We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #81 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in March and loved it! The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the staff were absolutely amazing. Like many other reviewers have mentioned, the advice from Mauro regarding places to eat and his tips about places to visit were brilliant! He saved us hours of waiting around and, because of that, we got to experience more of Rome!

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks a lot for this beautiful review!!!

So flattered of all the compliments (Mauro sends his best regards!!!) but please, let us remind everyone that, even though we can offer the best service possible regarding tips and advises (becoming a little personalized tour guide!), we are still a small Hotel of only 7 rooms at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and being hard to find, the best way to get directions is our website where to get directions and information, like our limited check-in time: 1pm - 6pm.

Next time in Rome, do not hesitate to contact us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    170
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
466
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Staff wonderful , Good breakfast, excellent advise on queue avoiding and places to eat. What more could you want!
Hair dryer was excellent , beds comfortable, rooms clean. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonPerep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you very much!

We always do our best to let our guests be satisfied of our rooms and service!

Let us then also remind everyone that the rooms are at the third floor and we do not have an elevator. It is easy to get lost in order to find us so, the best way to get directions is our website.

Also, our limited time check-in is only 1pm - 6pm without possibilities of a later check-in...

Said that, we look forward to meeting you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

great service and convenient location close to the train station, great to walk the city, restaurant suggestions, this is a fantastic hotel for vacationing, straight forward, no issues with the stairs, standard for roma and old europa!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carli2sway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks so much for the review!

Let us though remember everyone that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that our Hotel has no sign outside and our website is the best way to get directions and even to reserve with our special offers!

Also, our limited time check-in (1pm-6pm) does not allow us to accept different lapse of time check-in, but there is always to possibility to leave the bags should arriving earlier!

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We just returned from staying 7 nights at the Hotel de Monti. After reading many wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to try somewhere new on this trip to Rome. From the first email correspondence to the check out, everything was truly wonderful. We knew what to expect from the reviews on check in times, being on a 3rd floor with no elevator and reception only from 1:00- 8:00pm and frankly, all these things did not impact us one bit. The rooms are impeccably clean and Andrada, the housekeeper was delightful. We loved the system where you select your breakfast items and delivery time the night before and it was nice to see that smiling face with breakfast the each morning. The restaurants in the Monti neighborhood were outstanding and Mauro knew exactly where to send us each evening. His warm reception daily was much appreciated and his knowledge of Rome was very helpful to us for planning our day. We highly recommend the Hotel de Monti. It is a great value, in a great location with great staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarthaJ1670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review, it says really everything concerning us and we are sure it will be helpful for the other guests to figure out what we can offer.

Let us just add that, not having a sign outside, our Hotel could be hard to reach and we then suggest everyone to go on our website to get specific directions and even the best possibility to reserve with our special offers!

See you next time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

ローマ観光の為に、2連泊しました。こじんまりしたホテルで、部屋はシンプルかつ清潔感のあるものでした。ホテルのマウロ(Mauro)さん、アンドラーダ(Andrada)さんの暖かい人柄、心遣いで、安心してローマ観光を楽しむことができました。

テルミニ(termini)駅から5分、カブール(cavour)駅から5分と便利な上、近くに重要な官公庁があり、治安も大変良いと感じました。

マウロ(Mauro)さんは、英語が達者なので、ローマ観光に関する貴重、かつ的確なアドバイスをもらえます。

また、機会があったら、ぜひ、ホテル デ モンティを利用したいと思います。


For Rome sightseeing, We stayed for 2 days. Hotel de monti is a little Hotel. Room is simple and clean. Mauro's and Andrada 's personality are gentle at heart. We were able to enjoy Rome sightseeing in peace.

Hotel located from Cavour Station and from Termini Station for about five minutes walk.

There were important government offices near the hotel,so we think the area around the hotel safe.

Mauro is good at English. So Mauro give us valuable and precise advice about Rome sightseeing.

We would like to stay hotel de monti next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a2shiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Google Translation
どうもありがとうございました!次回まで!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent 4 great nights at the Hotel de Monti. It's a short walk from Termini and easy to find. Our room was big for a city hotel..comfy bed, super clean, clean towels every day, air con (which we needed even in February), good hairdryer! Breakfast in the room was a good start for a day of sight seeing. It IS up 3 flights of stairs but this kept us from popping back to the room too often so we saw more of ROME. The hotel is in an old building in the lively Monti district so don't expect it to be very quiet - although it didn't bother us at all. Near to the hotel is all you need....well stocked grocers, bakers, Tabac, launderette, chemist! Mauro's sight seeing advice should be followed - try his restaurant recommendations too! We liked them all except found the service in La Carbonara a bit disdainful and superior. We had better experiences and food elsewhere. Our best lunchtimes were in the streets east of the Colisseum (area recommended by Mauro). this leads to The San Giovanni in Laterano church which was our favourite. Thank you Mauro and all the staff at Hotel de Monti.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tango567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hello there and thank you very much for this review!

The Monti district is the oldest and most characteristic part of the City, full of local restaurants and wine bars (awesome food and worst service, as you know it has to be to be authentic!!!)

Street are quite noisy everywhere in Rome more or less, that is why all our windows are double glassed, we anyway have, as you said, AC service in all our rooms!!

Until the next time!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed two nights together with my girlfriend in this lovely hotel. Don´t let the two star rating of the hotel fool you. Although the building itself is 500 years old and there is no elevator available, the staff itself more than compensates for that. The service they offer is exceptional - from pointing you to the nearest sight seeing locations to giving good advice on traditional restaurants with fair prices up to the absolutely fantastic breakfast that is delivered right to your room (which is by the way pretty big for this price range).

The hotel is only about 5 to 10 minutes by foot away from the central train station (Termini), where also all the trains and buses head to right from the airport. And you can reach most of the famous spots (like the Colosseum, Forum Romanum, Pantheon, Piazza die Spagna, ...) from the hotel either by foot or from the bus station that is located right at the front door.

The only negative thing I can say, is that the hotel is situated at the third floor and there is no elevator available. But it was actually not such a big deal for me/us.

If you are looking for a lovely little hotel, with great service and fantastic price-performance ratio, don´t look any further - you found it :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeeKay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hello there and thank you very much for the review!

You basically said everything and we definitely think this is a very useful review for who is thinking to reserve a room in our Hotel!!

Let us just remind a couple of thing more: the Hotel has no sign outside our building, so it is better to get directions info on our official website, which is good as well to reserve with our special discounts. Also, we remind everyone that our limited time check-in is ONLY from 1pm to 6pm, without possibilities of different lapse of time check-ins.

We are so glad you remained happy of our Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us, when in Rome again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#96 of 1,258 in Rome
276 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#139 of 1,258 in Rome
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,258 in Rome
1,087 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#101 of 1,258 in Rome
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing