We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay.”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #81 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay.”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We are very glad for booking this hotel, beautiful location, very interesting places around and all the main services we needed. We are going to make “pass the word” for them, don’t hesitate to spend your holiday here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnypattinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
We like the phrase "pass the word"!!! aahahaha!!!! And we look forward to meet all your friends you would like to send us and why not? you again!

We appreciate you had nice time here with us and this review is so good that you left us describing the "bad" information, such as the fact that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift, and our building has no sign outside.

Seriously, thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    169
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
465
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

We loved this part of Rome. Its proximity to everything - esp the Collisseum and Forum - but also the area itself, with its classy shops and some fantastic places to eat and drink. Mauro advises well on this, whether you want top restaurant cuisine or beer & pizza; and his insights into Rome and the Romans makes any visit a success. Loved the breakfast in the room - you can take your own time over it and get out into the city straight afterwards.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SherpaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hi there! We are very thankful for the review posted!

we always try to do our best, in order to let you enjoy Rome at the best, always keeping in mind that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift.

Our district (Monti) is the oldest one of Rome, so full of the still old kitchens (that means good quality food) and little local places just to relax a little bit, enjoying a good glass of wine!

If you are looking for luxury services and enormous full of facilities room, we are not what you want; but if you would like to live Rome as it has to be lived, what are waiting for reserving with us?!

Talking about you guys: it has been so nice to meet you and we look forward to meet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while watching the rugby. Rooms excellent. Well decorated & clean & tidy.
The maid does an excellent job everyday. The shower is wonderful. A macerating toilet so don't overload it!!!!
Downsides the bed was rock hard. No English tv language. No kettle. It was explained there are reasons for this, just so you know. I'm a fat git, 20 stoner so it was quite a pull up 3 flights of stairs. that's my fault not the hotels. No lift so The stairmaster fair killed me at night when I was full of beer & steak.
My advice if your a lardass stay out all day. The metro is only 5 minutes walk away & the major sites are all easy to get to. If you want a bargain stay here. The staff all speak excellent English and are extremely helpful & polite. Enjoyed our stay. Lots of tidy restaurants nearby + an Irish pub 'Finegans' around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thenod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you for writing us and posting such a good review!

Thanks especially for reminding that we are at the third floor with no elevator and we add that our street is one of the most important and ancient of Rome; we are in the historical centre of Rome, close by to all the major attractions.

We are a 2 stars Hotel and the facilities in our room include a private bathroom with shower ensuite, air conditioning, a phone and a TV without any international channels.

We look forward to meet you again, perhaps next rugby match!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treviso
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We've just left the hotel after a week end stay, and we're still astonished about the treatment we had received at the Hotel de Monti.
Conveniently located in Via Panisperna, ten minutes walk away from the central station, at the first glance you would be perplexed by the building and the entrance door where is difficult to even identify the bell.
The hotel is on a single level at the third floor, but now you've finished to read about the peculiarities of this very small facility.. From now on everything is almost perfect, Mauro is availible for everything and full of information and tips, gentle and available for any request it would come up to your mind. The hotel is new and well refurbished, the room is comfortable and quite silent and with enough space for your relax.
In addition we had experienced a problem that Mauro had try to solve immediately, begging pardon for the inconvenience and proposing a compensation.. Definitely well appreciated!!

It's true that breakfast is served in your room but is complete, with a multiple choice of items and capable to satisfy all the requests.
And note that in 15' walk you'll be in Fontana di Trevi, Piazza di Spagna and Trinità dei Monti...
Next time in Rome i wouldn't look for a different solution..
I've found my hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePoloMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Perfect from the moment we stepped through the door till the moment we stepped in the taxi. We arrived late which was not a problem at all, after a stressful journey we had a friendly welcome and tips that really did help us get the most out of our holiday. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and opportunity for lazy mornings. With the coliseum and trevi a 10 minute easy stroll and the pantheon 20 minute it is perfectly located. The stairs were not a problem if that's a concern for anyone, and I'm no gym bunny! Mauro printed our boarding passes out and ordered us a taxi for our return he helped us throughout our trip making it relaxing and enjoyable from start to finish. Not only would I recommend but I will be back there as soon as possible!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bishwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thanks a lot for this beautiful review and also for sharing all this useful information such as that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift.

As well, as our Hotel has no sign outside our building, we suggest everyone to go on our website and have a look to the directions about how to reach us from the airports or train station.ù

It has been a real pleasure to meet you guys and we look forward to have you back here with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Room was immaculate, breakfast was very tasty. The hotelier Mauro was the nicest chap we met in Rome - pointed out on the map where to go and where to avoid, how to skip the queues, where to get the best pizza/pasta.

Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 97ChrisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Hello there and thank you so much!

We are glad you wrote such a good review and for duty of honesty, we remind everyone that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that our Hotel has no sign outside.

Also, our brekfast is served in room only, every morning and does not include "international products".

For your next time in Rome, you will be more than welcome!!! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Hotel de Monti is perfect if you're looking for a quiet,small,perfectly located hotel!Mauro offers a great personal service telling you were to go,where to eat etc. I would recommend getting the train to the termini in the centre from the airport and not getting a taxi,i used the gps on my phone to find the hotel but its pretty straight forward once you have the address. It only took us 10 mins walk with suitcases to get there.It was great to be located away from the hustle n bustle of the main streets to get the real feeling of rome. Mauro gave us the great advice to go get lost in rome because you come across quaint little restaurants/cafes and ruins!You get breakfast straight to your room which was an added bonus of not having to get up and get dressed for brekkie ha! without a doubt I would recommend this place to stay and when we return again we will definitely be staying here!

also eat in la carbonara a few streets away its amazing and not expensive!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oonagh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
What a "perfect" review!!! Thank you very much.

We have to remind to everyone is reading that our Hotel has no sign outside our door and the best way to reach us, is surely through our website where you can read all the detailed directions.

Considering your experience, we are glad to know that our suggestions are working good. Hotel De Monti is not the place you are looking for if you think to know Rome because you see the "Gladiator" by Russel Crowe or if you would like to eat a plastic Pizza in front of the Vatican City.

We will be always here in order to suggest everyone about the best way to REAL discover the best City in the world with all the little hidden secrets that characterize it.

Once you will be in Rome, do not hesitate to contact us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#99 of 1,256 in Rome
272 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#132 of 1,256 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,256 in Rome
1,079 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#91 of 1,256 in Rome
900 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing