We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Ranked #177 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Arbroath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel fantastic location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay in residenza in Farnese . First time visitors to Rome and what a fantastic place to stay . The location is perfect, we walked to all the main attractions in less than half an hour . The hotel is lovely very very clean and comfortable and the staff are excellent , nothing is too much trouble. Our room was beautiful overlooking a quiet street , away from the noise of the city. The breakfast room is like an old fashioned tea room, with a varied selection of continental choices. A two minute walk and you are at a lively piatzza with market and shops and restaurants but just keep walking as round the next corner is another one , more beautiful than the last . We will return to Rome and definitely return to the hotel residenza. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    287
    89
    16
    15
See reviews for
116
338
44
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stopped in this hotel within 5 days. location is very good, just between Vatican and the Colosseum, all other interesting places too nearby. As around it is beautiful and silent, it seemed to us more pleasantly, than in the area Plaza Spain, for example. location is perfect, we will stop next time in this area. The hotel could be pleasant very much if it wasn't necessary to change room, and at once us would occupy in the second option, we would be delighted! As the initial room at all wasn't pleasant, small and absolutely ugly, on a photo it isn't present. Green colored wall-paper and plastic squares on a ceiling. Five days to see it it would be intolerable. But when to us replaced the room, very much it was pleasant to us! It was more and very authentic. Breakfasts quite good, were pleasant different beautiful tea couples. And very much, very lovely, sincere, helpful and friendly receptionists staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a long-standing reservation at Hotel Residenza in Farnese for three nights, September 28 to October 1, 2013 following a two week stay in Sicily. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that they "had a problem" related to our reservation and were sending us to another hotel for one night. After some discussion, we were advised that an email had been sent notifying us of this "problem". Unfortunately, the email came while we were on our flight to Rome from Sicily, contributing to the misunderstanding. However, management was proactive and already booked a room for us at Albergo Santa Chiara, paid the taxi driver to and from Hotel Residenza. We were charged Hotel Residenza's nightly rate, not Santa Chiara's. Problem solved. The explanation for the hotel change was a boiler issue. We did return the next day and were pleased with the remainder of our stay.

We chose Hotel Residenza for it's location, right off Piazza Farnese. We found the hotel to be comfortable, quiet, a bit eclectic in it's décor and providing a nice selection of breakfast foods. Our room was a reasonable sized queen with wardrobe, no closet, a small frigo honor bar, desk and nightstands. The bath was shower only, extremely clean with sufficient bath products and towels.

Despite the initial miscommunication, the staff was always responsive, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool ,England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here because of the location and the price..- its very central to the places we wanted to visit in Rome - we walked everywhere very easily. The room was quite small and not at all like the photos on here but we didnt spend a lot of time in the room so it didnt really bother us . The receptionist was always helpful and attentive if required. Our room was clean and was cleaned every day. The breakfast wasnt the best but it was ok there was plenty of it . It consisted of cereals , bread rolls , yoghurts. ham and eggs, little tiny cakes , fruit and the usual tea ,coffee and fruit juice . It filled a hole but wasnt tasty, could be improved but saying that for the price we paid it was a lot cheaper than a lot of other 4 star hotels in rome maybe the food is the reason why ?. Now the best bit ...the location... we were just across the bridge to trastevere area which is lovely for eating and drinking we walked to this area nearly every evening it only took 5-10 minutes. It took us 15 minutes to walk to Vatican and 5-10 minutes to centre of Rome . It really was set well back from the hustle and bustle of the city but with the advantage of only being mins away. We had free wifi in the hotel and there is food market just in the square 1 minute away every day . We enjoyed our stay and would return if we came back to Rome. We would also recommend to friends. Not a bad find at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choccy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our group of 10 just returned from two nights at the Hotel Residenza In Farnese. We really enjoyed the experience. First of all, it couldn't have been in a better location. 10-15 minute walk to Ancient Rome and the Pantheon. 20 minutes from the Vatican - tops. Surrounded by beautiful piazza's full of life (and restaurants!). The area Farnese around is nice because its alot more calm than the rest of Rome. We also ran into alot of real Roman's in this area - not just tourists - which was a nice change compared to other areas of Rome. There was a market a half a block away both mornings that sold all kinds of great stuff (vegetables, wine, pasta, ceramics, etc). The rooms were nice as well. Our room was on the small side but overlooked the street. The bathroom looked to have been recently renovated. Small but adequate. The breakfast room was beautiful and the breakfast was extensive. Really good food each morning to keep you going for much of the day. It was a great place to meet other travellers and enjoy that great Italian coffee. Everyone who works at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOakvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

The pictures of the hotel are a big lie of photoshop. The room we got was very old & small. The bathroom was dissent, but the room furniture were old and poor, and the smell of the room was terrible. It was depressing and we decided to go and look for another hotel. We had to pay the full night charge (as we booked this hotel ahead). When I told the reception the room doesn't look like the pictures she didn't offer any compensation. Actually she offered that we will pay more for superior room. Eventually, we found a better hotel, totally another league, just for 50 euros more per night...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EladG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a great place to stay: very friendly staff, great breakfast, clean rooms, WIFI, air conditioning, and a terrific neighborhood that is very quiet. Above all, it's a great value too. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceefair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#119 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#172 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Monte Cenci Hotel
Monte Cenci Hotel
#97 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenza In Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenza In Farnese

Property: Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Address: Via del Mascherone 59, Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residenza In Farnese 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Residenza In Farnese stands between Piazza Farnese and Via Giulia in the heart of Rome. The building belonged in times past to the Teutonic Knights Military order of the Blessed Virgin. In the 18th century the palace became property of the Sinibaldi Family who restored the Fagade in its original style giving to more prestige and importance. Today this old monastery houses a cozy hotel of 31 rooms in their original layout and fitted with poor art furniture made in the northern Italian region of Veneto and antique furniture restored by skillful craftsmen who also enhanced the household furnishings and the finely decorated china and glassware. The splendid frescoes that embellish some rooms contribute to create an atmosphere of past times. The passion for art and restoration is accomplished by two ladies Marisella and Carla who run the Residenza in Farnese with particular care offer guests a warm and prestigious welcome. The professional hotel staff will do their best to satisfy all guests requirements with courtesy. La Residenza in Farnese your home in Rome offers a pleasant stay with a friendly homely atmosphere and the charm of an ancient house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Residenza In Farnese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing