We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are a Nutella fan go here!”
Review of Quinto Gelateria

Quinto Gelateria
Ranked #21 of 858 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: The icecream shop 'da Quinto', as we know it today, was born after World War II, about in 1949, but there was already a shop in 1915 that sold olives and fusaglie(lupins) in winter and pastries and ice cream in summer. The passion creating a genuine product remained unchanged in the years. Streets around piazza Navona was part of a popular and common area, with small workshops and taverns. Quinto is a shop of homemade products. The rice ice cream, prepared in a cauldron, like grandmas made for the children, the black chocolate with its ancient recipe ever changed, the typical tasty hazelnut of caprarola(VT) are just a few examples of the 'simplicity' of the products. By choice, it could not be otherwise, the shop prepares an authentic ice-cream, of a natural compactness, without hydrogenated fats, kept in an old typical fridge, a genuine and copious amount of ice cream served to the public by the same people who prepare it. Since 1984, the year in which were installed the blenders, Quinto became famous also for smoothies, fruit salads and for its yoghurt, prepared with fresh season fruit.
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Went one morning in the search for crepes for breakfast and we were not disappointed, we would highly recommend the Nutella and banana crepe, it is massive and delicious, excellent value for money!
We were so impressed with the crepes that we went back in the afternoon and tried the ice cream and again we were not disappointed and delighted as the woman serving is remembered us from the morning she was super friendly.
You should definitely visit this place if you are in the area.

Thank KyllieM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daquintoice, Proprietario at Quinto Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Thanks a lot!
Two visits in a day is a beautiful compliment for us. Nutella and banana is a perfect combo for the crepes but also for a good milkshake, energy and sweetness before starting to walk in Rome.
We are proud to be honest with our products and with our prices.
Arrivederci! :)
Quinto gelateria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 75 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Delicious gelato. We even went back for a second time when we found ourselves in the Piazza Navona area again. The hazelnut was my absolute favourite!

Thank Emma_RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daquintoice, Proprietario at Quinto Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Thank you!
We are happy to have left you a good memory the first time that you have known our shop.
The hazelnuts that we use for the ice cream grows at less then 100 km from Rome and are very tasty.
We wait you next time!
Quinto's staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Only in Rome 3 days and we sampled some gelato but quite honestly this was the friendliest service and simply the best ice cream I have tasted in a very long time - every mouthful was a delight. If you are in the area - slightly off from Piazza Navona, go here.
The selection is perhaps not quite as comprehensive as the commercial gelaterias (Grom for example) but it is large enough to salivate most palates. The Cassata was divine. Enjoy.

Thank TinpusherCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daquintoice, Proprietario at Quinto Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Thank you very much!
We are in a touristic area, we know, but we are proud to be apreciated from local people and fortunately from all the people that the our products!
We are honest with everybody and friendly because we like our job and we are happy to see so many smiles in our shop!
See you next time!
Quinto's family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Best gelato in Rome by far. So many favours and great staff. No wonder they've been going 100 years!

Thank Kat702015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daquintoice, Proprietario at Quinto Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Thanks a lot!
We are an old home made family shop but we do our job with the enthusiasm of the first day.
See you in your next trip in Rome.
Quinto gelateria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

101 years of doing a gelato !
No need to talk a lot after this !
Very refreshing gelatos , the fruits taste is fresh i tasted the nutella gelato with banana , the nutella was so yummy !

Thank Pheobeab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daquintoice, Proprietario at Quinto Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thank you so much,
More then 100 years but we feel like we have just open.
We make gelato everyday with passion, dedication and joy.
Nutella and banana is a perfect match! ;)
Arrivederci!
Quinto's staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quinto Gelateria also viewed

 

Been to Quinto Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing