We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay in the center of Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #73 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in the center of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had a great stay at this wonderful hotel. The breakfast in the room was fresh and tasty, the rooms were spacious and the staff was very, very friendly. What we appreciated the most were the tips that Mauro shared with us, on avoiding the crowds at the Vatican/Colloseum and some fantastic places to eat. The next time we are in Rome, we will return here for sure and we recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woutervw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Hi there! Thank you very much for posting this review, we had great time meeting you and helping you through your stay!!!

As you only wrote good things (ahahahahah!!!) we still have to say something in order to inform everybody who's reading.

Our Hotel is at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and we have no sign outside, so the best way in order to get information about how to reach us is our website.

The breakfast in the Hotel is served in room and consists in all regional Roman breakfast brought you every day.

Guys, we are really looking forward to meeting you again and we wish you all the best!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    164
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
458
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Mauro, the ever-helpful concierge/receptionist/all-round Roman bon viveur, says this is the smallest hotel in Rome with just seven rooms. Well, if this advice is as good as everything else he said, it'll be true!

Yes, there's no lift and yes, it's a few flights up, but so long as you are relatively fit and healthy, it's really no big deal. The hotel decor feels a little dated (curtains don't match duvet or bed cover) and the rooms are not huge, but frankly that's not a big deal with you have a very reasonably-priced, central and incredibly clean hotel. The 10 minutes it takes to walk to the Forum and Colisseum through lively neighbourhood streets are a joy, and there are piles of lovely cafes, bars and restaurants on your doorstep (Mauro is very happy to recommend his favourites, and they are GOOD!)

It's walking distance from the train station, with a regular service from the airport (14 euros single). Breakfast has to be ordered the night before, but is made of fresh local ingredients, and makes you feel like you're having a picnic in your room.

It's not abject luxury in this hotel, but it's good-value, central and friendly, so I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TartanHornplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
We promise it is!!! And thanks for writing that we are at the third floor of an ancient building without a lift and that we are definitely not a luxury Hotel!!!!!

...we try to do our best in order to let you enjoy Rome at the best, through our tips and advises as, who know Rome better than a Roman!?!?!?!

We will be always here at your disposal when in Rome again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville Hills, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our stay at the Hotel de Monti was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful in giving advice about Rome's attractions, calling taxis, etc. The room was simple -- clean and neat. The hotel is very centrally located (less than 1km from the central train station) and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Hello there and thank you for writing!

We of course have to remind that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that our Hotel is in the oldest district of Rome.

It has been a pleasure to host you (twice!!!) and we look forward to meet you the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

First of all, they make it very clear that there are a lot of stairs to get to the hotel... but I didn't read that. If you have trouble with stairs, keep that in mind.

The staff is amazing... carried up our luggage and spent a good 30 minutes talking to us about the area, where to eat, what to see, how to get there... how much cabs should cost if we need to take one... areas that are safe at night... and just about any other question that we could have.

The room is very nice and clean. Beds are comfortable and exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was served in bed daily and there was a nice selection of options to pick from.

The location could not have been better. 20-30 minutes of walking to nearly every major location in Rome... including The Vatican.

I highly recommend Hotel De Monti and if I am in Rome again, I will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
What could we say more after you review?! You described everything! Not only the good things (which we infinitely thank you!) but as well all those kind of descriptions that is always good to know before reserving.

Let us add an information: as our Hotel has no sign outside, it could be hard to find. We suggest anyone to have a look to our website in order to have the best directions about how to reach us!

Next time in Rome, we will be warmly waiting you to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a 4 night break. This hotel charges 30 Euros for late check in after 18:00, so it is advisable to arrange your arrival earlier if you want to avoid this charge. The rooms are in the 3rd floor with no lift, so do not stay here if this would cause peoblems. Now for the positives .....

We were greeted by Mauro who was full of information and gave some excellent advice. He told us to walk everywhere, which we did. 10 mins to the Colosseum, 50 mins to the Vatican. He also told us how to avoid queues and some great restaurants.

The room was very clean and well equipped but quite small. Excellent breakfast delivered to the room is included.

Would stay here again if visiting Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review, it has been more than appreciated!

Our reception only works from 1pm and our check-in is ONLY possible until 6pm and we thank you for reminding it. That is why a late check-in has an extra cost that a guest could wave ordering our pick-up service that could be a good idea for who's coming late.

All our rooms are the same size and for being in the historical centre of Rome (where all the rooms are small) they are standard sized.

Thanks for the compliments about breakfast, our maid really appreciated! It is served in room every day and it consists in all regional fresh products of the Roman area.

Look forward to meet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
185 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I booked Hotel De Monti for our stay in Rome based on TripAdvisor reviews I'd read, and it was overall, a pretty positive experience.

The hotel is located in the Monti part of town, just a stone's throw away from Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica and the Termini Station.

We arrived at the hotel pretty tired from flying all night, and we had arrived at the hotel a little earlier than our check-in time. I seemed to remember that we could unload our luggage at the hotel in the event we arrived early, so it seemed like a good idea to do that at the time. To make a long story short, a young lady (one of the owners) met us at the door and arranged for us to meet with Alessandro (another owner of the hotel) to do so. I initially felt that Alessandro was a little put off with us arriving early because we did not make prior arrangements to do so. (Honestly, we had so many emails and confirmations from all of our different reservations, it was a little difficult to remember everyone's rules. My fault.) We were scolded by Alessandro who reminded us that everyone is notified via email that they must make prior arrangements for dropping off luggage before check-in time when they make their reservation. I must say, I was somewhat offended by being treated so brusquely, however, once this was all over with, my adult children and I found Alessandro and the rest of the staff to be very helpful and accommodating during the duration of our 3 night stay.

Alessandro was very helpful in providing us with information about the Italian culture, where to visit and where to eat while in town. He gave pretty good information about making eye contact with drivers when you want to cross the street so they don't run you over. (This really worked - no kidding!)

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and we felt quite at home there. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and very satisfying. Each night, we ordered from a vast selection of items we wanted for breakfast. Items included, but were not limited to: croissants, toast, biscotti, Nutella, butter, homemade applesauce, fresh blood-orange juice, prosciutto, formaggia cheese, yogurt, jam and various types of coffee drinks (espresso, cappuccino, etc.) Everything was fresh and made for a great way to start the day.

The only thing to be cautious of is that you have to climb three flights of stairs to get to the rooms. This was not unexpected - it is noted in several reviews and by the hotel, itself, when describing their accommodations. I am not in the best shape and was quite winded by the time I approached my floor. (But hey - this is Italy - you DO have to expect to walk and climb stairs everywhere, right?)

All in all, we had a good experience staying here and would do so again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WandaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Madame, first of all thank you for writing such a good review, describing everything.

We would like to apologize, probably because there has been a misunderstood; as our check-in is possible ONLY from 1pm to 6pm, who comes before that time can leave the bags here. It is even written on the confirmation letter that we always send to our guests. When someone comes early, without informing us, we do not scold anyone!!!! It is just that we would like to provide the best service possible and if you had informed us about your estimated arrival time (even earlier than check-in) we could organize our time in order to, at least, meet you, giving you some tips and advises about what to do meanwhile you were waiting for your room to be ready.

We are sure you understand there was no rudeness or intention to treat you badly and, for your next time in Rome, let us offer you a glass of wine!

We hope to see you and host you again soon!!!

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Tiny room, but clean, serviceable and quiet... It is well situated in the older part of Rome, with fantastic side streets and alleys, as well as everything being accessible. Plus the cheerful and friendly staff make up for the inability to swing cats around the room! They have excellent advice about all aspects of Rome, including my favourite "get lost!", which also stood us well in Florence and Paris. Highly recommend the Hotel de Monti, and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank templetonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thanks a lot for the wonderful review, even for the cats thought!!!!

We would like to warn everyone is reading that our Hotel has no sign outside, nor on our front door and, in order to reach us, we warmly suggest to get some information about how to exactly reach us from our website!....after you have reached us then, you will not have any hope, we will teach you how to get lost!!!!

See you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#124 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#96 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#75 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing