We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strange place...”
Review of Hotel Ripa Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ripa Roma
Ranked #384 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A strange place...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My partner and I spent two nights at this hotel as part of a deal through a travel site, so we got a good price for our room. With this in mind, it seemed to be ok for the amount we spent. However we would have been quite disappointed if we had paid full rates for this hotel.
It is not badly placed, but at the time of our stay it was surrounded by noisy construction work and our balcony looked out over concrete/construction, with rubbish bins below - not a great view! (It was classified a superior/deluxe room).
The layout of the room was a bit odd, with the bed right in the centre. We couldn't quite put our fingers on why, but it made the atmosphere quite strange!
We unfortunately had a noisy toilet with water that kept running all the time. Only a minor issue but may be annoying for light sleepers. The bathroom was otherwise clean and serviced daily to replace soaps, towels, etc.
Breakfast was fine. Lots of varieties of food and freshly squeezed orange juice.
The staff were polite and helpful, however I felt our interactions with them were a bit impersonal. I suppose this is often the case in bigger establishments.
The location is fine, particularly if you look closely at the map beforehand and prepare yourself to be a bit further away from central attractions (i.e across the river). You can easily catch the tram to the centre of Rome where you have all the main attractions. There is also a shop that sells tram tickets right near the tram stop - I would recommend buying a few tickets in advance as we found it difficult to purchase return tickets once in the centre of Rome.
If you drive (as we did) there is a carpark/garage next door where you can pay to park your car. The atmosphere of the garage felt a bit "dodgy" and at first we were apprehensive to leave our car there, however it was fine in the end, we retrieved the car without any issue.
Overall, not a bad place to stay. But if we were paying full price, I think we could have done better.

Room Tip: Try asking for one that doesn't look out over construction work / rubbish bins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    598
    346
    141
    47
See reviews for
240
585
51
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Love love love Trastevere! If you can bypass looking at the construction across the street, then don't fret. There is construction in many places in a Rome, including maintenance of the Coliseum, so who cares? With that said, Worldhitel Ripa was great., rooms/bathrooms were clean, breakfast was yummy with sausages, salamis, cheese, breads, cereal, eggs, mushrooms, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. location is awesome! Eat only in Trastevere where you can find authentic Italian eateries. We ate twice for dinner at San Cosimato Ristorante & once for lunch at another place next door to Fatamorgana gelato (I forgot the name if the restaurant). Fatamorgana has the best handmade gelato! We met a local who introduced us to Fatamorgana & San Cosimato. Also, the Tram 8 that takes you to the center of Rome, is only up the block!!! Tram 8 ends where you can take hop on/off busses. You can also walk around from that last Tram 8 stop to the Palentino/Roman Rorum/Coliseum, Pantheum, Trevi Ftn, Spanish Steps. From the hotel & going the other way, it's about 30 min walking to the Vatican. Or if you have tickets for the hop on/off bus, we took that to the vatican. Remember, get your museum tickets early & go early to the museums! I'd stay at Worldhotel Ripa again :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank CatinCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good things about Ripa:
-Awesome location in Trastavere, near to the tram & bus stop
-Friendly staff
-Good selection on the breakfast buffet inc plentiful freshly squeezed orange juice
-Comfy bed
-Good shower with no shortage of hot water
-Fridge in the room

Weird things about Ripa:
-Def the oddest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Huge room, but strangely partitioned off to create separate bedroom/living room areas. Nice idea, but didn't really work. Ancient tiny TV in bed area. Uncomfy old sofa in living area. Kitchen area provided. Again, nice idea, but no cutlery, crockery, pots or pans, so not sure how you are supposed to use this. We did get a couple of plates & knives from the restaurant-maybe they would also lend pans? To be fair, we didn't ask, but also, there was no information provided about this.

2 things I hated about this hotel (&which would be relatively cheap to fix!)
- The duvet cover was not a full cover, just a tucked in sheet thing. I woke up one night & it had all come off & I was wrapped in the slightly grey, old looking duvet. Probably most hotel duvets look like this, but when they are inside a cover, you can't see them!
- The shower had just a plain, rather cheap shower curtain to prevent leakage. You know the one which as soon as you turn on the shower mysteriously wafts in & sticks to you, regardless of what you do! Aaargh-PLEASE, change this for a shower screen!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen7ify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband & I stayed 3 nights in this hotel and as it was part of a Riveria travel deal we had a Bed & breakfast deal only - so no real comments on the food... Our room was clean and a good size however the air con did not work and with the windows open it was a bit noisy - I suupose this would depend on your room location ... we had made friends with others in our party and this resulted in getting to view other rooms as some were certainly far better than others.. I do think that we were lucky as some were NOT GOOD to say the least. The interior of this hotel is rather strange a bit like the starship enterprise with curved walls it felt really strange to have to pass someone going to breakfast and you could be on a sloped wall... this together with the black walls really did make it very 'unusual' to say the least. One point that is really worth a note is the location you can get a tram within a couple of minutes walking and even as i did walk into Rome central with ease. There are many bars and restaurants all around the hotel so choice was never a problem.... all in all if you are fortunate to get a decent room and some were VERY GOOD then this hotel scores top marks on location.

Room Tip: Be prepared to ask to change they can and did on the trip I was on .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Rome. It is in a good condition (rooms are clean and look new, great waterpressure when showering!), the staff is helpfull. The breakfast was ok, don't expect super italian cuisine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRGCaminada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights at this hotel, cannot fault it. Very friendly & helpful staff, nothing was a problem, great breakfast and fantastic location. Rooms spacious and spotless. Will definitely book here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Really drab. The internet was extremely slow and also 'had too many users' for 80% of my trip. The miniscule TV didn't work. Tried to order room service but the phone didn't work. It looks like you're staying in the projects and you have to return the room key every time you leave. The bed was also extremely hard and I didn't rest well.

I only give them two stars because I was caught in the rain and they promptly brought me fresh towels when I arrived.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#291 of 1,256 in Rome
674 reviews
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
#282 of 1,256 in Rome
1,202 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ripa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ripa Roma

Property: Hotel Ripa Roma
Address: Via degli Orti di Trastevere 3, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Worldhotel Ripa Roma)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ripa Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trastevere, one of Rome’s oldest most vibrant neighborhoods, Worldhotel Ripa Roma is daringly modern and smart with a look and feel of a contemporary art gallery. Modern design in no way inhibits the personal service and attention devoted to all guests. 197 rooms and suites to optimize space, light and comfortin a chic but friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, working desk with sofa, WI-fi connection and rooms Rituals amenities. Mini gym on first floor with Techno-gym facilities.Underground parking. Ripa Place, our newly refurbished restaurant is a bistrot serving innovative roman cuisine to appeal and surprise our guests and friends. The minimal and chic atmosphere is enriched by a selected list of local wine.When in Rome, you cannot miss: strolling around in Campo de’Fiori, rent a scooter to feel like the famous couple Peck-Hepburn for a real Roman Holiday, every day at noon on the Gianicolo Hill the cannon sound Midday, sunset at Giadino degli Aranci, Aventine key hole, test if he really loves you and ask him to put his hand inside the Mouth of truth inside church S.Maria in Cosmedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ripa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripa Hotel Rome
Hotel Ripa Rome
Rome Hotel Ripa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing