We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in central Rome”
Review of Borromeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borromeo Hotel
Ranked #258 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value in central Rome”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location, within a 15 minute walk to much of the main attractions in Rome including the Coliseum and Spanish Steps. Small rooms but very clean and not much noise throughout the night. Lots of good restaurants close by. Staff are kind and helpful and can provide you with a walking map of Rome with highlights. Breakfast was nice, brewed coffee, juice, yogurt, fruits, eggs and bacon, bread, pastries, cold meats. It's very relaxing to have breakfast and a coffee on the outdoor terrace area next to the breakfast dining room.

Only complaint is you have to hold the shower head to take a shower. There is no place to set the shower head high up and take a proper shower. If this was added I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Mr.Thomas,

we'd like to thank you for your positive review of our hotel.
We are happy you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our services and breakfast.
We checked the shower head and we immediately fixed it, so thanks for your advise.
Hope to see you again soon,
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    408
    150
    52
    47
See reviews for
270
519
63
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Location, location, location! Also good value for money. The staff was very helpful and polite, especially Igor. He is very knowledgeable about the city, and always eager to help or make an espresso. My family and I definitely took advantage of the rooftop terrace! Very lovely and relaxing!
My only complaint would be the noise on Via Cavour at night. If you keep the windows closed at night they do keep sound out well, but you may find it difficult to sleep with windows open. But overall we definitely had a positive experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladychopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setauket, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed 6 nights at Hotel Borromeo while we toured Rome. The location is convienent to the Train and Metro line. There were two bus routes (71 & 75) that pass nearby, so getting around town was easy. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially Igor Gutu who was eager to make our stay pleasant.

I would definitely use this hotel on my next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The staff at hotel Borromeo are very helpful and requests are attended to immediately.
Thank you Gigi, Alesandro, Igor, Silvana and signora who prepared breakfast. Location of the hotel was great. from the Hettrick Family

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Theresa,

we are happy for such a great review and for you enjoyed your vacation in Rome.
We are glad you liked our services and staff, this is the best compliment for our work.
We hope to see you again in Rome,
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Borromeo was in a very ideal part of Rome. However the internet system is just awful. High speed barely worked in our room and You must have a code for each device you have, which doesn't seem like a big deal, but when you talking a family of four with two kids that each have have phones, iPads and laptops, it becomes a royal pain. The rooms were like sleeping in closets. Extremely tiny. Breakfast was average, nothing to brag about:-).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Mrs.Jennifer,
thank you for your review about our hotel.
We are glad you appreciated your stay despite the problem you had with the wi-fi.
In the period you stayed with us we didn't experienced any problem with the wi-fi system, we would have been happy to help you with if you would have informed us.
Anyway, we only would like to explain that for security reasons our system needs a different code for each device, which can be a "royal pain" as you said, but keep your connection more secure and private.
Hope to see you soon in Rome,
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Hotel Borromeo is on street very close to the colosseum and most other attractions, which we walked to. The only place we took a metro was to the Vatican - a 15 minute journey. The room was a decent size, decor is dated (think dark wood) but overall a bright room with a large window overlooking Via Cavour. The bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was satisfactory, shower was OK but a better shower head would have been great. The room had a TV - not many English tv channels though. We liked the breakfast, nothing fancy but a decent selection of ham, scrambled eggs, bread, cereal and yogurt etc. The staff are friendly and alway willing to help. Some good eating places nearby. I would recommend the Robin Hood bar and restaurant almost opposite the hotel (open until 2am) which do great pizzas. The restaurant next door Gallo Matto was pricey - partly my fault for not asking the price of items which the waiters were keen to recommend. Next to this is an extremely nice ice cream shop. Overall this was a good hotel. I won't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking via Cavour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratagiyadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location on Via Cavour and just a short walk from the Termini Station. All the main attractions are within walking distance although we took the Metro A to Vatican City. We had room 97 that was two rooms and a huge bathroom. Plenty of space for a family of five to move about but it is at an elevated ground level so was quite dark with little natural light and had a slight damp smell. The bathroom was huge and had the best shower ever which is perfect when you have been walking for miles that day! The bed linen was soft and fresh smelling and the bed was very comfortable although I would have preferred two pillows! Breakfast was served on a lovely roof terrace with an excellent selection - the perfect way to start a busy day. If you are a light sleeper you might have a problem with the traffic noise and rumble of the Metro B running underneath the hotel from 5.30am to 11.30pm. I would happily recommend this hotel for a family of 5 because we struggle sometimes to find accommodation that is a decent size.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ls3370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,258 in Rome
276 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#235 of 1,258 in Rome
593 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#291 of 1,258 in Rome
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#174 of 1,258 in Rome
560 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#367 of 1,258 in Rome
565 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#99 of 1,258 in Rome
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borromeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borromeo Hotel

Property: Borromeo Hotel
Address: 117 Via Cavour, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#229 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borromeo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borromeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borromeo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing