We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favoured location”
Review of Borromeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Borromeo Hotel
Ranked #264 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Favoured location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in May. Prices in the city were perhaps a bit high because of the England Rugby game.

I have stayed in this area before but not this hotel.

I had paid more for the Friday night. Not sure whether this was the reason I was given a small room with a skylight on arrival, Thursday, but told I would be moving on the second day.

Shower was bit tight otherwise bathroom fine.

On Friday I was moved to the adjacent room which was a suite of sorts with 2 bathrooms and 2 bed areas with a capacity of 5 beds perhaps. This happened whilst I was out during the day.
The 2 rooms were both on the ground floor but it was reasonably quiet given we are talking about the centre of a large city. Beds were comfortable.

Convenient for the main railway station and underground. Some decent bars and restaurants around. Walkable to some of the sights.

Didn’t eat or drink at the hotel. Would consider the hotel again dependant on price.

Ideally would have given 3.5 Good somewhere between Average and Very Good

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mr.Basil,

thanks for the good review of your stay in our hotel.
Prices may change day by day depending on our availability, so it is normal you may have different rates from a day to another.
This does not effect the type of room assigned.
Thanks andhope to see you again.
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    410
    153
    53
    47
See reviews for
274
522
64
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Borromeo in May 2014. Very helpful staff: Gigi went out of his way to assist in number of ways, the guy was amazing. His 2-minute review of the locations of key sights and locations was extraordinary for its completeness and brevity. Our rooms were clean and comfortable - our first room overlooked the street and it seemed a bit noisier than we liked so he moved us to an inside room that was terrific. The daily breakfast on the rooftop was quite good as well. I'd recommend this place for the value and service.

Room Tip: I'd request that kind of room here in the future - this particular one had a bathtub vs just a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Mr.Robert,

thank you very much for your time in posting your positive review of our hotel.
We are glad to know you appreciated you stay and liked our services.
As in your case, our staff is always ready to help clients with their needings, so we are happy you enjoyed your vacation.
Best Regards and hope to see you soon.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic 4 day trip to Rome with my sisters. We stayed in Hotel Borromeo and it was perfect for our holiday. Location is fantastic. It is very close to the Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica and only a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum. Gigi was on hand to answer any questions. He was very helpful and gave us a detailed map which he explained, after highlighting the popular spots. The hotel was an ideal base for our trip. It was comfortable and very clean. Thanks for everything !

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Mrs.Pauline,

we really appreciated your great review and we are happy you and your sisters had a fab time in Rome and enjoyed your stay with us.
We really hope to see you again soon ,
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Situated just minutes from the Colosseum and within walking distance of other attractions. Lots of good restaurants and bars nearby. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We were given a map when we checked in and were shown where various attractions were and the easiest way to reach them. Rooms were small, but clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and there was a wide variety to choose from and the restaurant was very nice with a lovely outside terrace. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol273290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mrs.Carol,

thank you very much for your review.
It's a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay in Rome and you had a fab experience in our hotel.
We are happy you appreciated the courtesy of the staff and the quality of the services incl. the breakfast.
We thank you again and hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel Borromeo this May 2014, its location is really good being a short, and i mean short walk from the Colosseum etc, the staff are really helpful and friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast was really good with a variety of hot, cold and sweet foods.There is nothing bad to say about this hotel and we would certainly go back there. THANKS TO ALL AT THE BORROMEO Mr Mr Johnston

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mr.Johnston,

we need to thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel.
We are glad you had a great stay with us and appreciated our services and the kindnessof our staff.
We hope to see you soon again,
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location, within a 15 minute walk to much of the main attractions in Rome including the Coliseum and Spanish Steps. Small rooms but very clean and not much noise throughout the night. Lots of good restaurants close by. Staff are kind and helpful and can provide you with a walking map of Rome with highlights. Breakfast was nice, brewed coffee, juice, yogurt, fruits, eggs and bacon, bread, pastries, cold meats. It's very relaxing to have breakfast and a coffee on the outdoor terrace area next to the breakfast dining room.

Only complaint is you have to hold the shower head to take a shower. There is no place to set the shower head high up and take a proper shower. If this was added I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Borromeo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Mr.Thomas,

we'd like to thank you for your positive review of our hotel.
We are happy you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our services and breakfast.
We checked the shower head and we immediately fixed it, so thanks for your advise.
Hope to see you again soon,
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Location, location, location! Also good value for money. The staff was very helpful and polite, especially Igor. He is very knowledgeable about the city, and always eager to help or make an espresso. My family and I definitely took advantage of the rooftop terrace! Very lovely and relaxing!
My only complaint would be the noise on Via Cavour at night. If you keep the windows closed at night they do keep sound out well, but you may find it difficult to sleep with windows open. But overall we definitely had a positive experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladychopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#293 of 1,263 in Rome
635 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#258 of 1,263 in Rome
600 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,263 in Rome
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#115 of 1,263 in Rome
1,099 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,263 in Rome
873 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#361 of 1,263 in Rome
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borromeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borromeo Hotel

Property: Borromeo Hotel
Address: 117 Via Cavour, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#229 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borromeo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Borromeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borromeo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing