We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Go309044
Liverpool, United Kingdom

Stayed again

Review of Hotel Ripa Roma
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Aug 2017via mobile
Stayed at the Ripa again, and paid the same as we did the first time, eleven years ago.
The hotel is situated in a quiet location close to busy Trastevere, an old, vibrant and colourful part of Rome.
Handy for a tram, or a pleasant walk, into the centre.
The rooms are large, cool, minimalist and comfortable, although in the cheapest the beds are surrounded by ceiling-high shelves, rather claustrophobically. The superior rooms are worth every extra penny.
The public area are quirky (see photo). Staff are unfailingly polite and helpful.
The hotel does let itself down with breakfast drinks though. The coffee is from a machine and the juice is from powder. Why?
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£219
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £212
  • Vio.com
    £198
  • Hotels.com
    £220
1.7 miles from Hotel Ripa Roma
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£210
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £210
  • Lol.travel
    £180
  • Hotels.com
    £210
1.5 miles from Hotel Ripa Roma
Free Wifi
Room service
£142
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £149
  • Vio.com
    £123
  • Hotels.com
    £146
1.8 miles from Hotel Ripa Roma
Free Wifi
£180
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £180
  • Skyscanner.com
    £164
  • Hotels.com
    £180
1.8 miles from Hotel Ripa Roma
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£208
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £216
  • Destinia.com
    £196
  • Hotels.com
    £216
1.8 miles from Hotel Ripa Roma
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£86
  • Expedia.com
    £93
  • Skyscanner.com
    £80
  • StayForLong
    £90
0.5 miles from Hotel Ripa Roma
Free Wifi
£94
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £111
  • Vio.com
    £87
  • Hotels.com
    £91
6.4 miles from Hotel Ripa Roma
Free Wifi
Free parking
£99
  • Expedia.com
    £111
  • Priceline
    £87
  • Vio.com
    £89
2.2 miles from Hotel Ripa Roma
Free Wifi
£94
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    £95
7.8 miles from Hotel Ripa Roma
Free Wifi
Free parking
£994
  • Expedia.com
    £1,050
  • Vio.com
    £925
  • Hotels.com
    £1,050
1.6 miles from Hotel Ripa Roma
Free Wifi
Room service
View more hotels in Rome
Reviews (2,084)
Filter reviews
2,084 results
Traveller rating
449
865
487
194
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
449
865
487
194
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern design pastries restaurants and bars an upgrade min walk vatican city tram balcony nightlife sights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 2,084 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

The hotel is located approx. 10 -15 mins walk to the main centre of Rome . Close to the River .On arrival you are met by Giant Dog in reception and a Giant pink bird outside of the Breakfast room. The Rooms are modern and very artistic and interesting. Its a larger hotel than at first thought and the bar /restaurant offers a lot of choices . Breakfast was plentiful

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank theduchessLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel really disappointed me. We booked via British airways expecting a certain standard to be attained but the room was awful. The two teenagers in the family were of age 17 and 20 and they had to sleep on single sofa beds instead of a normal bed. The room was dirty and the shower had a dirty grid above it with dust in it- not the cleanest shower environment. There was dust set everywhere and when we finally complained close to the end of our visit it was not taken on well. They moved in two mattresses for us but they were mumbling under their breath and being incredibly rude about it. I would never come here again unfortunately.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Missworldwide13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed with my family two day during July. Hotel was good with comfy beds and efficient air conditioning (witch was highly appreciated since temperature reached +38C). The breakfast was ok with the usual scrambled egs, bacon, sausages, yogurt and croissants. But the dining room was quite noisy due to the "clean design" with nothing reducing the noice. The location of the hotel is good with easy access to most attractions in the city.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jonas_z_forslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2017

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because it was recommended by a conference he was presenting at nearby. It was a kind of strange location. The interior of the first floor and upper levels seemed quite nice, but the interior of the room was definitely lacking. There was no decoration whatsoever. The carpet was a thin, kind of gross floor covering. There were two closets but very few hangers. It was the only hotel I have stayed at that didn't even have kleenex. We did like that there was a mini fridge, but there wasn't much room in it because of the expensive mini bar items the hotel had placed inside. The walls are very thin, so you can hear everything....and we had someone who seemed to be training for a marathon above us for a couple of nights. When we asked to change rooms, the staff had someone go up to listen for the sound and did not believe it was happening. When we insisted that it was nonstop, they called the person to ask them to be more quiet, which did work. If you are exploring areas beyond the city center, this is a good place to stay and is reasonably priced, though expect additional charges for tax and a second person. The breakfast was quite nice in the morning and staff were mostly quite friendly. There is no view of the city from the room, and the room felt a bit cavelike.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with 3 teenage kids. Hotel was funky we loved it on arrival . However we dined in the restaurant for dinner that night after travelling we were tired and did not want to venture out and found the staff In Dining area helpful at first had our starter then cane main we ordered fried Chicken and KFC would have been improvement on what they served . After we finished our main course we were not cleared after 5 , 10 , 15 mins I had to go to reception to tell the manager that the waiting staff were playing fuse ball in bar with curtain
Pulled . Totally rude not cleared away no dessert menu offered they were having fun and left us sit at our table . being in the hospitality trade myself I find this in acceptable I reported it to manager to later find manager and staff sniggering laughing at us totally unprofessional
The next day we found the same said bar staff totally rude to us wen we ordered drinks again unprofessional . The breakfast is terrible . No choice for kids the fruit is out of tins and not fresh fruit very disappointed In our stay as this was our 20th wedding anniversary and we spent our honeymoon in Rome I found this disgusting and unprofessionally run as opposed to the hotel we stayed in 20 yrs ago also the toilets in the hotel by the breakfast area and dining area look like a public toilet which hadn't been cleaned in years disgusting for a said 4 star hotel would not stay here ever again .

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank 868clarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews