We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little hotel”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #142 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

we spent 4 nights in this wonderful hotel. the hotel itself is situated on the 3rd floor of a very old building - so lots of stairs to climb - this is stated on the website - so please don't moan about the stairs! The welcome that we had from Mauro was wonderful - perfect English - please listen to the tips he gives you - they are invaluable. The area that the hotel is in is fabulous its feels like "little Italy" and has a lovely atmosphere at night - we ate at the restaurants situated the the area, the food was lovely and not over priced. All in all this was a wonderful break and we would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hello Julie and thank you very much for not having moaned!!! Ahahahahah!

We add, to all the very useful info you said, that we have no sign outside and on our website there are all the specific directions (and even best discounted prices) and on YouTube there is a video called "how to reach Hotel de monti from Termini".

Also, our limited check-in time is ONLY from 1pm to 6pm WITHOUT POSSIBILITIES OF A LATE CHECK-IN. Coming at 6.01pm, means cancellation.

Please, hurry up to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed just 2 nights in this lovely Hotel. In a beautiful old building, well worth the 3 flights of stairs to reach the friendly welcoming Mauro! He was so helpful to us, giving us hints and tips and marking areas out on the map of places to avoid and places of interest. Very central, nice stroll to restaurants, bars etc. and very close to Colloseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc. The room was lovely, clean and bright and you are given a menu page to fill in (lots of choices!) plus the time you wish it delivered to your room. Also has air conditioning which was a bonus! Shower room large and good water pressure (the tank does make a loud noise when filling but I only mention it as when I first heard it I wondered what it was and thought my husband had broken the air conditioning!!!!!) all in all a fabulous hotel in an authentic historic building - thank you also to the lovely girl who delivered our breakfast and cleaned the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparlingwand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hi there and thanks a lot for this wonderful review!!!

As you have written down all beautiful stuff about us, let us inform everyone about something vital before reserving...

We are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and we do not have a sign outside; in order to find us, www.hoteldemonti.com for specific directions and on YouTube "how to reach hotel de monti from termini".

Our limited check-in time is ONLY from 1pm to 6pm WITH NO POSSIBILITIES OF LATE CHECK-INS. Later check-in (without communication) will be considered cancelled reservations.

All in all, thanks again and we look forward to meeting you once more!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

They have only five rooms, which are small but cosy. It's not a five star hotel, but everything is clean and more or less functionale. Breakfast is served to the room in the morning, on the time you request the evening before.

Angelo and his team are managing De Monti Hotel for 3 years now. We found the hosts very helpful and kind, and they gave us really good advice for restaurants nearby. It's not easy to avoid all the tourist traps and find good worth for money in Rome. So don't hesitate and ask them. Angelo and his team are born in the De Monti neighborhood and know everything around very well.

The De Monti neigborhood is very nice, with lots of cafes, bakeries, bars. It's also in walking distance to all the top sights of the city, such as Collosseum, Fontana di Trevi, Forum Romanum, etc. Metro station "Cavour" is about 400m away, but just in front of the hotel there is a bus station (Lines No. 71 and 117) which take you to Collosseum and around the city.

So, all in all, we enjoyed the stay in Hotel De Monti. There was one thing that we really hated: Whenever we turned on the tab or the shower or when we flushed the toilet, there was a water pump making a really loud and disturbing noise for a couple of minutes. This was a small nuisance during the day, and a real problem in the night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hello there and thank you very much for posting a review!

Let us specify something though: our little Hotel of only 7 rooms is located at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and we have no sign outside. On our website there are all specific directions and on YouTube there is a video called "how to reach hotel de monti from termini station".

All our private bathrooms have a pump/destroyer system that works when the water is flushed, because as the building was built in the 15th century and it is still considered as a monument, the sewers are the same of hundreds of years ago and, without that sounds, the smell in all the palace would be horrible!! Anyway, it does not last for more than 10 seconds and only when the water is flushed...

Thank you again and all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved our stay at Hotel De Monti. Nothing matters more than truth in advertising, and you'll get more than what you bargained for. Took us a minute to find the place since it is unmarked. But all of the directions are clear. I'm happy to ascend three flights to the hotel given how much food we ate on our trip - we needed the exercise. The best perk is breakfast in our room! You get to pick the time it arrives and selection of food. The hotel is situated in an amazing neighborhood with great food and boutiques and a short walk to all the sights (10-15 minutes). We never used public transportation while in the city. Also, the hotel is a short walk from the train station as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaderunner98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello there and thank you very much for this good review! So much appreciated!

We would like to inform everyone that on YouTube we just made a new video called "how to reach Hotel de Monti from Termini", that could be a solution we thought will help our guests to easily find us!!

Please, once back in Rome, do not hesitate to contact again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just came back from our trip to Italy where we stayed for 4 nights at Hotel de Monti while in Rome. I picked this hotel based on their outstanding reviews on Trip Advisor and also recommended by Fodor's. I can see why the reviews are so outstanding. The customer service supplied by Mauro and Andrada is unsurpassed by any other Hotel I have ever stayed at...starting right with the first email when we booked until the last day of our stay. The location is outstanding, easy 10 minute walk to the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, metro and more. We used Mauro's recommendations of places to eat 4 times and were not disappointed! If you don't stay here you'll never know how the average customer should be treated!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello Mike and thank you so much for this unbelievable review!!!

So glad you appreciated all our service and tips, this, as always, makes us so happy we chose to do this job only in order to help our guests to live the City as we personally do and not like the touristy way that a lot of shops would like to let you think...

Keep being thankful for the wonderful review, let us please remind everyone's reading that we are at the third floor without elevator and not having a sign outside, our website www.hoteldemonti.com, could really be a good solution to get directions or even the recent video we made on YouTube called "how to reach Hotel de Monti from Termini".

By the way: it's been so nice to meet you and we look forward to having you back again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in April and we had the most amazing time! The hotel is private, located so well and so clean! We had no faults with our room, the breakfast was delivered and was fantastic. Mauro has the most amazing advice of places to eat, how to skip the ques and how to avoid paying the tourist prices when you can get the better food and experiences by venturing down the back streets. We couldn't of enjoyed our time more and if you have a spare half a day from pounding the pavements then please spend some time around the monti area because it is the most amazing quite and non tourist area with great shops and restaurants! Thank you for a fantastic stay and we will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie-Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hello there and thank you very much for this fantastic review!!!

So glad you liked the district! It is the most authentic Roman area, that overwhelms with the characteristic restaurants and wine bar! Only few steps away from our beds!!!

Let us though remind everyone that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and we have no sign outside, so the best way to find us is through our website. Also our limited check-in time in ONLY from 1pm to 6pm.

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent three nights, mid April in Rome at the Hotel de Monti, which we chose based on the reviews on Tripadvisor & we weren't disappointed. The hotel is really well located to lots of lovely little shops & restaurants. It's about a 10-minute walk to the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain or the train station Termini (we had a taxi to the hotel 55 euros & caught the train back 28 euros). We had pre-booked our tickets to the Coliseum & Vatican Museums online so didn't have to queue. It took us approx 45 to walk to the Vatican City. There are many restaurants all around, try the restaurant right next door to the hotel, we had four course meal with wine for 28 euro each which was lovely. The free hotel map was great & enabled us to walk everywhere & more importantly not get lost!
The hotel itself is very clean, the room cleaned each day with fresh towels. We had no issues with the wifi during our stay. The breakfast is simple but satisfactory and the stairs are not too bad! I would definitely recommend staying here to visit Rome & all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkilang2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hi there and thank you very much for the review!!!

We take advantage of this review to remind everyone that our Hotel has no sign outside and the best way to get specific directions is surely our website, which is even the best place where to reserve with our special discounts.

Also, here at the reception, we are always at your complete disposal in order to suggest places to go and the best restaurants for experiencing the real Roman/Italian kitchen in the best authentic way!

Just one thing we do not agree with you: getting lost in Rome, is the most important thing in order to discover the City at its and best!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#137 of 1,270 in Rome
1,308 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,270 in Rome
2,545 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#92 of 1,270 in Rome
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,270 in Rome
2,832 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#206 of 1,270 in Rome
1,075 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#107 of 1,270 in Rome
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing