We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not worth the price”
Review of Chocolat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chocolat Inn
Ranked #699 of 3,642 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok but not worth the price”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Booked this place because of the good reviews in here. Always read the worst reviews first. Not so great as the reviews say. Feels like going to someones house and the breakfast is quite worthless at least if you dont want to start your day with pure paistries. Some fruit or something would be appreciated. Rooms and the bathroom were clean and nice but the tiny television doesnt really add any extra value. Ok experiment but not as nice as indicated here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katariina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    52
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
51
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Room was very good located within minutes from Termini statation and from there convenient transportation to many touristic places.
Carolina which is the owner serves us very nice by providing valuable information
Room was clean and ordered , breakfast was tasty (especially the coffee which was free during all day )

Gadi and Nurit – Israel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a last minute booking and not my first choice, but the hotel was in a great location within walking distance of the Colosseum and Forum. Actually, we walked to everything from this hotel. The room was adequate, with A/C, but somewhat noisy. The bathroom was small and the shower stall door not working very well. The owner, Roberta, met us initially, but we never saw her again in 5 days. Christina, who put out the breakfast rolls and coffee and cleaned the rooms, was there each day until early afternoon. Although Christina was friendly and helpful, she had been living there only about a year (from Romania), and it would have been nice to have seen Roberta there a little more than once during our stay. A good thing was the little grocery right outside the door....we could buy some drinks and other items fairly inexpensively. Breakfast was on the "not much" scale (unappetizing rolls and a few pastries), but likely similar to what Italians offer at many small hotels. We thought this was expensive for the room, but we couldn't be picky since it was last minute.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I had a wonderful time at Chocolate inn, thanks to Christina , my hostess while Roberta took some days off. The room and bathroom was clean and just what I wanted.centrally located , close enough to everything that you can walk to all the sights. The breakfast was what I heard of before I booked....and it did not disappoint ....wonderfully warm baked pastries every morning with good coffee. Thank you, I will be back

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street , those can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hennie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had 6 people (all women) traveling in our party. Roberta (Owner) was kind enough to offer to book us a Shuttle from Rome airport to the Chocolat Inn for 60euros. I wish I had taken her up on it, as it cost us 90Euro for a van to transport us from the airport to the B&B. Lesson learned!

Upon arrival Roberta was there to greet us, our rooms were not ready but she allowed us to use a room to change and leave our bags to go exploring the city of Rome. She offered us expresso and provided us a map with bus information, as well as local restaurants to eat at. Both she and her assistant were very accomodating. Her restaurant recommendations were exceptional!

Our rooms where very clean, we booked the quad room and a double. The quad does face the street, and if you sleep with the windows open, can be noisy. But with the windows closed and the AC on, the noise disappeared.

In the evening we were invited to use the kitchen as if our own. My family and I sat at the table and drank wine and played games. It was a wonderful way to relax after a long day on a flight and touring Rome.

Breakfast was wonderful. Homemade Jams, fresh Pastries and delicous Americano coffee.

After breakfast, we asked to store our bags so we could go exploring once more before our train trip to Lucca, Italy. Again very accomodating and Roberta was happy to oblige.

Wifi was a bit spotty, worked well in the lobby and sometimes while in the room. But I didn't go to Italy to surf the net.

There is a Lift, however, we did not use. We were able to carry our bags up the stairs. Property is close to the Termini and Ancient Rome. There is a store right next door for water or snacks (and groceries,if needed).

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Booked this on account of finding a good deal for Rome at the last minute, not easy as Rome is an expensive place. This was the perfect stopover for a couple of nights, more like a chilled out home environment. Roberta's assistant Cristina was on duty as I arrived, who was thoroughly helpful, going through all the major sites on a map, and recommended local (ie. not touristy) restaurants and cafes. Everything was just easy, which I can't stress enough how important that is when you are on a flying visit. Rooms are clean, beds are big and comfortable, and the breakfast the next morning huge and delicious, the usual (fabulous) coffee and juices and a selection of wonderful home-made pastries, as has been mentioned elsewhere. Nothing disappointed. met Roberta on the final morning, who was lively, friendly and helpful. It just felt cosy :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberciku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2013

OK, I don't want to be over critical but I feel that other peoples experience ,if honest, can help readers avoid over rated comments which I was taken in by.
So we arrived though late because the place is so hard to find wet from the rain to find that our room was not available, excuse given shower head broken, needs replacing and will be done for you to move into the next morning, however I will give you a larger room but the toilet seat is broken but will be fixed this afternoon, was it NO.
We moved the next morning, well not really as the room needed cleaning apparently, appeared to have been occupied, so we were asked to leave our cases in the room and they would be moved for us.
After a long day arrived back to the room, Shower head not fixed, room was clean, TV crap unless you are a fluent in Italian, i.e. not even BBC world news/Euro news.
Breakfast was very average, no cereals/toast and no juice the second morning.
Meet the owner once on arrival and that was it.
Would I stay there again !No! price way to high for what was on offer. Location was very good is all the best I can say. Oh yes and finally watch out for the prices of a cappuccino around Rome they vary from 1-7+euros

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#88 of 3,642 in Rome
533 reviews
Monti
Gulliver's Lodge
Gulliver's Lodge
#872 of 3,642 in Rome
152 reviews
Monti
B&B Gaudium Roma
B&B Gaudium Roma
#942 of 3,642 in Rome
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Relais Forus Inn
Relais Forus Inn
#55 of 3,642 in Rome
624 reviews
Monti
Cesare Balbo Inn
Cesare Balbo Inn
#364 of 3,642 in Rome
238 reviews
Monti
La Scalinatella B&B
La Scalinatella B&B
#490 of 3,642 in Rome
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chocolat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolat Inn

Property: Chocolat Inn
Address: Via Cavour 184, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #699 of 3,642 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chocolat Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Chocolat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing