We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Chocolat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chocolat Inn
Ranked #780 of 3,739 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was nervous traveling by myself for the first time, but Roberta and Christina made me feel right at home. The breakfast was sparse, but tasty, with the classic Nutella and pastries. The room and bathroom were clean, and cool enough for me, even in the heat of August.

The location was great: close to touristy sites, quieter places to relax for a bit, and plenty of restaurants and gelato shops. Not far from the metro, either.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Small but comfortable rooms, near the bus station, near the subway and most sights. Very friendly feels like home.. delicious breakfast!! Christina and Roberta will help you for the sights and for nightlife too..

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank kat p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a great little B and B. Location is great, right near the Colosseum. Close to the trainstation and near metro. Roberta and Christine were great. We saw Christine much more often since she was in the breakfast room every day.
We had a quad room, it had a double or queen bed and bunk beds. This worked great for us, since we had a 6 year old who thought the bunk beds were the coolest thing ever. We also had a friend visit us so she stayed in our room. Roberta was also kind enough to get us a pack and play for the baby.
There is a little grocery store right next to the room as well as laundry and several good restaurants.

The only issues we had was our toilet seemed to be missing a screw or something and it would slide around whenever anyone sat on it. We never said anything so I don't know if they would have fixed it or not. In our room we couldn't get wifi to work on our phones or ipads since the signal wasn't strong enough. It did work great in the main areas though. Also we didn't have any English channels on the tv but really who goes on vacation to watch tv.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Booked this place because of the good reviews in here. Always read the worst reviews first. Not so great as the reviews say. Feels like going to someones house and the breakfast is quite worthless at least if you dont want to start your day with pure paistries. Some fruit or something would be appreciated. Rooms and the bathroom were clean and nice but the tiny television doesnt really add any extra value. Ok experiment but not as nice as indicated here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Katariina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Room was very good located within minutes from Termini statation and from there convenient transportation to many touristic places.
Carolina which is the owner serves us very nice by providing valuable information
Room was clean and ordered , breakfast was tasty (especially the coffee which was free during all day )

Gadi and Nurit – Israel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gadi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a last minute booking and not my first choice, but the hotel was in a great location within walking distance of the Colosseum and Forum. Actually, we walked to everything from this hotel. The room was adequate, with A/C, but somewhat noisy. The bathroom was small and the shower stall door not working very well. The owner, Roberta, met us initially, but we never saw her again in 5 days. Christina, who put out the breakfast rolls and coffee and cleaned the rooms, was there each day until early afternoon. Although Christina was friendly and helpful, she had been living there only about a year (from Romania), and it would have been nice to have seen Roberta there a little more than once during our stay. A good thing was the little grocery right outside the door....we could buy some drinks and other items fairly inexpensively. Breakfast was on the "not much" scale (unappetizing rolls and a few pastries), but likely similar to what Italians offer at many small hotels. We thought this was expensive for the room, but we couldn't be picky since it was last minute.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I had a wonderful time at Chocolate inn, thanks to Christina , my hostess while Roberta took some days off. The room and bathroom was clean and just what I wanted.centrally located , close enough to everything that you can walk to all the sights. The breakfast was what I heard of before I booked....and it did not disappoint ....wonderfully warm baked pastries every morning with good coffee. Thank you, I will be back

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street , those can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hennie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#206 of 1,271 in Rome
1,075 reviews
Esquilino
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,271 in Rome
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
A&F Colosseo
A&F Colosseo
#1,167 of 3,739 in Rome
30 reviews
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#70 of 3,739 in Rome
570 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#446 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chocolat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolat Inn

Address: Via Cavour 184, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #780 of 3,739 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £44 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chocolat Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chocolat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing