We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“less than expected”
Review of Hotel Ripa Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ripa Roma
Ranked #351 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our first trip to Rome, the location was ok as long as you were comfortable taking a tram, the local neighborhood was just ok..we rented a great suite that was as the saying goes..."looked good from far but far from good"...an 8th floor room featured in the hotel photos with curved walls...the 'good' was the size of the room and the enormous balcony, the "bad" was the bedbugs that ate us alive over our stay and the power that shut off completely every hour or so...so no AC, no lights, no power for cell phones/laptops...the staff showed us how to reset the breakers which we did more than 50 times during our 3 day stay. The staff were very friendly and tried to help but to no avail...oh, and no showers, just a well used jet tub...for a $1,000USD, there must be a better place to stay in Rome for 3 days...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caprice227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very nice hotel for a small tourist visit.
Clean very reasonably priced, very friendly people, and good service.
Had a bottle of pro seco served in my room for my birthday, really great surprise.
Really always ready to help, speak several languages

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We visited the Ripa Roma hotel for three nights and just arrived home to the UK. This hotel is great, don't let the bad reviews put you off.

The rooms are very spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had a balcony also and had a lovely view of the local area.

The staff were fantastic and really helpful. The room was serviced each day to a good standard. It was my fiance's birthday during our visit, and we hadn't told the hotel staff this. But the cleaning staff must have seen his Birthday cards in the bedroom as they left us a surprise bottle of Prosecco and a card saying Happy Birthday which was a lovely welcome back after a long day of sight seeing. Nothing was any trouble and the staff were very polite and happy to help with anything.

The breakfast was delicious and plenty of it with a good selection of food, and hot and cold drinks.

Our flight home was late in the evening so we booked a taxi with the hotel back to the Airport. We arrived at the reception early for the taxi and the hotel staff arranged for the taxi to collect us earlier rather than us hanging about. The taxi was the same price as the airport shuttle.

The tram is 2 minutes walk from the hotel and takes you right into the heart of Rome.

Thank you Ripa Roma for a wonderful stay, we will be staying with you when we visit Rome again!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank JessSwansea1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Do not let the urban side-street location put you off, nor first impression of the hotel. The No 8 tram & 3bus/tram stop is only 50metres away to give you access to all the main sightseeing and restaurant areas within a few minutes. The hotel itself is a bit of a puzzle - there must be a big variation in the rooms judging by previous comments, but our superior room was very spacious especially for Rome although in an outdated modern style with no drawer space for storage just limited shelving. There is free WiFi available when requested and a helpful front desk. The breakfast is a buffet attempting to cater for all nationalities with limited hot food and the area can get crowded at peak times as anywhere - but the staff worked at a tremendous rate to keep the tables clear. The cafe area is bit weird and could do with the access and ambience being more user friendly - it really is not very inviting.

Room Tip: Book a superior room as minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights five days. The location of the hotel is OK, it is close to bus stop #8 that takes you to some turistic places. It is close to the Tiber and if you take side streets you can actually run into cafes and cute shops.
The staff is very nice and is always willing to help you at all times. I personally did not like the bedroom my parents, my sister and I stayed in. It was a cuadruple bedroom with a built-in kitchen that had no utensils (except for two glasses). The bathroom was small but it was clean. The two TV's that were in the room did not work and the internet conection worked some times. The furniture of this room was old and the carpet looked dirty.
Breakfast was OK as it consisted of juices, cereals, eggs, sausages, bacon, water, coffee from a machine, not from an expresso, or cappuccino machine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janagdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel unexpectedly when the hotel we booked had no room for us. This was a very fleeting visit but was pleasant. Although the actual location is in an ordinary street it is in an ideal situation to visit Trastevere, a wonderful area of Rome where the locals go with interesting bars and restaurants. It is classed as a Design hotel and has an interesting layout. The reception staff were lovely and we were put in an apartment on the fifth floor. It had two bedrooms, a bathroom and a shower in the middle of a twin room. Lovely toiletries, complimentary bathrobes and a spacious living area with leather settees. A large balcony but not much of a view (nearby flats). Breakfast choice ok but have had better. I stayed here many years ago and the decoration was the same in public areas. Could do with a freshen up perhaps. Certainly worth consideration if you're looking for a place to stay in that area of Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retracenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The location of the hotel appears a dump; just try Google StreetView. However within some 10 minute walk toward town, take the side-streets on either side along the road with the tramway, there are some exquisite restaurants with very good service. Try Piazza Di Santa Maria (wine pricey but very good) and Piazza dei Mercanti (take the restaurant on the south side of the piazza, superb red wine at 10 euros per litre and good food).
This area up to the banks of the Tiber, is fascinating and more than offsets the drab hotel environment.
Ours was a Riviera package and their tours are usually very good, but this was let down slightly because of the hotel.
Our room was large but the floor space was segregated into the bedroom area and a lounge combined with sink and cooking area (both defunct). The air-conditioning did not function to our preference, and even with opening the bedroom window we still did not get fresh cool air into the bedroom area, only various other noise We were on the sixth floor with perfect views of other tower blocks.
The hotel seems to need updating, but is clean and tidy.
Breakfast was buffet in the extreme, “hot” drinks came out of a machine; some really poor coffee. “Hot” food, e.g. bacon, sausage, egg, was not always so. Absolutely no service, only clearing away dirty plates. This was a big let-down.
The bar did not open until 18:00 on Saturday and Sunday nights.
However the staff were generally excellent. For example, on our late arrival we still were able to obtain a nice dinner with some excellent wine.

Room Tip: Choose a upper floor to see the sky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#189 of 1,271 in Rome
1,637 reviews
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
#261 of 1,271 in Rome
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#279 of 1,271 in Rome
704 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ripa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ripa Roma

Address: Via Degli Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Worldhotel Ripa Roma)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £69 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ripa Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trastevere, one of Rome’s oldest most vibrant neighborhoods, Worldhotel Ripa Roma is daringly modern and smart with a look and feel of a contemporary art gallery. Modern design in no way inhibits the personal service and attention devoted to all guests. 197 rooms and suites to optimize space, light and comfortin a chic but friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, working desk with sofa, WI-fi connection and rooms Rituals amenities. Mini gym on first floor with Techno-gym facilities.Underground parking. Ripa Place, our newly refurbished restaurant is a bistrot serving innovative roman cuisine to appeal and surprise our guests and friends. The minimal and chic atmosphere is enriched by a selected list of local wine.When in Rome, you cannot miss: strolling around in Campo de’Fiori, rent a scooter to feel like the famous couple Peck-Hepburn for a real Roman Holiday, every day at noon on the Gianicolo Hill the cannon sound Midday, sunset at Giadino degli Aranci, Aventine key hole, test if he really loves you and ask him to put his hand inside the Mouth of truth inside church S.Maria in Cosmedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ripa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripa Hotel Rome
Hotel Ripa Rome
Rome Hotel Ripa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing