summer heat. The highlights of our stay were wandering the city in the peace of the evening, and by day going to the more out of the way sights (Bellini’s ‘St Therese’ at Santa Maria della Vittoria, Caravaggio’s (and more) at del Popolo, etc) where you had space to appreciate the great works.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outofbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    195
    159
    41
    34
See reviews for
96
180
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Very close to roma termini. Had to pick up my luggage from lobby to my room. Was given extended free wifi. Breakfast was pathetic with food not getting re-filled. Wanted to eat bread toast, but could not find toaster. On asking was told that toaster is not working.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

TERRIBLE SHOWER AND A SMALL ROOM. 1SOME RECEPTION GOOD AND SOME NOT. GOOD BREAKFAST FOR ITALY. BED HARD. It had a good position for looking at the sights. Though I thought Rome dirty with knots of graffiti and no public toilets. I took a photo of one that was failing down and covered in graffiti.

Room Tip: Ask for comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
private, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was the absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The hotel is awful, the area it is located in is awful and the hotel is awfully run. The rooms were awful, the bathroom was awful and managements attitude proved to be awful. The only thing I have to say good about this hotel is that it is right across the street from the Roma Termini train station which allows for a fast get away from this hostel which they call a hotel. I was furious on arriving at this hotel as it was nothing like it was presented and yet it proved to be the most expensive hotel we stayed at on our European trip despite being by far the worst!! If you enjoy paying a premium hotel price for a poor man's hostel then this is the place for you. There is no worse feeling than the feeling of being robbed and that is exactly how I felt after checking out of this place.

Room Tip: try the ACCOR hotels. Much better choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Very very near train station (Roma Termini) but fairly simple hotel. Small small room about 10 sqm with tiled (non-carpet) floor and small small shower area. Quite pricey and never bother to reply my email on transfer request query prior to my arrival.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EugeneSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Frankly speaking I was very disappointed with this hotel.Chosen this hotel was due to it excellent located and was rated 4 Stars. (Was charge €319 for 2 nights).Receptionist don't look helpful nor friendly at all,check in process took a while.Room lifts were located 3 stairs above ground level,very inconvenience for people carry large luggage.
Room(rm515) was spacious,old and clean. Bathroom was bright and big with again 2 toilet bowls and a mini tiny shower cabin where you hardly turn around during shower as you for sure hit onto the plastic doors.This hotel which awarded 4stars don't even provide simple amenities like tissue paper or even a bottle of mineral water etc.
During my first night requested for free Wifi code but was told by the unfriendly receptionist that "wifi is not free" via phone. Direct booking thru their website Wifi supposed to be free! Went down to the reception with my confirmation email stated "free Wifi" and was given free wifi code for 24hrs unwillingly by the receptionist.
Connection to the wifi was a nightmare. Hardly get connected unless my surfing is near to the entrance door of my room. Had to sit beind the door to do my free wifi surfing.
Breakfast was again disappointing! Pastries were cold,hard and tasteless! The only "hot" dish is scrambled eggs. Not much choose of bread,don't even provide a toaster.
Really disappointed and regretted of choosing this hotel. Other than the location,this hotel don't worth a 4 stars rating.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank morinaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel website photos were exactly what it was in reality, We had a triple room, super clean, good size with a lovely clean modern spacious bathroom.The breakfast was great, all u could want,cereals, yogurt, cold meats, scrambled eggs,pastries, juices + great coffee. Staff were extremely nice +helpful. Location was great, especially for day trip by train to Pompeii. Great value, would definitely stay here again, as friends did not have as good reports of breakfast or bathrooms in similar hotels

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gioberti, Revenue Manager at Hotel Gioberti, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your comment! We are delighted to read you had a pleasant stay with us! We hope to host you again and again!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#126 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#154 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#116 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#513 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Genova
Hotel Genova
#467 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gioberti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gioberti

Property: Hotel Gioberti
Address: Via Gioberti 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#299 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gioberti 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gioberti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioberti Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing