We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff A+” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #73 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff A+”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I chose this hotel because of the reviews - and I agree with all the comments about the staff, especially Mauro. His tourism advice and restaurant recommendations are second to none. The only reason I have not given a 5/5 rating is the room amenities. Yes, the room is small but the cupboard could be redesigned easily to give some shelf space (and please cover the hole in the bottom - things drop through!). The towel situation also needs attention. One small bath towel and a hand towel are not enough. A bath mat and a face cloth are essential; a larger bath towel (or a second small one) would be helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear,

thank you very much for posting this review and for all the compliments written! So much appreciated!!!

About the wardrobe: which hole? There are no holes in our wardrobes!! We will surely double check! Thanks anyway, becasue we do need this kind of tips and suggestion from our guests that lived the room and could help us resolving problems.

About the towels: in all our rooms, every days there are, per person, 1 big towels and 1 hand towels, we think enough to be the smallest 2 stars Hotel in Rome. But we will take not about this so, thank you very much!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    163
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
457
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Not sure why everyone is saying noise wasn't a problem. My husband and I stayed here around Christmas and got a room on the street. The noise both from outside and inside (above us, other guests, etc.) made it impossible for us to sleep in. I guess most people when visiting Rome get up early and run around so if you're an early riser I guess it would be ok. But if you want to sleep in? Not happening. Anyway, that was really a shame because everything else about this hotel was great. The staff was super nice and had lots of tips for tourist sites and the location was great, just a short walk from the Coliseum. We walked from the train station with no problems. Also pets allowed, major plus!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Radness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for all the compliments about our Hotel, we really appreciated that!

Let us explain that our Hotel is still in the historical centre of Rome, full of traffic and City noises, but all our rooms have double glassed windows. For the other guests noises there is not that much we can do and we suggest anyone is reading that in case there is something disappointing in our service, please, let us know and give us the oppurtunity to resolve the problem.

Thank you and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Previous reviewers have commented extensively on issues such as the lack of a lift, the rather unprepossessing entrance and stairs. Don't be put off by these things. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the bathrooms small but perfectly acceptable and clean, the breakfasts excellent and Mauro is a helpful and friendly host.

My only observation is that some of the negative comments could be offset by classifying Hotel de monti as a B&B, for that is what it is!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve27650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear,

thank you very much for writing something about us.

We are a 2 stars Hotel (the smallest in Rome) at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and not having a sign outside. On our website though, there are all the directions about how to reach us,

Our reception works every days from 1pm to 8pm but check-ins are possible only until 6pm and it is always better to inform us about the estimated arrival time.

Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Mauro, you are a gem. Not only did you tell us the time of day to go to places to avoid lines, then you are spot on with restaurant advice. The breakfast in room was a great start to the day and my wife, who has Gluten allergies, was accomadated for. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was ideal. 10 minute walk to most of the major sights and 30 minutes to the Vatican. We walked everywhere. 18 and 15 miles each of the 2 full days we were in Rome. A great restaurant next door. What else could anyone want. It WAS a little hard to find at first since there is no sign out front, just follow the address number and look at the door ringers to make sure you found the right place. That was the only drawback.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Sir, thank you very much, you let us feel so flattered!!!! (a personal strong hug from Mauro!!!)

Walking and getting lost. That is what we wish to our guests. Do that and you will really appreciate Rome at the best.....and of course, we will explain everyone how to do that!!!

Thanks also for reminding that wehave no sign outside, on our website there are all the exact directions about how to reach us....and you also forgot to tell everybody that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift!!!

Please, hurry up to come back, we very much look forward to meeting you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed at the Hotel De Monti for 4 nights in June of 2013. I was absolutely pleased with everything. The staff is very friendly. The location is great and I loved the neighborhood with plenty of nice restaurants. It was very nice to have coffee and a light breakfast delivered right to your room--a great start to our day. When and if I ever have the chance to return to Rome, I will definitely come back to Hotel De Monti. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sactotraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Wow, what a wonderful review!!!! Thank you very much!!!

Let us though remind everyone that we are still at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that our Hotel has no sign outside. Our website is the best solution in order to have the specific directions about how to reach us!

Ciao guys!!!! Till the next time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Upon arriving in Rome my luggage was lost and due to a strike we were unable to file a report before leaving the airport. It was a miserable five hours spent at the airport before leaving. Upon arriving at Hotel de Monti we found a friendly staff member who warmly welcomed us and offered to call about my luggage. He spent a lot of time helping me with my issue which was eventually resolved. He offered great advice about dining out, helped us get out of the city when it was time to move on and checked in later about my luggage. It was the best service I've ever received at a hotel and should I find myself in Rome again I will certainly return to hotel de monti.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Hello there! We still feel so much sorry for you and your bag, sometimes, these inconveniences could happen but though, we feel very happy we let you felt better!!!

We really enjoy the part of our job when we are able to satisfy our guests, your smiles are our motivations!!!

Alla prossima!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our first stop of our honeymoon. Agree with other sentiments here...Mauro and his staff were friendly and accommodating, breakfast to our room was perfect, hotel is in a great central location. Other than the already mentioned lack of elevator/lift up 3 flights of stairs, nothing to complain about in a city where your time is best spent out, seeing the sights.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DMW1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Hi there and thank you very much for posting this review!!

You basically said everything about us in few words!!!! But let us remind that our Hotel could be hard to find if it is the first time in Rome, so our website can be the best solution for directions.

Please, when in Rome again come back here, we need such happy people!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#77 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#118 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing