We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ver good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Montreal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montreal Hotel
Ranked #719 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
123 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Ver good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I liked very much the location, it was really really good. Close to Maria Maggiore, to the buses too.
The room was OK, not great but reasonable nonetheless. Even though the pictures looked of course much better than in reality, but as it tends to be. We were on the third floor so we had a nice view, but not against Maria Maggiore, but nice nonetheless.
The breakfast was OK, a bit like a little buffet with cheeses and pâté. And the sweet stuff for those who want it. Flakes too.
The wifi was a little slow, sometimes disappeared altogether, but we were not there for to surf, just watch the email so that was OK too.
The garden on the other hand was really unkempt, pity because it would be really nice there. But dirty it was, ashtrays not emptied, flowers needed to take better care of.
The toilet seat was less than toilet self, did not sit properly fixed either, so it was a bit uncomfortable, I can say.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khamlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    132
    106
    27
    19
See reviews for
58
177
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Once we found Via Carlo Alberto, we enjoyed the Montreal Hotel Roma. The front desk staff were kind, knowledgeable & always available. Their breakfast café was very well-appointed with juices, fruits, pastry, cheese & a very kind gentleman pulling perfect cappuccinos. An added bonus? This lovely little hotel is less than two blocks from the most gorgeously famous church full of mosaic art: Santa Maria Maggiore. Stay here. Enjoy Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The lobby and elevator looked shabby. Once you step out of the elevator into the hallways, the environment is much more visually appealing and you'd be surprised by the sudden fancy transition from the lobby to the hallway. The hotel room that my family of five had looked quite fancy to our eyes. There were high ceilings with long curtains for the windows, sleek tiled floor, well-made large beds, ,and a polished-looking bathroom. CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN (the hallways and the hotel room)! The hotel room was also very spacious. The hotel also provided free breakfast when we were there. The breakfast choices were okay... I found the bread there hard and stale. The staff were very friendly and fluent in English!

7 min. walk from Roma Termini (train station) and couple blocks from closest subway (not bad).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iglowindadark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Don’t really complain about things in life! But could not help it’s been 2 years we stayed there and the memories are still fresh.

Can't belive myself I paid that much for this place, could have booked Marriott or similar in that price but, nothing was available for 5 nights for the required dates, hence paid the price.

If you are thinking of booking this place PLEASE DON’T, the rooms very smelly & filthy. Bed/mattress was as if we were sleeping on the floor, asked to replace the mattress but, no luck!
A friend came in for 10-15 minutes before we were going out, and we were told off by the receptionist as if we have committed some crime! Ok it may be the law in Rome that you have to advise reception about visitors, not sure if the receptionist was taught or trained how to speak with your guest.

Room was bad
Staff was rude and nasty

HELL HOLE! PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rufi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were taking a transatlantic cruise so we decided to visit Rome for a week before our departure. Having stayed at Montreal Hotel ten years ago and on the advice of friends being here recently we decided to book the week here. It was a great week. The hotel is just what we expected since our previous visit. We had a main floor room looking out at a street corner towards the church plaza. The room was exceptionally large for a European hotel and quiet too. Breakfast was more than enough and varied so we enjoyed it for the full week. The location us fabulous. It is close to the train station from which we went to Florence for a day, dining, tourist sites, subway, grocery stores etc. Johnny at the front desk was great helping us with answers for the many questions and directions we had. We definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoser7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Tx
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I rated this hotel with a five not because it is a five star hotel but because it is an excellent value for the money in quality and location. It is the second time we have stayed here and would go back again. It is near the central train station but not too close, about 5 blocks but toward the center of the historic center. The terminal is the center for the trains, the metro, busses, and a rental car center.

What I liked the most was the staff. They were very professional but friendly and helpful. The rooms and baths were nice sized but this is Europe not the USA. Very clean. There were several restaurants close buy and a good gelato stand very close. (a requirement)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandbevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Montreal Hotel on Via Carlo Alberto in Rome, Italy was very conveniently located just a short walk from the Rome Termini railroad station and very close to Metro stops on both the A Line and the Line. The desk clerks were very helpful with local directions and calling a cab for us. The breakfasts were good, but lacking protein (no hard boiled eggs or meat). Overall, our 3-night stay was very satisfactory. I would stay here again and I would recommend Montreal Hotel to my friends and family.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#607 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#354 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,047 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel RomAntica
Hotel RomAntica
#523 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#195 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#319 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Hotel

Property: Montreal Hotel
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #719 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montreal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montreal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing