We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Ranked #266 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I love Rome and I love this hotel. I don't understand who could ever rate it as terrible, I thought it was great. I was there for 3 nights with my boyfriend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are incredibly courteous and helpful, our room was big and our bed enormous, the bathroom is also spacious and, most importantly, I found the hotel to be extremely clean. There was also absolutely no noise in our bedroom, so we slept like angels (I asked for a room on the 5th floor, as it's the furthest away, thus the most quiet). It is easy enough to get into the centre of Rome: you can get the 990 bus just around the corner from the hotel or you can also walk. We walked a few times and it takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the Vatican. Otherwise, you can get the free shuttle bus from the hotel, but make sure you book it well ahead of time, as the morning slots tend to get quite busy and the bus doesn't carry that many people.
There is also the train station Appiano just around the corner.
There is a beautiful terrace at the top of the hotel on the sixth floor: I don't think many people know about it: on our last night we sat there for a while, sipping a beer and watching the sun go down over Rome and St. Peter's, and there was no one else around, it was blissful.
The swimming pool is quite small, but clean. The area around the pool is spacious and well-equipped with sun loungers. If you're visiting the city and you simply want to use the swimming pool for a quick dip to freshen up, then it's perfect.
If you can't be bothered to go into the city for dinner, ask the hotel staff to tell you where the Il Peperoncino Dispettoso is: this is a restaurant-pizzeria, which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The food is delicious and it's also quite cheap.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simabo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

The kids wanted a hotel with a pool. The rooms was large and fitted our party of 5. There was a nice veranda on the roof. The pool was not very big but quite ok. Bus 990 goes from outside the hotel to Piazza Cavour. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrippeMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in the Tiberio for 2 nights in July and had a great visit! The room was very modern w/a nice patio. You are very close to the bus #990 that takes you into town. It was nice being away from the city center in a quiet neighborhood with beautiful views. My mom and I are Gluten Free so we informed the waitress who proceeded to bring us out a whole basket of goodies during breakfast for us to enjoy. They also have GF pasta and bread for lunch/dinner that was so yummy. The only down side was the pool size. It was very small, but that didn't faze us as we were very happy here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights here with group of people on tour. Very clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful. Only downside there was always the sound on running water somewhere. Not sure if it was from room next door or where, but overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
Thank PM963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

As a family of 5 we stayed for 4 nights . clean and convenient - free internet and parking are a major plus. Staff very friendly - we really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was OK - self service buffet with a good variety - I would recommend this Hotel particularly for visits to the Vatican

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_Hol_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

It is a nice place, clean and spacious, but the breakfast is really bad and so is the internet and the service at the restaurant. Good value for money, though. Good location, not in the center, but has a nice neighbourhood pizzeria near by and is perfect walk to Vatican City (we actually walked all the way to Colosseum, going to Trevi fountain, Piazza del Popolo and many landmarks on the way, at the end of the day took the bus to the Hotel).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariMichelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We've been in this hotel between 12-14 of July. The hotel looks very nice, lobby is spacious and very clean all over.
Rooms are spacious and with all the necessities for a good sleep and a freshing up.
View from rooms isn't much to talk about - mostly old buildings, Pool is nonexistent, so if you're looking for a hotel with nice scenenry and a pool - look somewhere else.
There is quite good transportation from the hotel to the city center (busses and train), and its walking distance from the Vatican.
Not too many restaurants in the area, but the hotel gives a very good breakfast, and the hotel's restaurant is quite good if you want a small dinner (veriety is not too big but food was tasty).
Staff are a bit reluctant to help in giving instructions, but if you need something they'll provide for it.
As a summary - a good place and with reasonable price as a sleeping place while in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrYael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#312 of 1,269 in Rome
1,373 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#53 of 1,269 in Rome
3,363 reviews
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#158 of 1,269 in Rome
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tiberio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tiberio

Address: Via Lattanzio 51, 00136 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#228 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £59 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tiberio 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Tiberio is a 4 star hotel in Rome which is located in the exclusive residential area of Balduina, 15 minutes away from the Vatican museums, the imposing St Peter's Basilica and close to all major artistic and cultural attraction in the city of Rome. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle service to Vatican City and city centre. Located about 1 km from the Hotel "Rome Cavalieri Hilton," home of the most important conference events in Rome, and well served by public transportation, this prestigious hotel is the ideal choice both for business and leisure trips. The Grand Hotel Tiberio is tastefully and elegantly furnished, has an elegant lobby bar and also a large and comfortable restaurant "Le Terrazze di Tiberio" where a buffet breakfast is served each morning and where the guests can enjoy a fine dining experience in the evenings. The hotel also has a "Wellness Area" which includes gym and Sauna, perfect for relaxing and a FREE WI-FI system in all the common areas and bedrooms. The 91 rooms of this prestigious hotel are spacious, bright and tastefully furnished. All rooms are equipped with every comfort: free WIFI, controllable air conditioning, minibar, satellite TV, soundproof windows, safety deposit box, direct telephone line, private bathroom with shower or bathtub and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Tiberio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing