We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Choice”
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #77 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We typically stay in luxury resorts; however, we knew we weren't going to be spending much time in our room during our 3 nights in Rome. Our goal was to find a room that was reasonably priced, very clean and in a good location. We found exactly what we were looking for at this hotel.

The biggest selling point on this hotel is the excellent service. The staff went above and beyond to help us navigate the city, giving us great tips on saving time at popular tourist attractions. They were beyond friendly and this is exactly where we'll stay again, thanks to the friendliness of the team.

We are in pretty decent shape, so we didn't mind all the steps. We knew to expect this in advance. So all in all, perfect price and exactly what we needed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenDeSaegher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hello and thank you so much for such a wonderful review!

We are always glad to help our guests, explaining the map we give at the reception and helping to discover Rome like real Romans!!!

Let us though remind everyone one that being at the third floor of an ancient building, there is no elevator. Also, not having a sign outside, the best way to get directions is our official website or YouTube, seraching a video called "how to reach hotel de monti from termini".

Our check-in time is ONLY 1pm-6pm, no possibilities for a different time check-in.

We look forward to meeting you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    166
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
460
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We made arrangements (through hotel) to be picked up at the airport. GOOD THING! But $$$ Make sure to check the time the "check in" ENDS! When we arrived with our driver we honestly thought he had the wrong location. We would have never have found it if we didn't get driven right to the door! The area is not nice(dirty),the building is in bad shape. The stairway going up to the 3rd floor where the rooms are located was so shocking,discouraging & very dirty!!! Got to the 3rd floor and were greeted by a young man in a very small room , behind a very small counter. He gave us a swipe card that let us into an hallway with a few rooms....one being ours. We were pleasantly surprised!! Small room, very small bathroom, VERY small shower....BUT all very CLEAN! Our room faced the road with a small window. Not much natural light. Breakfast is brought to your room in the morning.... Coffee,yogurt,juice,stale croissant (butter/jam) This might be ok with some travellers but it just wasn't up to our standards. This was close to several restaurants and a 10 min walk to train station.

Room Tip: Check in ends earlier than most hotels If you are late they will not be there. Pick up at airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annlee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello and thank you for giving us the opportunity to let know everyone reading, something...

Our pick-up service, that we offer to all our guests asking for it, costs 55 euros for a personal driver picking up at the airport with a name on a board. Considering that a normal taxi costs 48 euros officially and you have to be lucky to find one, they often ask more for unknown things, ending paying such MORE than 55 euros.

On our official website, there is an entire page dedicated to a map and a lot of specific direction on how to reach us, as it is written EVERYWHERE that we have no sign outside. Also, there is a video on YouTube called "how to reach hotel de monti from termini".

Our VERY OLD TERRIFIC DIRTY building is part of the history of Rome, as it is a 1500 palace, that of course cannot be renovated, that is the reason why we have no elevator and no sign outside.

Let us say (as you did not mention it) that our strenght, is the map we give to all our guests in order to have an explanation on how to really visit Rome in the best way possible and not wasting money joining tour groups outside the momuments 99% illegally, or eating a frozen expensive pasta in the Navona square. We believe that everyone should pass a nice good stay, avoiding to be cheated.

What is sounds strange to us is that, as always at the check-out, before letting you pay, we asked you if there has been ANYTHING that you did not like in your stay and you confirmed us EVERYTHING was perfect! How are we supposed to "fix" any complaints, if we are not informed?!

It also looks strange that, as we can see, you often use TripAdvisor to post reviews, but it seems not that often to read useful information about an Hotel, before reserving...

What was the real problem then?!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I can not fault the acommodation on offer nor the helpfulness of Maurio who was a mine of information and how to get the best out of the Forum visit on a scorching afternoon. The plumbing was a little noisy and you hope your neighbours do not go to the bathroom in the middle of the night when the grinder kicked in. Conversley the air conditioning was quietly efficient but the location on a high floor made for a cool and peaceful bedroom without wasting energy. The breakfast brought to the room was adequate and punctual which allowed for a quick departure to Termini for the airport train.
Criticism is the anonymous entrance to the hotel and a numbering system in Panisperma that is unhelpful. Detective work after asking three local residents where number 95 was, then having avoided the Carabineiri and the local James Bond centre eventually lead me to a doorway with baroque lintel: in the tiniest writing 'Hotel De Monti' was shown besides a fairly obscure bell push, whih allowed one's entry. The the ascent to the 3rd floor carrying one's suitcase, meant one passing a number of shut doors, to then find the smart reception desk on the right. In the late evening when the desk was shut, I even got up to the 4th floor in error before descending and gaining entry to the floor with the bedrooms using my key card. Explanation offered was planning restrictions in a Conservation Area prohibited better labelling. Despite these minor troubles the stay was enjoyable and can be recommended

Room Tip: All seemed good but dont ask for one near the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello there and thank you for this review.

Let us have the opportunity to explain something: as written before reserving on-line (mainly on TripAdvisor), our VERY OLD BUILDING, not provided with an elevator and without a sign outside, is still considered a monument from the City of Rome, that is, unfortunately, the reason why we are not able to put a big sign outside, nor to renovate the stairs. Though, our rooms (which are considered our private property) are fully renovated and cleant maniacally every day.

Via Panisperna is the oldest Roman street and, for the same criterion of our building, numbers cannot be touched and for ALL Via Panisperna, unfortunately, there is nothing that we can do about it...

Actually, something we do already! In fact, as written everywhere (especially here in TripAdvisor), on our official website, there are all the specific directions on how to reach us and we even made a video on YouTube called "how to reach hotel de monti from termini" that could be helpful!

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First of all, as other have pointed out, this is not a luxury hotel, it's been reflected in the price. But if you choose to stay here, you can expect to receive really good service and help with getting around Rome. I travelled with my boyfriend and we were very grateful for the help Angelo has given us. He remembered our plans well and was very informative. He gave us lots of travel tips which proved to be useful to avoid scams and to get good food. It gave me the overall impression that he did his best to help us and that is very important if you want to fit as many activities as possible into a rather tight timetable.

One thing that must be noted is that in Rome, it is not easy to find a safe way to store your money - it could get stolen even if you keep it in the hotel safe (which happened to a friend of mine). The staff of this place were truly friendly and trustworthy (they even refused tips!). My boyfriend and I had no problem with keeping our money in our room.

As for the hardware, the hotel is located on the 3rd floor and you will have to walk up the stairs to get to it. There is no elevator. The room we got was very nice. We requested a quiet room before and Angelo duly arranged for us. It was small but very clean and comfortable. It was naturally cool even when the AC was not on. The coolness was much needed because Rome in summer is really, really hot! They offer a good selection for breakfast - you can order whatever you want on the menu, as much as you want - but be sure to get the cappuccino! It was really nice and was the highlight of the breakfast for me.

Finally, the location is great for transportation but also good for grabbing a bite. There are a number of restaurants in the neighbourhood and most of them appeared to be popular among locals. Try Via Cavour / Via del Boschetto. However don't forget that they are closed for the afternoon and only reopen at 7pm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you so much Irina for such a wonderful, helpful review!

Check-in is ONLY at 1pm-6pm (not possible a different time check-in) and reception is opened 1pm-8pm.

Thanks also for informing we are at the third floor wit no elevators, we add that we have no sign outside, so our official website becomes the best option to get directions or YouTube searching "how to reach hotel de monti from termini".

Alway at your complete disposal to show how Rome has to be visited like you are Romans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I visited this Hotel last week based on TripAdvisors reviews and it lived up to all the great reviews we had read. From the moment we arrived to drop off our luggage we were greeted by friendly staff, we were allowed to use a super clean restroom, they provided us with a map, and gave us the information needed to start our visit to Rome.
Room was small but very clean and just perfect for our needs. Withing walking distance to Termini and most sites.
Mauro has the best tips on restaurants, where to get tickets and any other helpful information you might possibly need to take full advantage of your visit. I will definitely go back.
Hotel is on the third floor of an old building, but do not let this scare you. It is worth the climb!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hi Clo and thank you very much for the review!

All our rooms are 17 meters squared, small but even bigger than the Roman standards.

Thanks also for informing everybody that we are at the third floor without elevator: we add that we have no sign outside and to easily find us please go on our official webite to get directions or on YouTube search a video called "how to reach hotel de monti from termini".

Also, our limited check-in time is ONLY 1pm-6pm and all later check-ins will be considered cancellations.

Until the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night in Rome and we were glad we picked this hotel. It is centrally located, close to Termini, the room was delightful and the staff could not have been more welcoming. Thanks Angelo and everybody else at the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hello Mr Rob and thank you very much for the review!

Let us though remind everyone is reading that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that, not having a sign outside, the only way to get direction is our official website or a YouTube video called "how to reach Hotel de Monti from termini".

Also, our limited check-in time is ONLY 1pm to 6pm and all later check-ins will be considered cancellations.

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for the past 5 nights and overall we have been very happy with our time here.

First of all let me be clear, if you are looking for 5 Star luxury and 24 hour room service then this is not the place for you. If you, like us, are looking for somewhere clean, central and safe to sleep and eat breakfast whilst spending the rest of the day out exploring then this is a great choice.

I would like to pay particular thanks to our host, Mauro. He has always been very helpful and accommodating. He has made recommendations to us about traveling around Rome as well as good authentic, local dinner haunts. His advice has been spot on every time. He also speaks English fluently which is nice after a day of communicating in my broken Italian.

The only caveat I would place on this hotel is that you need to walk up three flights of stairs to get here. This is fine but may be in an issue if you are elderly or unfit. I jokingly asked Mauro about getting a lift and he correctly pointed out that 'it is a little difficult when the building was built before your country was discovered'. Touché Mauro.

Another fun fact is that with just 7 rooms this is officially the smallest hotel in Rome! Does this mean anything? No, but it helps you one up your friends when you are having dinner conversations about your vacanze romana!

We will definitely consider staying here again on our next visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello Joseph,

usually, we reply posting information useful for who's considering if reserving or not...what you wrote down, says everything!!!!

Let us just add the check-in time: it is ONLY from 1pm to 6pm with no possibilities for a late check-in. All later check-ins will be considered cancellations.

See you next time!!!

P:S: a personal hug from Mauro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#92 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#123 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#19 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#67 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing