We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Close to all the sights....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
Ranked #302 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Close to all the sights....”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel was really good when I stayed there, that was a few years ago now 2009 I think.... but I'm sure it wouldn't have changed too much... the room I had was big and comfortable and the staff were friendly, The hotel was very central and walking distance to all the attractions I wanted to see... A friend that was there with me but staying in a different hotel, that has his own travel agency in the states now called me up a few months ago to find out the name of this hotel because he wanted to stay there when he went to Rome this year...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cell101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    735
    284
    104
    56
See reviews for
356
630
59
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

First time in Rome. This is a terrible outdated hotel. The views are to the dirty buildings and streets of this dirty city. Reception is not very welcoming and customer must wait till the staffs chit chat with one another has finished. The rooms look great online but behold when you enter your own rooms. Floors are cheap laminated. Bed is hard and the mattress has no padding. Also the
mattress was dirty and covered up by extra linen. Pillows are flat and very hard. Blanket is too short for two people fighting all night to stay covered. First day cleaning experience; they just came in, straighten up and never cleaned the bathroom floors or tub. Urin stains from the low urinal was still covering the bathroom floor. Urinal still had urin splashing inside. When I called about it once I got back to my room after a long day, lady on the phone didn't apologize and dismissed it right away. Parking also is non existing. Blue lines on the street means ok to park but never available. Parking garage is 40.00 euros a night. One guy was nice enough to let us know where all the employee parking above those stairs across the street was but again, it's dangerous there because you cant see your car and its dark. Tricky too because there are some blue lines as well so be careful when parking. Over all I was very disappointed. All the money I paid for this dump with its outdated furniture, stinky room and outdated old hard mattresses just made the only thing that's important at the end of a very long day of walking in the city, not enjoyable here. All I wanted is a nice clean soft bed with pillows to cuddle but all I got is no rest and the view to an ugly furnished with old furniture from the 80"s room. Pay more stay elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DeryaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, NH
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at this Hotel in April and enjoyed our 2 night stay. Except for the lack of Air Conditioning, we found this Hotel enjoyable. As we found out at other Hotels in Italy, Air conditioning is not a high priority, so be warned. it was in the high 70s the 2 days we spent there and no a/c can start to get uncomfortable. Again we had to open windows and use earplugs.
The breakfasts were very good with hot food such as bacon and eggs and many other selections to choose from, one of the better breakfasts we had in Italy. The rooms and entire Hotel were very well kept, clean and neat everywhere. We only had one dinner at the hotel but everyone agreed the food was good. The location in Rome is very good, only a few blocks from the Coliseum and other nearby sights. The bathrooms , "showers", were good sized and we were happy with the room. If not for the A/C problem I would give it 5 stars. Staff were efficient and professional. I would stay here again if in Rome, in cooler weather. Someone stated they couldn't turn on A/C until 4/15 but our stay was the 27th and still no A/C. If you don't mind the heat, this is a good place to stay while in Rome.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs because you will probably have to open the windows at night to cool off the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boru77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight prior to a cruise and it was perfect. The hotel is perfect walking distance from many of the key attractions. We were able to walk to the forum and see many of the sights the evening of our arrival, then early in the morning were able to skip the line at the Coloseum ( thanks to the advice on Tripadvisor) and were able to see that prior to shuttle to the port. I highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rg00108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

As others have written, this is a very well located hotel (literally a couple blocks from the Coliseum and Forum) that is clean, with well appointed (though slightly aging) rooms, very comfortable beds and linens. BUT, they can’t (Rome Law) turn on the AC until after 4/15 (the day we were leaving) and even thought it was only in the 60’s outside during the day, colder at night, it was in the 80’s in the rooms. Opening the windows, which only helped a little, meant hearing the incredibly loud (all night long) street noise and so we didn’t sleep very well for our 3 nights there. The front desk staff is not very friendly but the breakfast/bar staff was and the breakfasts were very nice with many choices and the bar makes a mean Bloody Mary. Our Gate 1 group had dinner in the restaurant there one night that was just ordinary.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoTheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinboro,PA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel served us well when we stayed here April 2014. We were able to walk to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Collesium and good restaurants.

The room was adequate. It had a comfy bed and hot shower.

The morning breakfast was pleasant and tasty.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the city. You may want to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windoweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights while traveling with a group with Gate 1 Travel. We were assigned Room 320 and the room was spacious, the bed was firm and comfortable but the room was hot and we had to open the windows to cool things down. With the windows open day and night, there is a lot of traffic, sirens and parties going on right down below our windows. We just happened to be staying at this hotel on St. Patrick's Day and that night...WOW, what a party, music roaring up from down on the courtyard below, a lot of celebrating until whee in the early morning hours...whew!!
Our tour included the breakfast buffet and it was indeed delicious and plentiful. No "soft-cooked" eggs or bacon to worry about here since they didn't serve it! Plenty of fruits, pastries and lots of great coffee!
The hotel is very convenient being within walking distance to the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, ask for a room that DOES NOT open up to the courtyard or on the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaNurse323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#151 of 1,258 in Rome
1,122 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#99 of 1,258 in Rome
839 reviews
Esquilino
Mecenate Palace
Mecenate Palace
#163 of 1,258 in Rome
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#174 of 1,258 in Rome
560 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,258 in Rome
276 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#235 of 1,258 in Rome
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Palatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Palatino

Property: FH Grand Hotel Palatino
Address: Via Cavour 213-M, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#227 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Palatino 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Palatino is situated in the heart of the ancient center of Rome, just a short walk away from the Coliseum and Imperial Forums. Close to shopping streets where Rome's most elegant shops can be found and near Termini Railway station, the air terminal and main subway station, providing rapid links to all the most important areas of Rome. Palatino Grand Hotel has 208 large rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, 4 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Palatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatino Grand Rome
Rome Palatino Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Palatino Rome Italy
Hotel Palatino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing