We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to explore Rome from”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #106 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great value for money in a good location. This hotel is not good on the eye but once inside it is perfectly Ok very clean and comfortable. We walked to pretty much all the main tourist spots including the Vatican from here but be warned Rome is a bit on the hilly side with plenty of steps not easy in the summer heat Mauro offered great advice and we barely had to queue for anything even in peak season.No need to buy any tickets before you go you will be advised what to buy where. The Colosseum & Forum are a 15 minute stroll through streets full of life. Mauro will also recommend restaurant's that serve great food at good prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveoHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

So sorry for your feet!!! Rome in summer could be very tiring!!!!

Thanks for this wonderful review, let us remind everyone that we are in the oldest district of Rome (Monti) and even our building was built in the 15th century. And as we have no sign outside, would be better to get specific directions on our website!

Thanks again and we hope to meet you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Monti
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

This small hotel is located 10 minutes from the main train station (Termini) and walking distance to all the major sights. It is also close to the subway if you prefer that to walking to the Vatican, which is quite a distance to walk, particularly when it is hot.

(For the Vatican museum, pre book your tickets online to bypass the massive queues, and try to exit the museum at the back right side of the Sixtine Chapel to go directly to St Peter's - this is technically only allowed for tour groups but they do not really check. Please be warned that this is not an option for those that have paid for audio guides as these must be returned at the exit of the museum. We made this mistake, but we do not regret paying for the audioguides as the museum was so much more interesting with them. Instead we came back for St Peter's another day - we got there at 17:00 and only had to queue for 15 minutes. Doing both the museum and the church is best spread over two days anyways...).

The rooms are lovely decorated and very clean and the service was just amazing! We had a room facing the back courtyard (room number 35) which meant no view, but I assume it is much quieter than the rooms facing the street.

Mauro provided excellent advice and tips on how to beat the queues and what restaurants are good.

As the other reviews have said, there are 3 double flights of stairs to get to the third floor and there is no lift, so carrying luggage is not for the faint hearted.

Breakfast was just lovely and is provided each morning at the time you have selected directly to your room. You fill in the breakfast order the night before and place in a box in the hallway.

The wireless Internet connection in the room was great. The only negative for us was that there were no English language TV channels.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are probably more quiet than those facing the street, but you will not have an...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Hi there, and thank you very much for the review left, full of info and helpful to understand what we can offer!

Though, we suggest everyone to DO NOT pre book anything and we will exactly suggest you how to pay the tickets for waht they cost and some other little hidden secrets...

Thanks for reminding as well that there are no english channels on TV, we prefer to focus our service to the way how to discover Rome at the best!

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Once you have dragged your bags up 3 floors (6 flights of stairs) you are rewarded with airconditioned bliss - it was 34 degrees outside. That is the only thing I can complain about - and once settled in you won't think of it again (till you check out hehe). This hotel is great value for money, location perfect (5 min walk to Colosseum), really clean and those running it are extremely helpful and friendly (which you don't find everywhere in Rome). Mauro who checked us in will give you great tips - especially re restaurant's that aren't full of tourists - trust him as each restaurant we tried was great. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - they bring breakfast to your room and it's a great start to the day. We walked everywhere from this location - extremely good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thanks so much for writign this kind awesome words! We do really appreciated it!

Our focus is to let all our guests enjoy Rome at the best and, as we know how to do that, why we should not share this information?!

We would like also to remember everyone is reading that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that our Hotel has no sign outside (all the directions are on our website).

Grazie mille!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The quality, affordability, service, and location make Hotel de Monti worthy of its high ranking. From making restaurant reservations to providing detailed directions that even spatially challenged individuals can follow or printing boarding passes, the staff was extremely helpful and made you feel welcome and appreciated. As far as room size, I'm not sure anyone should complain as we found the rooms clean and more than adequate. I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler who values service, location, and affordability.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hello! Thank you very much for such a beautiful review! Amazing!

Let us please remember anyone that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that we have no sign outside our door and on our website there are all the specific directions about how to reach us!

See you next time and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I can't believe anyone could have negative things to say about this hotel. This was a great place to live. We stayed in Rome for about 4 days and it was amazing. The owner of the hotel was great. He took the time to always asked us how we were doing and about our travel experiences. Plus, he also gave us great tips on how to avoid the tourist traps and long lines. The rooms are really large and the location was near all the main attractions. I especially loved this hotel because the daily breakfast was really yummy. They picked out local Roman products for us to try like the jam and yogurts. We really had a lot of fun in Rome and to top it off, we got to stay at a pretty great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsw778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Wow!!!! So flattered to receive these kind of reviews, thank you very very very very much!!!!

Please, let us remember everyone, in order to avoid bad surprises, that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift, our Hotel has no sign outside (our website for directions) and that our check-in is only possible from 1pm to 6pm, otherwise later check-ins have a cost.

For the rest, thanks again and we look forward to meeting you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I chose this hotel because of the reviews - and I agree with all the comments about the staff, especially Mauro. His tourism advice and restaurant recommendations are second to none. The only reason I have not given a 5/5 rating is the room amenities. Yes, the room is small but the cupboard could be redesigned easily to give some shelf space (and please cover the hole in the bottom - things drop through!). The towel situation also needs attention. One small bath towel and a hand towel are not enough. A bath mat and a face cloth are essential; a larger bath towel (or a second small one) would be helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear,

thank you very much for posting this review and for all the compliments written! So much appreciated!!!

About the wardrobe: which hole? There are no holes in our wardrobes!! We will surely double check! Thanks anyway, becasue we do need this kind of tips and suggestion from our guests that lived the room and could help us resolving problems.

About the towels: in all our rooms, every days there are, per person, 1 big towels and 1 hand towels, we think enough to be the smallest 2 stars Hotel in Rome. But we will take not about this so, thank you very much!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Not sure why everyone is saying noise wasn't a problem. My husband and I stayed here around Christmas and got a room on the street. The noise both from outside and inside (above us, other guests, etc.) made it impossible for us to sleep in. I guess most people when visiting Rome get up early and run around so if you're an early riser I guess it would be ok. But if you want to sleep in? Not happening. Anyway, that was really a shame because everything else about this hotel was great. The staff was super nice and had lots of tips for tourist sites and the location was great, just a short walk from the Coliseum. We walked from the train station with no problems. Also pets allowed, major plus!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_Radness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for all the compliments about our Hotel, we really appreciated that!

Let us explain that our Hotel is still in the historical centre of Rome, full of traffic and City noises, but all our rooms have double glassed windows. For the other guests noises there is not that much we can do and we suggest anyone is reading that in case there is something disappointing in our service, please, let us know and give us the oppurtunity to resolve the problem.

Thank you and see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#130 of 1,267 in Rome
1,288 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
287 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#128 of 1,267 in Rome
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#183 of 1,267 in Rome
1,056 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#100 of 1,267 in Rome
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £61 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing