We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like we had our own little studio in Rome”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #80 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Felt like we had our own little studio in Rome”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our first stop of our honeymoon. Agree with other sentiments here...Mauro and his staff were friendly and accommodating, breakfast to our room was perfect, hotel is in a great central location. Other than the already mentioned lack of elevator/lift up 3 flights of stairs, nothing to complain about in a city where your time is best spent out, seeing the sights.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DMW1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Hi there and thank you very much for posting this review!!

You basically said everything about us in few words!!!! But let us remind that our Hotel could be hard to find if it is the first time in Rome, so our website can be the best solution for directions.

Please, when in Rome again come back here, we need such happy people!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    169
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
465
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This place cost me 130 euro a night. Based on the price and the Tripadvisor ranking (10 out of 1260 hotels in Rome!) I expected something really good. I were seriously disappointed. The place is in a run down old building, on the third floor (4th if you count the North American way), without an elevator. The room was newly renovated and the staff was friendly and helpful, so it would not be fair to call the place terrible. But I still cannot justify that the place cost that much. And I cannot explain how it came to be rated 10th in Rome. We have been to five other hotels in this trip that we chose based on Tripadvisor rankings. In all cases, the ranking made at least some sense. In this case, it really did not.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hong S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear guest,

we first of all would like to thank you for posting this review, sharing your experience in our Hotel.

We hope that anyone is reading, will understand that we are not a luxury Hotel, nor a resort and fortunately, we wrote EVERYWHERE our characteristics (3rd floor without elevator, very ancient building, no sign outside). Though, we still have people using TripAdvisor, that does not know all these things...

What lets us be so proud of our job, is mostly the fact that we understand the difference between being treacted as a tourist, or being treacted as a normal person enjoying the most beautiful city in the world. When we explain the map of Rome in our reception (and we do that to every single guest) you will get the way how to skip the big monuments lines, avoid the touristic traps, even how to walk, what to avoid, how, where and when to eat good (that it seems to be a joke, but in Rome is very easy to fall in a bad service quality/pricing and if you do not live in Rome, who better than us could recognize that???)....this is our focus. Otherwise, we were famous for the luxury service of our rooms, that we would still like to remind that are bigger than the Roman standard, all have private bathroom with shower, A/C, telephone, TV, hairdryer, double glassed windows, comfy beds and a private safe....

About the price...July is one of the highest season in Rome....otherwise there would not exist a low and a high season....

We anyway hope you could come back a day, in order to let us show you how we really mean to enjoy Rome.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Having said that you need to read the reviews, not just accept the great position of the hotel in the rankings.

The hotel is great for what it is. But it is what it is! Read the reviews!

The room is three stories up (stairs only). The stairs can get tiring at the end of a long day walking. The rooms are basic but very clean (the cleanest we experienced in Rome). Not a problem if you are ok physically.

There aren’t any real hotel amenities (its small) but a basic breakfast is provided.

Another great thing is the dry cleaners near by on Va Cavour that charged $7 for a bag full of washing.

The great monuments around the city are in walking distance (if you are of a normal healthy condition) . If we came back to Rome we would definitely stay here again.

Take notice of the Hotel door photo as that will help when tying to find the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you so much, especially for posting the photos of our door, we are sure they will be very very helpful for the other guests!!! Also, we remind everyone that on our website there all the specific directions about how to reach us.

It is true, we always repeat (and we will never be tired enough to repeat it) that we are NOT a luxury 5 stars Hotel, but we are so proud of the job we do, especially when (you are the proof!!) we arrive to our guests' satisfaction! Our service of course includes the room and all it may concern, but we really think that if a person travels to Rome is to enjoy the City and we never leave a single guest of ours, without our directions to enjoy the Eternal City at the best!!!

Next time in Rome, we will be more than glad to surprising you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and adequate, tje staff were very friendly and went out of their way to give us tourist information. Its also an easy walk from termini train station (10-15 mins) and the metro (less than 10 mins). As some of the tripadvisor reviews indicate there are no stairs so if you have big bags you may need some help getting them up to the 4th floor. We had no problem with hand luggage though.
only other thing was there is no kitchen/canteen so breakfast is served in your room at a time of your choosing- we didn't mind this at all!

All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you very much for the review!!

Our location is one of our strenght, because within 30 minutes walking, you can reach even the furthest highlights in Rome! Also, our district (Monti) is one of the best in order to taste the real italian and roman cuisine or just for a relaxing glass of wine in our characteristic wineries!

The rooms are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift, so we do not suggest outr Hotel to all those people that cannot afford too much steps...but in case you can, enjoy our "homemade" service with the explanation of the City through our map!!!

We look forward to meeting you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Picked based on Tripadvisor, like all other hotels on this trip. The TA ranking is very high (10 out of 1263), so I expected something very ice. Was a little disappointed. The place has been recently renovated and is clean. Good location for Colosseo/Forum. Nice staff. But the building is old and decaying, has a dirty staircase and no elevator (3rd floor). Breakfast in room (no common breakfast room), quality/quantity just OK. The room is relatively small. Bathroom very small, with a quirky foldable door which it took us a while to master. Nowhere to hang towels. Tiny shower. Nevertheless, all is clean and renovated, so it was not a hardship situation... Just found the extravagantly high TA rating quite inappropriate.

Room Tip: Ask for a photo of the room. Ours did not look like the photos on Tripadvisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Massimo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel.

Fortunately, we repeat in every part of the web concerning us, that we are at the third floor of an ANCIENT BUILDING NOT PROVIDED WITH A LIFT, so our guests know that, BEFORE to reserve, without coming here with bad surprises.

Our rooms are all 17 meters squared and for the Roman/Historical centre standard, are even bigger. Anyone is reading, be ready to these sizes whene in a Roman Hotel situated in the historical centre.

Unfortuntately, we do not live the rooms and we cannot know if something is wrong or not. Of course there is a house keeping and when she notices something we immediately fix it up. Most of our guests, kindly let us know the problems sometimes could happen in the room and in that case, we solve it in less than 10 minutes when possible. It is very important for us that when something is wrong, the person that sleeps in the room lets us know that, otherwise you do not give us a chance to resolve a problem that, we repeat, it is quite normal that it could happen.

All in all, thank you very much and we wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The location was great! Quite near the train station (about 5 minutes' walk, double that if you're finding it for the first time; there're good instructions on the hotel's website), room was clean and pleasant (although the shower area was a little small, but no smaller than at the other hotels we've stayed at in Italy), breakfast was not bad either. Free wifi was a plus. The main attractions of Rome (Coliseum etc) are within walking distance. Many eating places and gelato shops nearby too.

The best part was how helpful Mauro was. He gave helpful advice on the places to eat and visit, especially on avoiding the long queues when buying tickets for the Coliseum (totally legal, not to worry). Don't get your tickets from the scalpers! Thanks again, Mauro!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iodoethane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for writing these kind words!!!!

Finally, someone that proves that the easiest way to find our Hotel is through our website!!!!! Also, we remind everyone that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift.

What we can suggest to who's reading, is to reserve NOTHING pre-paying; come here and we will be glad to svae your time and money through our tips, which is also our strenght!!!!

Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed here for four nights in June 2013, based on Trip Advisor reviews. Hotel de Monti did not disappoint!!!!!

The location of the hotel was perfect- less than 10 minute walk from the Termini main train station. Also, the Colosseum was a less than 10 minute walk. Slightly longer walk to Trevi, Spanish Steps, great shopping and dining. The Vatican was about a good 20-30 minute walk but everywhere was walkable from the Hotel De Monti.

The neighborhood was safe to be out in at night, and as am female traveling alone this was important as well.

The rooms were small but extremely clean. Breakfast was delicious and served at the time I chose every morning.

What really made this hotel stand out was the service. Mauro was awesome!!!!! I did not have any itinerary upon getting to Rome, other than to see a list of sights. Following Mauro's wonderful tips, I did not have to wait in line at the Colosseum, Vatican or anywhere. Mauro helped me guide my sight seeing so I could make the most of my days there. It was also nice to see him after a day of exploring the city and commend him on his fantastic tips.

If I was to go back to Rome, I would totally stay here again. The hotel does not have the frills of five star resorts I have stayed at, but the personal service and feeling of the hotel more than make up for lack of amenities. Highly, highly recommend if you are looking for a B & B in a central Rome location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hi Alisha and thank you very much for such a wonderful review!!!

In fact, Monti disctrict is the oldest and most central of Rome and we really can reach from the Hotel, everything within half an hour walking!!!! And in case you will be enough tired to do not want to walk, the district itself offers great restaurants, bars, pubs and wine tasting places!!!

Thanks mostly for reminding that we are NOT a luxury-5stars deluxe Hotel. We have no fridge in room, no english channels on TV, no common rooms, no amenities, no fancy halls. But what we have, surely could let you never forgetting Rome........

Ciao Alisha and thanks again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#97 of 1,257 in Rome
272 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#139 of 1,257 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#115 of 1,257 in Rome
1,079 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#89 of 1,257 in Rome
900 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing