We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you ok with sacrificing service for a cheaper price? Well then you may like this place”
Review of Altamira B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altamira B&B
Ranked #2,550 of 3,781 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Terrible service, emphasis on terrible. They are not available to you except during check in, and not very accommodating. There's NO option to hold luggage before or after check in. We wanted to have our bags held for about an hour and they wouldn't even try to accommodate that request so we had to bring our heavy bags to the Vatican. You are in one room of this guy's house and are given 'his soaps' and so forth. WiFi does NOT work anywhere, except in the corner of the hallway. The room smelled clean and it includes the basic necessities. You also share your bathroom with the other rooms. Breakfast is at a cafe down the street, which is croissants and coffee, but we liked it. The staff there didn't seem too tolerant of us as soon as we started speaking English and just rolled their eyes when we asked what the breakfast included like we should know. It's not fun to have the breakfast at another location considering your check out time is 10 am and you might have to bring all of your luggage to another location like we did.

Even though it is listed for a cheap price it's not worth it. You can spend ten more euro and find a place that is much more accommodating, has a luggage drop and where the staff is available.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Roma1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very friendly owners, clean rooms with air condition, good made bathroom. I was a little bit afraid about sharing bathroom with other room, but during our visit time there was only one man and ever I haven't seen him at all :-).

Close to the Vatican. You will got the ticket for breakfast is close bar (behind two corners) - although some people wrote here that kind of breakfast is a little bit poor, we were satisfied. We could choice between cafe latte, capuccino, americano, we got a big croissat, a glass of juice and a cake. What to wish more for starting day in Roma? :-)

Don't be afraid about sharing an apartment with the owners, they have their own rooms to a private part of aparment, so you can't meet them at all (if you want).

Also I have to say we could use fridge, make coffee or take some cakes in shared area. We were completely satisfied with price/comfort comparation.

Room Tip: They have one room with its own bathroom and two rooms which share one bathroom. I think two rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard_spitzer_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

It's close to Vatican City and to a subway station. We had the Santa Maria room, with private bathroom (although the access it's from the hallway). The room was very clean and well organized. The owner it's very friendly and helpfull.
The breakfast it was just a coffee and a croissant - literally, but we did know about that so it's not really a minus. Into the hallway you have a microwave oven and some snacks. The room it's equiped with a AC unit.

Room Tip: I think that the only room with a private bathroom it's Santa Maria... so ask for that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ciro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giuseppe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: attention aux avis d'étrangers ,ils n'ont pas les mêmes critères que nous (idem repas!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markoye83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chiara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,112 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,549 of 3,781 in Rome
16 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#223 of 1,271 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,483 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#100 of 1,271 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamira B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamira B&B

Address: Via di San Tommaso d'Aquino 90, 00136 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,550 of 3,781 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Altamira B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing