We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hell hole! Please DO NOT book this place”
Review of Montreal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montreal Hotel
Ranked #741 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hell hole! Please DO NOT book this place”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Don’t really complain about things in life! But could not help it’s been 2 years we stayed there and the memories are still fresh.

Can't belive myself I paid that much for this place, could have booked Marriott or similar in that price but, nothing was available for 5 nights for the required dates, hence paid the price.

If you are thinking of booking this place PLEASE DON’T, the rooms very smelly & filthy. Bed/mattress was as if we were sleeping on the floor, asked to replace the mattress but, no luck!
A friend came in for 10-15 minutes before we were going out, and we were told off by the receptionist as if we have committed some crime! Ok it may be the law in Rome that you have to advise reception about visitors, not sure if the receptionist was taught or trained how to speak with your guest.

Room was bad
Staff was rude and nasty

HELL HOLE! PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rufi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    132
    107
    27
    20
See reviews for
60
177
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were taking a transatlantic cruise so we decided to visit Rome for a week before our departure. Having stayed at Montreal Hotel ten years ago and on the advice of friends being here recently we decided to book the week here. It was a great week. The hotel is just what we expected since our previous visit. We had a main floor room looking out at a street corner towards the church plaza. The room was exceptionally large for a European hotel and quiet too. Breakfast was more than enough and varied so we enjoyed it for the full week. The location us fabulous. It is close to the train station from which we went to Florence for a day, dining, tourist sites, subway, grocery stores etc. Johnny at the front desk was great helping us with answers for the many questions and directions we had. We definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoser7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Tx
Level Contributor
190 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I rated this hotel with a five not because it is a five star hotel but because it is an excellent value for the money in quality and location. It is the second time we have stayed here and would go back again. It is near the central train station but not too close, about 5 blocks but toward the center of the historic center. The terminal is the center for the trains, the metro, busses, and a rental car center.

What I liked the most was the staff. They were very professional but friendly and helpful. The rooms and baths were nice sized but this is Europe not the USA. Very clean. There were several restaurants close buy and a good gelato stand very close. (a requirement)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandbevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Montreal Hotel on Via Carlo Alberto in Rome, Italy was very conveniently located just a short walk from the Rome Termini railroad station and very close to Metro stops on both the A Line and the Line. The desk clerks were very helpful with local directions and calling a cab for us. The breakfasts were good, but lacking protein (no hard boiled eggs or meat). Overall, our 3-night stay was very satisfactory. I would stay here again and I would recommend Montreal Hotel to my friends and family.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fullerton, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was our 3rd stay in 6 yrs. We keep coming back because of the location and it continues to be a decent value in Rome. In response to the noise that other reviewers have had an issue with, you are in a big city within walking distance to almost all of the sites, you cannot expect total silence. The only time we took the Metro was to go to the Vatican, everything else we walked to. We were a fit party of 5, so walking was not a problem. We had 3 room rented on this visit and all were clean. The decor is older, but that is part of the charm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plumeriafullerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hotel generally okay apart from the noise at night from outside. Woken up most nights by either a car alarm or by the bins being emptied at 1 in the morning. The other thing that was annoying was the air conditioning. The unit was old and noisy and was generally useless. It was placed next to the window so all the cool air went straight out the window. The room itself was comfortable and breakfast was adequate. For the price this hotel is just fine. It's close to all the major sites. You can walk to most in under 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Get your room at the back of the hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdonald72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel is an older style with narrow hallways and small elevator yet has a somewhat quant charm. The room was clean and adequately furnished although a bit small. The staff was courteous and helpful and I would stay there again due to modest price and convenient location near Termini Station and Metro.

Room Tip: Handicap persons may be able to secure a ground floor room with advance request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#595 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#348 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,036 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel RomAntica
Hotel RomAntica
#521 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#200 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#337 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Hotel

Property: Montreal Hotel
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #741 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montreal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Montreal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing