We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
Ranked #304 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location but ...”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to both the main railway station and the Forum. Our room was on the top floor, with a balcony set into the roof so, even though it overlooked the busy street, we didn't hear any road noise. Our room was huge and very comfortable and, conveniently, all of the electrical sockets were 2-pin rather than the increasingly common 3-pin.

However, our room had not been cleaned very well before we arrived, the bath plug mechanism was broken and the bath water pressure was so low that one could have done a tour of Rome while waiting for a usable volume of water to fill the bath. This wasn't fixed during our stay.

Breakfast was very good but we had a dinner on the first night with the other members of the group we were with, and the quality of the meal could best be described as 'very poor'. We made sure that we ate out every evening instead of using the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDovecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    728
    283
    104
    56
See reviews for
354
623
59
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We could not have asked for a better hotel. It was easy to find and walking distance from the Termini train station. It is also walking distance from the Colosseum, the Forum, and several other historical attractions. The rooms are what you would expect of a European four star hotel. There is, however, no bath, only a shower, and the AC is set by the hotel, so you have no control over the temperature.

The breakfast buffet was stunning. We especially enjoyed the Italian prosciutto and various cheeses. Great coffee, and cheerful, discreet staff.

The only downside, if I must mention one, is that it is on the via Cavour, which is quite a large and busy street. In the evenings, we had the pleasure of listening to a street violinist, a few steps away from our window. In the mornings however, we were awaken by car horns and traffic. Great hotel to wake up early and go sight-seeing.

This hotel is a bit pricy, but I would still highly recommend it and will definitely return the next time I visit Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dazeydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were here with a tour group and had a wonderful stay. They get many tour groups so it can get crowded, but it was fine since the whole city is crowded anyway. The location is within walking distance to the Colosseum and the Forum with many restaurants and shops along the way. We had a triple room and it was sufficient for European standards. I knocked off a star because I didn't feel the staff was very receptive. We checked in and found a used bath mat behind our bathroom door. We called downstairs and asked for it to be replaced but no one ever came. We also asked for new towels one evening since we were leaving for the airport early in the morning and wanted to shower beforehand. They were reluctant and asked if we needed them right now. So we said fine we will wait until morning. We had to call early in the AM. They brought them right away but very reluctantly. I guess if it's outside of their time frame it's a big inconvenience to them. Overall though, I would highly recommend this hotel. Very clean and a wonderful location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel's location in Rome was perfect for my husband and I who were first time travelers to Rome and to Italy. Located on Via Cavour, this hotel was within easy walking distance of the Roman Forum and of the Colosseum and all that these two Rome highlights have to offer. It was also right across the street from St. Peter in Chains Church which had many interesting highlights including St. Peter's prison chains as well as beautiful statue of Michelangelo's Moses.
The Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, one of the five "major" basilicas of Rome, is also within easy walking distance. The front desk staff of this hotel was very helpful and accommodating. One of the amenities was a currency exchange right at the front desk with very favorable rates.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tskuziej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After reading some iffy reviews of this hotel, we were not expecting too much. We requested one of the newly renovated rooms. When we arrived at check in we found that the hotel had unexpectedly upgraded us to a Jr. Suite. The room was tasteful, beautifully designed and very comfortable. The bathroom had modern fixtures featuring both a full shower and separate bath. Breakfast was included, however large groups with early morning departures left little to eat for us later folks and the wait staff seemed stressed and slow to recuperate.
The location is superb. The Roman Forum , Basilica Di San Pietro in Vincoli and the Coliseum are just a 5 -8 minute walk away. A block away, there is a Metro stop. Several restaurants from pizza to more formal sit down venues are located throughout the neighborhood. The hotel front desk provided us with a ticket and map for the hop-on-hop off bus that can be picked up near the Coliseum, making it very easy to get around. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any traveler.

Room Tip: Request a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 616Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The position of this hotel for sightseeing could not be bettered. It is 50 metres from the metro(up the hill), a 5 minute walk up the hill to a most impressive church and a square where one can catch the hop-on-hop-off tourist bus, and a 5 minute walk down the hill to the Forum etc. There are numerous restaurants close by. The rooms are clean and have almost everything one needs including safety deposit box and mini-bar/fridge but no tea/coffee making facilities. The rooms are rather small and had only one comfortable chair thus not really 4 star standard. We had a room at the front and the road outside is quite busy but it is quieter at night. It is a busy tourist hotel and I do not think the breakfast room is geared up for the volume of people having breakfast. Coming down to breakfast at 8.00am much of the food had gone and it took a long time for it to be replaced and in some cases it was NEVER replaced.The variety of food was adequate no more. The layout of the food was "interesting" but we eventually found everything. Many people were asking one another, "Where is the .....?".The service in the breakfast room was generally poor and a smile or two would have been appreciated.
Having experienced breakfast we were not tempted to try dinner there. TIP there is a small restaurant DIRECTLY behind the hotel where a good 3 course set dinner can be had for 16 Euros and the wine is reasonable too. It is a little way away from the other restaurants but walk to the metro go down the steps and turn left.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnieD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a great two-night stay at this hotel. The service was very good and the amenitiies are top-notch. It is centrally located just up the street from the coluseum and forum. Nothing is too far away. The rates can be expensive depdending on timing. Room was bigger than others we've had during our trip through Italy.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor more away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattArmb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#153 of 1,257 in Rome
1,109 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#99 of 1,257 in Rome
817 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#97 of 1,257 in Rome
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#175 of 1,257 in Rome
554 reviews
Esquilino
Mecenate Palace
Mecenate Palace
#165 of 1,257 in Rome
1,666 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#246 of 1,257 in Rome
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Palatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Palatino

Property: FH Grand Hotel Palatino
Address: Via Cavour 213-M, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#227 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Palatino 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Palatino is situated in the heart of the ancient center of Rome, just a short walk away from the Coliseum and Imperial Forums. Close to shopping streets where Rome's most elegant shops can be found and near Termini Railway station, the air terminal and main subway station, providing rapid links to all the most important areas of Rome. Palatino Grand Hotel has 208 large rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, 4 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Palatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatino Grand Rome
Rome Palatino Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Palatino Rome Italy
Hotel Palatino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing