We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
462
183
33
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
183
33
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift flights of stairs third floor each morning monti area breakfast in bed train station via urbana within walking distance recommend hotel trevi fountain minute walk yogurt bars and restaurants hotel is located main sites roma termini
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had a great stay at this wonderful hotel. The breakfast in the room was fresh and tasty, the rooms were spacious and the staff was very, very friendly. What we appreciated the most were the tips that Mauro shared with us, on avoiding the crowds at the Vatican/Colloseum and some fantastic places to eat. The next time we are in Rome, we will return here for sure and we recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woutervw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Hi there! Thank you very much for posting this review, we had great time meeting you and helping you through your stay!!!

As you only wrote good things (ahahahahah!!!) we still have to say something in order to inform everybody who's reading.

Our Hotel is at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and we have no sign outside, so the best way in order to get information about how to reach us is our website.

The breakfast in the Hotel is served in room and consists in all regional Roman breakfast brought you every day.

Guys, we are really looking forward to meeting you again and we wish you all the best!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Mauro, the ever-helpful concierge/receptionist/all-round Roman bon viveur, says this is the smallest hotel in Rome with just seven rooms. Well, if this advice is as good as everything else he said, it'll be true!

Yes, there's no lift and yes, it's a few flights up, but so long as you are relatively fit and healthy, it's really no big deal. The hotel decor feels a little dated (curtains don't match duvet or bed cover) and the rooms are not huge, but frankly that's not a big deal with you have a very reasonably-priced, central and incredibly clean hotel. The 10 minutes it takes to walk to the Forum and Colisseum through lively neighbourhood streets are a joy, and there are piles of lovely cafes, bars and restaurants on your doorstep (Mauro is very happy to recommend his favourites, and they are GOOD!)

It's walking distance from the train station, with a regular service from the airport (14 euros single). Breakfast has to be ordered the night before, but is made of fresh local ingredients, and makes you feel like you're having a picnic in your room.

It's not abject luxury in this hotel, but it's good-value, central and friendly, so I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TartanHornplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

We promise it is!!! And thanks for writing that we are at the third floor of an ancient building without a lift and that we are definitely not a luxury Hotel!!!!!

...we try to do our best in order to let you enjoy Rome at the best, through our tips and advises as, who know Rome better than a Roman!?!?!?!

We will be always here at your disposal when in Rome again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our stay at the Hotel de Monti was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful in giving advice about Rome's attractions, calling taxis, etc. The room was simple -- clean and neat. The hotel is very centrally located (less than 1km from the central train station) and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Hello there and thank you for writing!

We of course have to remind that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that our Hotel is in the oldest district of Rome.

It has been a pleasure to host you (twice!!!) and we look forward to meet you the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

First of all, they make it very clear that there are a lot of stairs to get to the hotel... but I didn't read that. If you have trouble with stairs, keep that in mind.

The staff is amazing... carried up our luggage and spent a good 30 minutes talking to us about the area, where to eat, what to see, how to get there... how much cabs should cost if we need to take one... areas that are safe at night... and just about any other question that we could have.

The room is very nice and clean. Beds are comfortable and exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was served in bed daily and there was a nice selection of options to pick from.

The location could not have been better. 20-30 minutes of walking to nearly every major location in Rome... including The Vatican.

I highly recommend Hotel De Monti and if I am in Rome again, I will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms total.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

What could we say more after you review?! You described everything! Not only the good things (which we infinitely thank you!) but as well all those kind of descriptions that is always good to know before reserving.

Let us add an information: as our Hotel has no sign outside, it could be hard to find. We suggest anyone to have a look to our website in order to have the best directions about how to reach us!

Next time in Rome, we will be warmly waiting you to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a 4 night break. This hotel charges 30 Euros for late check in after 18:00, so it is advisable to arrange your arrival earlier if you want to avoid this charge. The rooms are in the 3rd floor with no lift, so do not stay here if this would cause peoblems. Now for the positives .....

We were greeted by Mauro who was full of information and gave some excellent advice. He told us to walk everywhere, which we did. 10 mins to the Colosseum, 50 mins to the Vatican. He also told us how to avoid queues and some great restaurants.

The room was very clean and well equipped but quite small. Excellent breakfast delivered to the room is included.

Would stay here again if visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you so much for writing this review, it has been more than appreciated!

Our reception only works from 1pm and our check-in is ONLY possible until 6pm and we thank you for reminding it. That is why a late check-in has an extra cost that a guest could wave ordering our pick-up service that could be a good idea for who's coming late.

All our rooms are the same size and for being in the historical centre of Rome (where all the rooms are small) they are standard sized.

Thanks for the compliments about breakfast, our maid really appreciated! It is served in room every day and it consists in all regional fresh products of the Roman area.

Look forward to meet you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews