We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with excellent service in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Ranked #265 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Just got back from Rome and stayed in a wonderful hotel Grand Hotel Tiberio. It was off the beaten path but a short bus ride to the Vatican. The hotel also offers a shuttle service. The breakfast was very good with a wide variety of foods. We ate in the restaurant one evening and had a pleasant meal. The staff recommended a very good restaurant a few blocks away and we really enjoyed that. Everyone at the hotel spoke english. There were several grocery stores nearby that had excellent olives and great prices on beer that my niece enjoyed. There was a lounge area on the roof that was very pleasant. I would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgaleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

In a nutshell, this website was a great resource for me, I agree with many of the reviews that the hotel was far from the city center and in a residential area. This was my second trip to Rome and to me, this hotel was convenient, its a block away from the local grocery store and a 10 min walk to Italian fast food eateries...Pizza Pizza. The cost for cab fares RT to the city center was $$$$ but they do offer the free shuttle. I did what one of the reviews said to do which was to take the free shuttle to the vatican - it drops you off where all the double decker/hop on-off buses are, so you can go to all of the famous sites on your lists (this was cheaper than taking round trip taxis to the different Rome sites).
I tried the free shuttle to the city centre and they dropped us off in the middle of nowhere...in a busy street intersection across from the river. The shuttle to the Vatican is best for first timers----make sure you clarify w/ the driver where and esp when they will pick you up....and if you're late for pick up then too bad
Nonetheless, the rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean, there is a complimentary breakfast which is primarily bread, coffee, juice and sliced ham---i never woke up early enough to partake of except for 1 day
There is a rooftop that gives you panoramic view of rome city rooftops, the surrounding area of the hotel has a lot of grafitti, but the hotel is gated at night -so felt safe
I noticed while walking outside the hotel that there was a lot of dog bowel movement in the sidewalks ---the hotel and sidewalks are in an incline, so be careful esp. when walking out at night or in the rain--would not make your trip memorable if slid down the hotel steps down the sidewalk into dog poop.
My previous Rome trip I stayed at the Visconti Palace Hotel.....which was SUPER GREAT but cost more $$$.
so bottom line ....you get what you pay for...

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
3  Thank MarChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The hotel was clean and well maintained. The staff were courteous and always willing to help in whatever way they could. We had a good sized room with a decent bathroom and a small balcony overlooking some grassy area and quite a few houses and apartment buildings. This hotel was nice and the breakfast was quite good, but the hotel is a fair distance from anything you might want to do as a tourist. Its proximity to the subway stop makes it fairly easy to get into town, but I found it a bit weird to be in the middle of a residential area. Most people would probably PREFER to be out of the hustle and bustle I suppose.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid September. We wanted to see Rome before a 13 day cruise of the mediteranian. The front desk was polite, the bellman, Joseph was very nice. The rooms were so-so. Nothing special. Beds were very low and hard as a rock!. The main gripe I had with this hotel is the lack of airconditioning. I thought we were going to suffocate. we had brought our travel fan and electric outlet converter, however, it promptly blew up the fan as soon as we plugged it in. My husband searched everywhere for another fan. We finally had to open the window. And let me tell you, they are huge and very heavy. The breakfast buffet was very good. Plenty to choose from. We all got plenty to eat to start the day. Maybe if you go in the fall or winter it would be more comfortable for sleeping. For the price, I wish the airconditioner would have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHECKER148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Hotel Tiberio, It was as good as expected from reviews given, nice sized room, good bathroom, The rooms were cleaned daily,staff were very helpfull and polite, Breakfast was amazing, there was\a selection of everything you could think of and you could help yourself to as much as you wanted except for full cooked breakfast which was at a small cost, we returned each night for a main meal as the food was so good, a little expensive but worth every penny, they even do non Italian food for the unadventurous. The hotel is a little way out of the city, a good 30 minute walk to the Vatican and 45 minutes to the edge of the City if you dont mind walking, or a 15 minute walk to the nearest metro Cipro, there is a bus stop around the corner if you don't or can't walk bus 990, public transport is fairly cheap and regular, only disapointment was that the only rooms that have tea/coffee making facilities are the delux and wifi/internet access isn't free nor is the use of the sauna, but you should not be in the hotel long enough to worry about this. We would definitely return to Rome and use this hotel again!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayoungone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Tiberio, Manager at Grand Hotel Tiberio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2009

Dear Sir/Madame,
Thank you very much for the nice review, I really appreciate it and I'm happy you enjoyed your stay in Rome at the Grand Hotel Tiberio, just one think, WIFI is free in all rooms and common area...so I'm not sure why you think is not...I'm afraid my staff was not enogh clear in the explenation...I'm sorry about that. I hope to Welcome you again in the future in our Hotel. Kind Regards. Angelo G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Hotel a bit further away from city, but still reachable if you are not afraid of walking. Local buses run every 10/15 minutes and are cheap, local train station around the corner. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant, but breakfast was excellent. A couple of very good, local (prices) restaurants only 2 or 3 minutes walk away, so good we visited one twice. Room we were allocated could do with a bit of decoration, but was acceptable for a short stay. Advertised as having tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but not in ours!!! Free shuttle bus good idea but as it was only an 8 seater mini bus, gets booked up very quickly. The Limo service(at extra cost) back to the airport was excellent and finshed off a very good city break, without the hassle of getting back to airport

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TabFuerteventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The Grand Hotel Tiberio was a good value. The breakfast was adequate and saved us a lot of money on breakfast. The staff was helpful in suggesting restaurants and busses. There was a bus stop right near the hotel and we made use of the good public transportation.

The only drawback about this hotel is that it is a little out of the way. That wasn't that big of a deal with the bus stop so close.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank goodtimesArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monteverde
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
Grand Hotel del Gianicolo
#405 of 1,271 in Rome
480 reviews
Occidental Aurelia
#185 of 1,271 in Rome
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rose Garden Palace
Rose Garden Palace
#79 of 1,271 in Rome
1,031 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#54 of 1,271 in Rome
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tiberio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tiberio

Address: Via Lattanzio 51, 00136 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#228 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £54 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tiberio 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Tiberio is a 4 star hotel in Rome which is located in the exclusive residential area of Balduina, 15 minutes away from the Vatican museums, the imposing St Peter's Basilica and close to all major artistic and cultural attraction in the city of Rome. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle service to Vatican City and city centre. Located about 1 km from the Hotel "Rome Cavalieri Hilton," home of the most important conference events in Rome, and well served by public transportation, this prestigious hotel is the ideal choice both for business and leisure trips. The Grand Hotel Tiberio is tastefully and elegantly furnished, has an elegant lobby bar and also a large and comfortable restaurant "Le Terrazze di Tiberio" where a buffet breakfast is served each morning and where the guests can enjoy a fine dining experience in the evenings. The hotel also has a "Wellness Area" which includes gym and Sauna, perfect for relaxing and a FREE WI-FI system in all the common areas and bedrooms. The 91 rooms of this prestigious hotel are spacious, bright and tastefully furnished. All rooms are equipped with every comfort: free WIFI, controllable air conditioning, minibar, satellite TV, soundproof windows, safety deposit box, direct telephone line, private bathroom with shower or bathtub and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Tiberio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing