We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Ranked #252 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great value”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights beginning of April 2014. We were immediately impressed by friendliness of staff, which sets you off in a positive frame of mind at the start of your break. Some previous reviews on hotel were also very helpful as we did not mind one bit walking into the centre or back sometimes, other times booking a place on their free shuttle bus the day before. We had one meal there which was a very good standard-the breakfasts were plentiful and a good variety.
The room was fine for our needs with a firm but very comfy large bed.
We could not find any fault with this hotel-the city is stunning and as a base for exploring the city at a reasonable price, this hotel would be hard to beat. we would definitely stay here again when we return to Rome.
Thanks to all the staff and for making me laugh reading their witty and appropriate response to the ridiculous review from the family with the giant dog!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 661sandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback..
Warmest Regards,
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    416
    173
    55
    41
See reviews for
316
328
26
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the value and we are comfortable with using large city trains; however, if you are not, then you should choose a hotel closer into the city. The shuttle service from the airport to the hotel was convenient and reasonably priced for a family of four, but other than that, the shuttle has limited availability and does not run on Sundays. You will need other transport to get to most of the sites in Rome, other than the Vatican. The rooms were clean, but very small. We had four twin beds, side by side to each other. Two of the mattresses were concave, pretty bad for sleeping. The best parts of our stay here were the lobby and breakfast,which we enjoyed daily. The wifi service was spotty, frustrating to my husband and teenage sons. Despite all the graffiti in the area, we felt safe and enjoyed dinners at some of the nearby neighborhood restaurants. But this location is far from the heart of Rome and wouldn't be a good choice if you don't want to deal with riding the trains in and out of the city every day. Also, while the main train lines in the city are well marked and easy to navigate, the north south line for the station near the hotel (Appiano) is not well marked or easy to navigate. We figured it out and we are seasoned city travelers. Overall, we enjoyed our stay but next time would pay more to be closer into the city. If you're only visiting the Vatican, this would be a very good choice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback..
Warmest Regards,
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend and I had a 5 night stay at the Tiberio.It was very pleasant.Beds were comfy.Room cleaned and linen changed daily.Breakfast was varied and served from 7.30 till 10.30.Somestaff were a little aloof but others we found very friendly and helpful.
It is on the perimeter a bit 20 min walk to the Vatican walls but the 990 bus stops right out side the hotel.
The concierge gave us full instructions which buses to catch and even walking instruction to get to the sites we wished to see.
The hotel does run a mini bus into Rome but this needs to be booked beforehand goes at several different times throughout the morning.You also need to book this to return to the hotel if you plan on using it to get back.
They advertise a pool but it,s only open in summer.We Couldn,t find the spa either but it,s a sauna not a spa we were told so a little disappointed on that score.
On the plus side we found a splendid roof top terrace with comfy sofas and shades tables ect.
Drinks in the hotel were expensive but aren,t they always in hotels.We dined in at the hotel twice and while the food was very good the portions were not big.
Cassinelli,s restaurant is a short walk from the hotel and the food is good and quite reasonablely priced.If you have a good appetite like me you may need to order a side order of potatoes or veg to go with mains.
Overall I had a lovely holiday staying here.

Room Tip: We had 306 just out of the lift and the room is in front of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback..
Warmest Regards,
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

hi ..we stayed in tiberio hotel for 4 nights ...we knew when we booked it ,it was maybe a little far out
,only booked because they have shuttle bus to and from city centre ..?? well they only have one ,with 6/7 seats .so we got up on our 1st morning and decided to take bus ,it was full ..was told we had to book it ...nobody told us that ..so we got a taxi .20 euro .they gave us a time table .just by chance we decided to get it back ...waited for an hour ...no bus .when we got back told we had to book it back also ...another 20 euro back to hotel ...we didnt get to use the bus once ..last bus 5pm ...so if you had to go out ,come back get ready for dinner and go back out again ,,80 euro a day on taxis ??? ouch ...

Room Tip: we got an upgrade by chance ....would hate to think what our room would have looked like .. dont ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curley107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Ladies and Gentlemen,
Our free shuttle can take 8 persons each time, when Guests check-in we give them a copy of the schedule were we recommend to make the reservation in advance as there is limited seat, most of our Guests are able to use the shuttle when booking in advance. Besides our shuttle and taxis (the real cost to/from city centre is euro 10/15) there is also public transportation very easy to use, bus in 5 minutes walk and metro in 15 minutes walk, price for single ticket is 1,50 euro, so if you are willing to use public transportation ( in case you don't get a place on the shuttle) you can go to the city 2 time a day, round trip for only 6,00 euro per person ...
Thanks and Kind Regards, Angelo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I together with our two small children (aged 5 and 2) and our dog drove from Geneva to Rome (with one stopover) during the recent Easter holidays. We are prolific travellers and had done proper research before booking. We picked this hotel because while not in the centre of Rome (too expensive!), it is near the Vatican and not prohibitively far from the city and sights. We booked a family room and informed them during booking and via confirmation e-mail that we would be bringing our dog and would require a parking place. Both, we were assured, would be no problem. So far, so good. Until arrival. The staff member at reception was openly unfriendly, barely cracking a smile, and informed us immediately that our dog "was a problem". After a muttered conversation with another staff member (in Italian, which we do not speak, and with dirty looks thrown in for free), they said that they would have to charge us 40 euros a night extra for the dog. We asked (politely) about the parking place they said would be available. Er, nope none available. No apology or even any sympathy. Patience left the building at this point.

In retrospect, this is when we should have been rude back and left but after 5 hours in a car with two little kids in a city we'd never been to before, we were easily browbeaten. After finally getting to our room, we realized the extra 40 euros a night charge was to upgrade us to a deluxe room with a terrace. This room is very small and the extra bed had to be carted in and set up in a tiny space. The terrace was, on the face of it, quite nice. Until closer inspection revealed a tremendous amount of tiny red spiders. And the word "tremendous" doesn't cover it. They were everywhere, probably recently hatched. Shudder, shudder, shudder. The furnishings in the room were dingy and busted up. The bathroom was small but fine. Had a bath with a shower attachment. The shower pressure is non existent though. We ordered room service for the children the first night (we got our food from a nearby restaurant) and it was really quite ridiculous for the price - 16 euros for "grilled chicken with vegetables" and an extra 5 euros for a small plate of french fries. The grilled chicken was half a chicken breast, served plain with no sauce or anything. The vegetables were 3 large rounds of grilled courgette. Plain. It was ridiculous. And no this was not from the children's menu (no such thing). Breakfast was good, basic cooked food (bacon and eggs), cold meats, breads, cereals, fruit, yogurt. On our first full day in Rome, we asked the reception about the shuttle into the city - no spaces, fine. Then we asked for information on how to get into town, this (perfectly reasonable, I think) request was met with a sigh, no friendliness whatsoever. After this encounter, we made sure to not interact with staff again until check out. At check out, they kept to their motto of Always Be Rude and Unfriendly. We loved Rome and had a lovely time and I would love to go back. But never to this hotel. It was expensive and so, so unfriendly and unprofessional. We are considerate guests and are always friendly, so its a disappointment to be met with such derision and uncalled for rudeness. I am sure there are many other hotels in Rome where the staff are nicer, find one because this is not it. We will be sending in an official complaint. My first ever.

Room Tip: If you get a room with a terrace, ask for it to be sprayed daily. The red spiders are prolific!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anitha_Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Readers of this review;
We respect people and animals, but it's sad when people use a bad review as weapon against hotel when they don't get what they want ... this Guests did not informe us about bringing a dog, as you can read in our pet policy, we accept only small sized pets, the dog of this Guests was a huge dog, and based on our policy we could no accept that dog, this is to respect all the Guests who should not be in the Hotel with a huge dog around and for the dog as well, because the room is not big enough and convenient for that size dog.
Then as the Guests were already here we were trying to find a solution, we have rooms with terrace, we say we can do an exception but the dog can't walk and be in the common areas, you can have it outside or in the room, but you have to upgrade the room to the deluxe where there is a terrace and the dog can have air and space, so it seemed that 40 euro per night is too much to give the dog an appropriate accommodation ... now the owner is complaining about what? I'm not really sure ...

The Guests did not speak English, just a little bit, they were speaking in German, and we did not have in that moment a german speaking person, so I'm not sure if was a language barrier to make believe this people that we are rude ... but for sure we are not ...

They parked the car and nobody has said to them that the parking was not available ...we just said that the dog was too big to access the hotel based on our policy ...

I finish here with my comments about this review because everything else has been said is obvious not coming from rationality …. we are honest and polite people who try to do the best to give a good service and good accommodation to our Guests, we accept to receive negative review who can help us to improve ... but when like in this case there is a revenge for not getting something that it was no possible to give ... it hurts !!!

Thank you very much for reading my reply and considering the situation.
My Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is by far the worst hotel I have stayed in. The hotel turns the air-conditioning off in winter because they say its not needed, being from a colder country and going to a warmer country trust me air-conditioning is needed. We were told to just open a window. They advertise that they have a pool but again...only in summer. The toilets don't flush, the lift is noisy and wakes you at night, if you can sleep on a rock hard bed and the showers are horrible...over all Grand Hotel Tiberio is Grand Hotel Terrible.

I will say that the breakfast was not bad though...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fleur_chrisharpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Ladies and Gentlemen,
Air Conditioning in Italy in 90% of the 4 stars hotel is available only in summer time, when temperature is above 20 Celsius degrees, this is to save energy and our planet, it’s a regulation for our environment, Italy is a hot country ... but only in summer time.
So we don’t turn it OFF, it is just not possible to turn it ON.
About the pool is the same thing, we advertise that we have an outdoor small pool open only in summer time, so what is this Guest complaining about? They stayed here in April when average temperature is 15-18 Celsius degrees and only people from north pole could use an outdoor pool.
I’m sorry then if there were some issue with the flush and the shower … if there was any problem they could call us and we would fix the problem or change the room, but as they did not say anything I’m not sure what was the problem and did not give us the chance to do something about it …
Their room was just next to the lift that’s why it could be possible to hear some noisy from it … we are also sorry for it … we give the room next to the lift only when we are fully booked like in that time.

Thanks and Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Yes this hotel is a little way out - but you can get straight from the airport on the train. The Railway station is 5 min walk away, There is a free shuttle bus from the hotel to the Vatican City - but there is a bus stop 5 mins away approx every 15 mins and run from 6 am till midnight. Tickets for the bus & train can be bought from tobacconist/bar next to the station
Hotel staff friendly and helpful, clean, continental breakfast also include bacon & scrambled eggs!
Would recommend this hotel - good value for money

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo C, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for staying at the Grand Hotel Tiberio and for your review.
We truly appreciate your feedback..
Warmest Regards,
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#171 of 1,258 in Rome
276 reviews
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#308 of 1,258 in Rome
1,310 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#50 of 1,258 in Rome
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
#655 of 1,258 in Rome
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tiberio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tiberio

Property: Grand Hotel Tiberio
Address: Via Lattanzio 51, 00136 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#228 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tiberio 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Tiberio is a 4 star hotel in Rome which is located in the exclusive residential area of Balduina, 15 minutes away from the Vatican museums, the imposing St Peter's Basilica and close to all major artistic and cultural attraction in the city of Rome. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle service to Vatican City and city centre. Located about 1 km from the Hotel "Rome Cavalieri Hilton," home of the most important conference events in Rome, and well served by public transportation, this prestigious hotel is the ideal choice both for business and leisure trips. The Grand Hotel Tiberio is tastefully and elegantly furnished, has an elegant lobby bar and also a large and comfortable restaurant "Le Terrazze di Tiberio" where a buffet breakfast is served each morning and where the guests can enjoy a fine dining experience in the evenings. The hotel also has a "Wellness Area" which includes gym and Sauna, perfect for relaxing and a FREE WI-FI system in all the common areas and bedrooms. The 91 rooms of this prestigious hotel are spacious, bright and tastefully furnished. All rooms are equipped with every comfort: free WIFI, controllable air conditioning, minibar, satellite TV, soundproof windows, safety deposit box, direct telephone line, private bathroom with shower or bathtub and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Tiberio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing