We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of FH Grand Hotel Palatino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
Ranked #290 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Port Murray, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Walking distance to the Coliseum , this Hotel is well maintained, great staff and awesome breakfast, which had hot and cold offerings, fresh fruit and baked goods. Booked through our tour comapny.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    698
    270
    99
    50
See reviews for
328
594
58
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My plans have changed and I had to cancel my booking at this hote. Nevertheless, of 12 hotels that I have booked covering most of Italy and 3 hotels in France it was only Grand Hotel Palatino that has responded promptly to the requests filled in the booking.com form. Excellent! High level of customer service which has become very rare in those days of intensive internet use... Many thanks indeed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Maneh_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights as part of a travel group. I believe that may have been why the staff were very courteous and helpful. The room was quite nice, no drawers or storage space of any kind. Very clean and well tended. The only issue we had was with the power. Several times during our stay, the power went out on our side of the floor only. It was quite unsettling, however they were quite quick to get it fixed. Quite a nice neighborhood, good restaurants, gelato vendors and a great little grocery across the street.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness facilities that we could find
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santacruzcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel is slightly expensive for what it is but you have to remember that it's hard to find a big hotel like this in Rome within this price range. You are also paying for the location as it is right near the Colosseum and only 5 minutes from the train station. Rooms are clean and spacious and the lobby and hotel bar are nice. Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgL1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Room was good, clean and relatively large. Hotel in good location, surrounded by restaurants and a very short stroll to the Colliseum.
Staff were officious and unhelpful. Several examples, eg. 1. no Internet offered at check in, then rang the front desk to get in room WIFI password, and was told that "you will have to come down to reception and pay", 2. my wife had her large suitcase jammed in the revolving door as we were leaving, they managed to pull it back into the lobby for her, then let her try again, rather than assisting with the bag to the footpath.
No doorman.
Breakfast average at best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlennB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in a standard twin room on the 6th floor for four nights. Room was very clean and beds comfortable (changed sheets every day). As it is a city hotel and we were on the front, facing a main road, there was traffic noise. Had to keep windows closed most of the time with blinds down so light was not too good. Air con adjustable in room and available all the time. Room and bathroom were quite small with no drawer storage in room. Staff were not very obliging but our chambermaid did an excellent job of looking after the room. Breakfast ok but no variation from day to day. Restaurant meals were a little disappointing. Hotel is very well located for sightseeing and restaurants, just a short walk from the Colosseum, Metro and rail station. Generally it was ok and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SONIA248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I fell in love with this hotel! I'm not remembering which floor we were on, but we faced the street and was looking down on everyone. Almost directly across from our window was a stairway that led up to the street over one block where the St. Peter in Chains was located. At the top of those stairs there was an Italian man that played the accordion and we could hear it through our hotel window. We left the window open so we could hear him play and I felt like I was in one of the movies about love in Italy. Our room was beautiful and the bed was comfortable. It was in a convenient location, a short walk to Colosseum, Palatine Hill, Roman Forum, the subway and on the road behind the hotel there are some really great restaurants. We could not have asked for a better location. I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I went to Rome again I would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincenzo d, Direttore generale at FH Grand Hotel Palatino, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear guests
we would like to thank you for the nice words about our hotel and really happy you apreciated the music under your window,
I look forward to a new vist in our lovely city and in our hotel in a very near future
warmest regards
Vincenzo d
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#144 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#106 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#66 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#51 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Palatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Palatino

Property: FH Grand Hotel Palatino
Address: Via Cavour 213-M, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#227 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Palatino 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Palatino is situated in the heart of the ancient center of Rome, just a short walk away from the Coliseum and Imperial Forums. Close to shopping streets where Rome's most elegant shops can be found and near Termini Railway station, the air terminal and main subway station, providing rapid links to all the most important areas of Rome. Palatino Grand Hotel has 208 large rooms, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, 4 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Palatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatino Grand Rome
Rome Palatino Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Palatino Rome Italy
Hotel Palatino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing