We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, clean, friendly and close to everything...a perfect base for sightseeing”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #77 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Safe, clean, friendly and close to everything...a perfect base for sightseeing”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed at the Hotel De Monti for two nights as part of a mid-week sightseeing break. As a solo, female traveller with little Italian language (and my first time in Rome) I was immediately put at ease by the English speaking, friendly and welcoming staff and cleanliness of the Hotel.

Location
The De Monti is located a mere 5-7 minutes walk from the main Termini Station and 10 minutes to the Colosseum along main streets! Everything is within walking distance including the Vatican (30-40minutes). The local area is well lit and I felt safe walking along the streets late into evening.

Breakfast
It is a very well organised hotel - upon check-in you are given details of the WiFi and the order form for breakfast. Each day you fill in the form and 'post' it in the box provided, your selected items are then brought to your door at a time you have chosen (between 7.30 and 10). I strongly recommend the Latte Macchiato – the best I've had in Italy!

Accommodation & Cleanliness
Although my room (double) was not as spacious as the one in the photos, it had everything I needed and was a comfortable base for sightseeing. The en suite bathroom was bright and well laid out and the shower was powerful with constant temperature. The cleanliness of the hotel was second to none - everyday the whole Hotel looked brand new - sparkling clean!

Access
As stated in the Hotel details the De Monti is on the third floor and does not have a lift, however, if you intend to climb the Spanish Steps these stairs should not be a problem. During my stay the staff at reception were true gentlemen and always offered to carry my bags.

The one and only thing I would mention, and by no means a criticism, is the lack of signage to the front of the property. However, if you remember that the Hotel is number 95 Via Panisperna you'll be able to find the front door easily (the Hotel's name can be found on the buzzer system to confirm). The De Monti is only a 2 minute walk from the junction with via Cavour and as a guide is on the floor above another Hotel called B&B Roma which has signs you can use to direct you.

Overall
There is nothing I can say that I did not like about the Hotel De Monti and I will definitely be going back there again. I would rate the De Monti 10/10 - located in the heart of Rome - your heart will be stolen by the De Monti and it's wonderful staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WelshGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Manager at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for sharing al these clear indications regarding our service. I really think it is going to be very useful to all of Trip Advisor members.

It will be such a big pleasure to host you again in the future months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    166
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
460
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Hotel de Monti is absolutely perfect for sightseeing Rome!! From the hotel we went a different direction each day and were able to walk to all major site-seeing attractions quickly. We stayed in Room 35 which was very clean, quiet, and larger than I thought it was going to be for a European room. We chose what we wanted for breakfast each night, slipped it in the box, and it was brought to our room each morning exactly on time. The hotel does not have a elevator, but it did not bother us at all, got to work off all that wonderful food somehow! :) Alessandro (owner) & his Colleague were SO incredibly helpful!! They are prompt in responding to emails, very professional and helped us plan our exploring with tons of local tips/tricks! The hotel is off the main street which we liked, we felt more than safe walking around until the early morning hours. Hotel de Monti is a must stay when coming to Rome - It was everything we expected and more!!!
Thanks for a wonderful vacation
Jessica & Jayson

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel98087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Manager at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for your nice words regarding our hotel.

I herewith underline that if somebody is only looking for a bed in Rome, that person may not appreciate our small hotel: our happiest guests are the ones who want to experience Roman life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

What can we say about the Hotel de Monti - wonderful location, lovely rooms and warm, genuine service. Alessandro enabled us to fit so much in, by giving us useful tips and wonderful recommendations. Working in tourism ourselves it is a joy to find such a little gem. Thanks to all the staff - we will be back one day.

Helen & Richard
Feb 2011

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Manager at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you Helen and Richard, it is useless to underline how pleasant it has been to host travellers like you. Worst guests we could have are those who think they already know everything about Rome. Why do they come then? I seiously believe we'll come to visit you this summer in Greece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Hotel de Monti is a very special hotel. From the outside it is actually impossible to see it’s a hotel. But once you get to the third floor a small reception and the owner Alessandro meets you with a smile. And from there it is a fantastic experience all the way through. The rooms are spacious, clean and recently renovated. The continental breakfast with fresh local ingredients is served in the room at your own requested time and Alessandro is always up-to-date with kind advice about interesting sites and great restaurants nearby. The hotel is located in the Rione Monti district which is a very cosy, friendly and central neighborhood with many bars, restaurants and small shops. We can highly recommend Hotel de Monti which we will certainly visit again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byblos, Lebanon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

At Hotel De Monti you will discover Roma as no one else will! The Hotel is very clean, Spacious (scarce currency in Rome) in a very safe and easy reachable area.Italian Breakfast served in the room (yummy Cappuccino) Alessandro the owner, will tip you with all the useful informations and will grant you a memorable stay in a very unique Roman way. For the first time I have not been trapped as a tourist, He has recommended the best places and Roman Restaurant in every corner of the city, and even after leaving the Hotel De Monti, Alessandro has continued provide a very useful links.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Hotel de Monti is not what I thought it would be after having read the reviews here and from looking at the hotel’s website. I would like with this review, to give what I feel is a clearer, fair picture of what it is and what it isn’t.

From reading the many glowing reviews here and looking at the website, one would think (I did!) that Hotel de Monti is an exceptionally charming hotel, with amazingly reasonable rates for such a great place in the center of Rome!

The rates are on the reasonable side, it is true, but you get what you pay for.

Hotel de Monti is not a hotel in the conventional sense. It is a corridor on the fourth floor of a nondescript apartment building. Along this corridor there are seven rooms. Across from the corridor is a tiny ‘reception’ area, consisting of a counter and a chair for the person on duty.

There is no sign on any door--- or anywhere, for that matter----that says “Hotel de Monti.” I don’t know why there are no signs, but their lack must mean something.

The reception area is staffed only from 1pm to 8pm. This means if you arrive unexpectedly late in Rome, due to travel disruptions, there will be no one at the hotel to let you into the building. This also means, that if you have an emergency or urgent need, as I did, after 8pm, there will be no one to help you.

I would call the Hotel de Monti a pension or guesthouse. This difference in terminology is important. Here is a good explanation of the differences between them. [These are not Italian legal distinctions (they are German, as a matter of fact), but they express what I believe to be standard terminology]:

Hotel: Must provide accommodation and at least one restaurant for guests and non-guests [many European hotels do not have restaurants per se, but most have some kind of dining area for breakfast.] It must also have a number of rooms for common use by all residents such as a lounge, etc.

Gasthof: A `Gasthof' (inn) must provide the same facilities as a hotel except for the common rooms such as a lounge, etc.

Pension: A `Pension' must provide accommodation and food only for guests. It does not have to provide a restaurant for non-residents nor does it have to provide any common rooms.

There are no common rooms at the de Monti. The meal provided by Hotel de Monti is breakfast. The food is of minimal quality... the kind of white bread and processed ham and bland cheese that you would buy in a low level grocery store anywhere in the US or Europe.

Here are the good things about the hotel:

The staff (i.e., the two men I encountered) are exceptionally friendly. They are its greatest asset. Alessandro, the manager, is charming and particularly helpful. His warm and persuasive personality accounts to a great extent, I suspect, for the high ratings given by the reviewers on this site.

The rooms are clean--sparsely and plainly furnished, but clean.

The wi-fi is free and dependable.

The location of the hotel is good. It’s within walking distance of wonderful sites, good restaurants and wine bars.

Overall, it is my opinion that the Hotel de Monti is a good place for budget travelers, people who have perhaps not travelled much, and for people whose expectations are not high. If you know ahead of time what you are getting in the Hotel de Monti and you choose to stay here, you will not be disappointed. But if you think it is something it is not, you will be. And that is not helpful to the hotel or its guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Vivianite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Owner at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear former guest,

Let me start saying something about your title: people who slept here so far had very HIGH expectations. Some of them celebrated their honey moon, some others birthdays, most of them were dreaming of a real Roman stay after a whole working year and they finally, somehow were satisfied. We have a total of 190 positive feedbacks on the internet. We are not perfect (thank god we know) but you are offending the people "who have travelled much, whose expectations were high and invested their money in a good service" and are giving us a good feedback. No, dear madame, they are not parvenus and some of them were more experienced travellers than you.

These other people read about the fact that the rooms are on the 3rd floor of a building (4th for americans) and they are aware of when reception is attended. People arrive late at night and they are welcomed and you had your personal trouble and the problem was solved. You relied to much on your daughter as we were explaining you everything and forgot where the room was (first time this has occured since we opened) and after 5 minutes our assitant came and you were in your room!

Thank you for your lesson about Hotel structures BUT a hotel in Italy must feature 7 rooms while only 4 stars hotel need to have a restaurant. This probably means you have slept in a hotel while here in hotel De Monti, nothing to hide.

Our breakfast is only served with local products, as you read on other feedbacks (did you?) and we underline this is not an imitation of your breakfast but only a breakfast served with local products. As it was explained your daughter reacted positively.

Thank you for sharing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We've chosen Hotel de Monti for our romantic holiday. It's hard to imagine so quiet place in the very heart of Roma. Most of historical places are very close to the hotel. The first impression was that the hotel is made with love. Very clean, modern and comfortable room, stylish furniture and all these in very old building. The breakfast was very tasty, different kinds of coffee, tea, toast, ham, cheese, yogurt and others. And it was served in our room at the time we want. Allessandro gave us very useful advises where to eat and what to see. Restaurants, recommended were perfect as well as pizzerias . Tante grazie, Allessandro, di nostri Vacanze Romane!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DinaAndrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Manager at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Dina,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor as well, such words really help the readers to understand your feelings as you were staying here... and are a huge compliment to us!

I honestly tell you (hoping this message will be clear to every reader) that I love to host people who want to understand Rome, like you, and I absolutely hope I will never host tourist who just come to Rome because they have to, because their friends told them to or, worst, because it cool to say you have been to Rome.

I believe this kind of people would not appreciate our little hotel and I would really be bored hosting them.

Best wishes for your life to you and your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#87 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#91 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#119 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#19 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#65 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing