We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ripa Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ripa Roma
Ranked #380 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed here with girlfriend for 2 nights! Very nice hotel, modern themed, easy to find. Room was spacious and clean, bed was nice too. Really liked the breakfast in the morning, plenty of choice (though I didn't find the crossaints very nice). Front desk was friendly and spoke great english.

Our flight home wasn't until the evening, but they let us leave our bags with them even though we had already checked out, which was great!

Also very close to the centre! Probably 15 minutes walk. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alfie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    587
    332
    136
    44
See reviews for
228
574
50
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend for just over a week and had an absolutely fantastic holiday.

It is situated about 15-20 minutes from central Rome with plenty of taxi ranks and bus stops on the way if you're feeling tired. You're given a map upon arrival of all of the landmarks in central Rome and the receptionists are always very helpful.

The rooms are spacious and clean and all have balconies and air conditioning.

The food in the restaurant was nice but expensive as you'd expect in Rome. My only gripe was that the wireless internet was quite expensive.

All in all a great holiday and I would re-visit the Ripa any time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DANEAVFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed here for two nights on a recent business trip. The pictures on the internet or the in-room brochure don't match the room where I stayed. The hotel is old, but there has been an attempt to update the design to a modern theme. This works well in the very nice breakfast room, which serves a decent buffet of hot and cold foods with lots of fresh fruits and breads. The modern theme works less well in the rooms. My room was a decent size, but a strange set up, with no real closet and a half wall in the middle of the room with the bed. The TV was at the foot of the bed on a padded bench. There was no work area. Lighting was insufficient, despite the large number of fixtures on the wall. The bathroom was very small and dated. The bed was not particularly comfortable and the over-starched linens had a heavy chemical smell. On a positive side, there was a small balcony. The front desk service was very good, even managing to arrange a taxi during the taxi strike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that resembles the pictures on the internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popovova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

As we looked at the pictures from the catalogue we (3 adult people) decided that this hotel would be a perfect choice; however, the reality was quite different.

From the outside the hotel looks very ugly but the lobby is well designed and clean. When we arrived, the receptionist was very nice and spoke English quite well; nevertheless, the first impression of our room was terrifyng since it was completely different from what we saw in the catalogue. I fully understand that one can not simply expect exactly the same rooms from the catalogues but this was like a nightmare. When we wanted to open the window we found a scaffolding in front of it carrying workers that were recostructing the building therefore we were not able to open that window for the whole vacation. The next thing was that one of us had to sleep in separated room, but the problem was that there was no bed, only a couch. When we tried to complain at the reception, the receptionist suddenly wasnt able to speak English and didnt understand what the problem was. After 15 minutes of our complaining we finally got extra bed but the staff helping us was very unpleasant. The biggest problem was the noise in the hotel lobby since one of us had to sleep in the room right behind the entrace doors to our room from the hall. After the first night we tried to get different room since sleeping in such conditions was almost impossible but we failed in that although the hotel almost empty (we were there in December).

The only positive facts were breakfasts and the possibility of buying tickets for Vatican museum and public transport. One has to admit that the breakfasts there were really great - very large selection of everything.

Definitely wont comeback there!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

The hotel looked very nice when we looked at the pictures on their wesites. So we booked it and were a bit surprised when we reached our room. It was clean and huge but not too homy. There was no other lights than the big ones in the ceiling. The sofa fabric was wore out. Good things about the room was the chance to prepare meals: a cooking stow and a fridge. But we didn't use it. From the hotel it was easy to go out and eat in Trastevere and to the city centre you could take a bus or a tram. Also trastevere train station is near, 15 min by foot or 5 min by tram/bus. From that station goes the trains to airport. and btw you really should buy a 1-7 day ticket that includes train from airport to trastevere and back, buses, trams and metro. It was only 23 e/week when comparing to eg leonard express from airport to termini which costs 16 e one way... And the breakfast was very nice! (although it was not supposed to be included for us but it was :) )

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riikka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bencomum
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed with my family in November 2011. Location is really good very close to the Tramway directly into the main part of town. It's also close enough to the busy restaurant area of the Trastevere without having to put up with the noise. Room was enormous with two bedrooms separated by a modern unpolished glass wall from the main room. Though it was expensive (about 200€/night, but including a full breakfast) but then again capital city prices. Hotel staff were OK though not that helpful. Major problem was that the breakfast room was a little too small and understaffed at peak time. Had to wait several times for a table to be cleared. very trendy design though.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bencomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas/Munich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

this was the worst experience I 've ever had while traveling. It was so bad that I feel that I need to tell the world about this.

I booked this Hotel just because the location, it is a Hotel for maybe 50 EUR and you can get charged more than 200 EUR a night, we were there during a very busy weekend and paid between 190-230 EUR a night.. however, what can you expect for a $300 hotel??, well.. in Rome at Ripa.. just expect nothing.


At arrival we were offered the worst rooms they have, those in the top. The ceilings declines at the exterior so much that you think you are in Hut in the alps, the mobiliary is real old and I guess that all the pics are photoshoped, the bath was a mess, just very very small. We managed it to change the rooms on the first night, however that was not easy.

The second room was a bit better, lets say second worse. The ceilings were normal and we decided to give it a try even knowing that we were ripped off for that price. The breakfast was included and was ok but NOT good, if you are in Italy you expect real coffee, not a Nestle machine that mixes powder milk with powder coffee and water.. just unbelievable in Italy..
Having a very bad feeling (after seeing holes in the bath, some "champignons" everywhere and a noisy street and crappy carpet.. just to name a few) and knowing that you are paying much more money than needed for nothing, well the best was still to come.

On the 2nd day we arrived at around 9pm totally tired and wanted to sleep, however there was a "Theater exercise" on a room very close to us, the noise was like havin a discotheque just beside you, I am not kidding! I waited till 10pm to call reception and they answered me that it would last another 10 min at it was ok, lets make it quick.. at 12 am and after about 10 calls to reception always hearing lies I decided to check out to a different hotel at the middle of the night.. I just got sick of the reception telling me that the noise will end in the next 5 minutes and it never ended, furthermore they knew that this Theater thing will not stop and then they even told us that this happens often (what???).. it means this guys rent room for this kind of things? just incredible..

This Hotel just ruined our vacations in Rome, never go there! this guys are not serious and will never treat you in a way you deserve.

I have some pics from the bath and room to prove this, I also have some audio recordings of the mess on the room close to us.

This was just the worst nightmare I ever had and I dont really comprehend how people rate this "thing" higher than NO stars..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zuagroaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ariannaroscioli, Proprietario at Hotel Ripa Roma, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you for writing your comments about your stay with us. I'm sorry that you did not like the design style of our avangarde rooms on the top flor of the building. Regarding the theatre performance we do apologize, as we were not informed that the performance would have lasted so long and would have been so noisy. Anyway, be sure that it has been a single experience and will never, never happen again in our hotel. Hoping to have another chance to show you the quality of our service, I send you my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#284 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#136 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
H10 Roma Citta
#139 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ripa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ripa Roma

Property: Hotel Ripa Roma
Address: Via degli Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Worldhotel Ripa Roma)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ripa Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trastevere, one of Rome’s oldest most vibrant neighborhoods, Worldhotel Ripa Roma is daringly modern and smart with a look and feel of a contemporary art gallery. Modern design in no way inhibits the personal service and attention devoted to all guests. 197 rooms and suites to optimize space, light and comfortin a chic but friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, working desk with sofa, WI-fi connection and rooms Rituals amenities. Mini gym on first floor with Techno-gym facilities.Underground parking. Ripa Place, our newly refurbished restaurant is a bistrot serving innovative roman cuisine to appeal and surprise our guests and friends. The minimal and chic atmosphere is enriched by a selected list of local wine.When in Rome, you cannot miss: strolling around in Campo de’Fiori, rent a scooter to feel like the famous couple Peck-Hepburn for a real Roman Holiday, every day at noon on the Gianicolo Hill the cannon sound Midday, sunset at Giadino degli Aranci, Aventine key hole, test if he really loves you and ask him to put his hand inside the Mouth of truth inside church S.Maria in Cosmedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ripa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripa Hotel Rome
Hotel Ripa Rome
Rome Hotel Ripa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing