We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab hotel”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #77 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab hotel”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

It's maybe not for everybody but we loved this hotel, location was perfect with lots of great restaurants yards away. Mauro was spot on with his tips and recommendations, we ate twice at La Carbonara just down the road after Mauro recommended it, and had the best pasta we had ever eaten. Breakfast served in our room was tasty and set us up for the day. The rooms were spotless, although there was some noise from above but nothing that bad, really could not fault the hotel especially the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hello! Thank you very much for such a wonderful review!!!

We are always glad and happy to let our guests be satisfied through the real Roman places where to eat good, avoiding those useless places where they give you plastic food, emptying your pockets!

Also, our suggestiond is always to do not prepay in advance tickets for the major actractions, as we can give some tips about how to skip the big queues without paying more for the rights of the reservations....

A part the awesome review (!!!!) let us please remind that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and, in order to better find us, as we have no sign outside our old building, it is better to go on our website to know the best ways how to reach us.

Thanks again and we look forward to meeting you one more time!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    166
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
460
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The hotel is not easy to find its just a brown door along the street, Mauro is good explaining the tourist traps to avoid, where not to eat and how to avoid queues at the vatican museums. Wi-Fi is good and the room we had was clean.Breakfast was delivered at the time we requested.BUT there was no table to eat at so breakfast was taken on the tray on the bed.There were no drink making facilities, and no English language tv channels.Access is up 6 flights of stairs Across the street was the hang out for the local call girls with punters circling all day, not the best area for smokers to stand.The coliseum is a 10 minute walk but Trevi ,Pantheon and Spanish Steps are a good 40 min walk with the Vatican being further away.Rome is fabulous, but we will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: the front rooms get a lot of traffic, and refuse collection noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suejohn831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hello and thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Hotel.

We appreciated all of your compliments regarding our tips and advises, we are glad to let people enjoy Rome at the best, through the best places where to eat the real italian/Roman food, the best ways how to skip the big lines and the hidden things not written on the guide books….

But let us contest something: our rooms are 17 squared meters, generally bigger than the average Roman standard and they all have a desk that can be used as a table for breakfast. It is written nowhere that we have English channels on our TVs and we prefer to give the best service regarding visiting the City.

Thanks anyway for reminding that we are at the third floor of a very ancient building not provided with a lift and not having a sign outside, we suggest everyone to go on our website in order to have the best information about how to reach us. Or, as written in the confirmation letter we always send to our guests, let us know the way you will be coming and we only do our best and generally our guests are satisfied.

The street where our Hotel is located, is one of the oldest in Rome, always full of people and tourists walking (there are a lot of Hotels, B&Bs and guest houses here around), also a lot of government palaces, such as the Ministery of Interior, the palace of the Italian secret service and the main Office of the Bank of Italy. A lot of Police is everyday patrols around the area, letting it be the safest in Rome.

We are very sorry you did not like something and we hope next time you could give us the possibility to host you again.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel which is situated in the center of the city with just a few minutes walk the most of the historical attractions and to Termini station. We knew before that the hotel is situated on the third floor and that there are no lift but for us it was no problem even after walking around in the city for hours as we did. The hotel staff was amazingly helpful with every kind of tips about what to see and what to avoid (!) on our short stay and when to go where avoiding the worst crowds etc. Besides they tipped us where to eat the best pizza in town and we believe they were quite right. The room was very clean and nice and the free wifi connection functioned without any problems. Breakfast was brought to the room exactly at the time we desired and was very tasty and amply. It's really hard to find anything to complain about (and I think you should not do so afterwords) but a little minus could be given to the fact that there was no fridge in the room (but we managed good enough without). We really recommend this hotel especially for couples who want to spend a romantic time in Rome as long as they are not physically disabled and can climb the stairs to the third floor of this fantastic old building in the real heart of Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Hello Mr and Mrs and thank you very much for this lovely review!

All the information written in this post are truly useful: we are at the third floor without a lift (and we add that our Hotel has no sign outside so go on our website for the directions...) and the breakfast is served in room.

We are a 2 stars Hotel and thank you VERY much for reminding that in our rooms there is no more than the wardrobe, the air conditioning a private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. There are no fridges, no international channels in the television, no kettle.

Mr and Mrs, we hope to meet you again as soon as possible, in order to let you forget the snow!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect. This was the second hotel I stayed at in Rome and it was amazing!! First off, the staff was incredibly helpful. We arrived before check-in and they held our bags while we went around until check-in was open. At check-in, the owner told us some tricks to getting around the Roman Forum and Colosseum without waiting in line for 4 hours. He gave us a map and wrote down routes and told us the "schedule" for the time we had. The room was incredibly clean and beautiful. They only have 7 rooms, which is great because you really feel like the only guest. It is within walking distance of the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Square, and right around the corner from the metro and a few blocks away from Termini Train station, which goes directly to the airport. There were a variety of restaurants in the area, in various price points. One day we had lunch at a great pizza place across the street from the hotel, which was only 5 Euro. Later in the evening we went to a small Opera production and had a great dinner, for about 15 Euro each. The only bad thing I could possibly say about the Hotel is that there is no sign indicating the location. It is located on the 3rd floor of a building, so you have to look for the address, then get buzzed in for check-in, however, once we realized we had found the right spot, everything was smooth sailing. There is also no elevator, but if you are able to walk the stairs, it is well worth the little bit of exercise you will get to have this hotel experience! If I ever go back to Rome, this will be one of my top hotel choices!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Hi there and thank you for such a terrific review!!!!

Especially because you mentioned that we are at the third floor without an elevator and that we have no sign on the outside and, in order to have best information about how to reach us, we suggest everyone to go on our website.

Location is really on of our strenght and our focus is to let the people enjoy Rome at the best through our tips and advises and we are always glad to provide to our guests!

Wish to meet you again as soon as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Located in the middle of the triangle between Roma Termini, Colossseum, and Trevi Fountain there is easy access to the main attractions by foot. There are also a lot of restaurants close to the hotel. According to the hotel-specifications there are no lift, no restaurant and limited manned reception, but still this qualify for a five star rating when considering price/value. The reception (Mr Mauro) gives a lot of priceless advices about skipping lines bying tickets, restaurants, walks and interesting areas to get lost. The rooms are what you can expect for the room rate, and they are well kept and very clean. There might be some noise from the room next door (crying kids), and the street if you leave the window open (there is aircon), and there is not much room for suitcases and clothes. We enjoyed our stay very much and will come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mortuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Hello Sir and thank you very much for writing this review!!!

Via Panisperna is one of the oldest street in Rome, that is why our building has not an elevator (it was built in the 15th Century) and we have no sign on the outside (our website has all the directions).

It is always busy, being in the living heart of the City and we put double glassed windows in all our rooms, trying always to do our best in order to let your stay be as better as possible.

Our small rooms are sized normal to be in the historical centre of Rome and thank you very very much for reminding everyone that we are not a luxury Hotel and our rooms facilities are just air conditioning, towels, a private bathroom with shower and a safe.

We look forward to meet you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

It is a boutique hotel at the 3rd floor of a very old building in the centre, very close to the Termini train and subway station. Everything is very clean and well organized. The place is also relativelky quiet. The bathroom is a little small, but very functional. Te location is terrific. The neiborghood is extremelly safe and has everything needed around. But the show comes from the customer service. Mauro is extremelly efficient, kind and nice. Recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrotero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review!!!

Consider that all our small rooms are provided with private bathroom and shower and for the Roman standard, mediumly are the normal size! The breakfast is always included in the prices and it consists in regional fresh products coming from here around.

The rooms are in the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and we do not suggest our Hotel to anyone would like not to do some stairs coming back after a tired walking stay!

In case you could stand that though, we never let our guests leave the Hotel without us giving the best suggestions for sightseeing (including how to skip the big lines of the Roman monuments) and the best restaurant in Rome, always saving money!!!!

Once back in Rome, please fell free to contact us again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We chose this hotel based on its excellent TripAdvisor reviews and location close to two Metro stations. We were not disappointed. The old brown entrance door and three flights of stairs were a little intimidating, but we knew to expect that based on TripAdvisor reviews. The shower and bed were a bit small, and the busy street was sometimes noisy. Otherwise this place was perfect for us: super clean rooms, delicious breakfasts, friendly staff with good advice, big towels, powerful shower heads, heated bathroom floors, and a generous discount for paying with cash instead of credit card. No kidding. Hotel de Monti is a great value in a terrific location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Proprietario at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Hi there and thank you so much for writing this review!

It is exactly as you have said: that is why we always write the things as they are. We are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and, most important thing, we have no sign on the outside, so we suggest everyone to have a look to our website first, in order to have the best information about how to reach us.

The location lets you reach the most important highlights in less than 30 minutes walking and of course, we are here as well to point you which are the best ways how to really recognize the best places where to eat and the best ways how to skip the big lines in Rome.

Remember, in here you will always be more than welcome!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#92 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#123 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#19 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#67 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing